We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for our honeymoon except...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca

Save Saved
You added Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   No.21, Hang Ca Street, | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 489 hotels in Hanoi
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay for our honeymoon except...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

When we went inside the hotel, it was really nice. The interiors of the hotel are superb. When we went inside our hotel room, we were very happy. Amenities were great. However, I would like to comment on one thing... Our ceiling lights got broken at around 11pm on our 2nd night. We had to sleep early since we needed to wake-up early for our departure to Ha Long Bay. The receptionist suggested that we move to another room just to sleep but we found it so inconvenient. So the repairman arrived and promised to fix it when we return from our Ha Long bay cruise. Sad to say, the ceiling lights were not fixed when we returned the following night after the staff and repairman promised to fix it.

Anyways, breakfast was good! We would keep in mind this hotel if we go back to Vietnam for a vacation

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are honored that you have selected Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, an H&K Hospitality Management property, for your recent visit to Ha Noi. Thank you for your patronage.

Church Boutique Hotels is dedicated to providing you with the finest in personal service and amenities to enhance your vacation experience. I have noted your comments with regards to our staff responsiveness. Please be assured that all the information, which you have provided, will be used in planning ways to serve you better in the future and improve our facilities and services.

Once again thank you and we hope to see you soon in this wonderful city.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto A. Pérez
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
19
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel was excellent in many ways. Small rooms but expected that, they were very well set out, very clean and the hotel staff were the best i have met in many a hotel. Helpful, knowledgable and friendly. Can beat this place for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Shaun,

Thank you for taking the time in writing this lovely review. Your comments and feedback on the service that you experienced while staying with us without a doubt have brought a big smile on all of us!!

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca an H&K Hospitality property. We are extremely grateful for your kind comments on the product, services and staff.

We hope to welcome you back to Church Boutique Hotels whenever you are in Ha Noi.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto A. Pérez
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I believe this is not the best Hotel available in Hanoi, but I couldn't find anything wrong. Haven't compared it with other same class hotel, but I guess this hotel just suits me.

Location:
Located at old quarter, to be precise you can see at the map. There are plenty of road side foods, but if you afraid of those, you can find restaurant just few blocks from there. Nothing to worry about.

Room Size:
Just like another 3 stars hotel, they all have about the same size (their buildings are not really wide, but I guess for asian, this room size just good enough). Will be very packed if you add more extra bed -- if they allow you to put in --.

I didn't get a room with window facing to the road, probably it will better if you can get that. same size anyway.

Cleanliness:
Nothing to complain. It's just clean. I didn't notice any stain in room or toilet.

Aircon:
They are using in-wall air conditioning. --Nice--. And all just well. You can adjust the temp to suit your preference.

Furniture:
All look new... Modern - classy style. Love it.

Amenities:
- Safety box
- All toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, soaps, moisturizer, tooth brush, shaver, comb, sewing kit, and others).
- Weighing scale
- Shoe cleaner
- Umbrella
- Hair dryer
- Alarm clock
- Hanger

Breakfast:
They serve a decent food, I love it in fact. Chicken soup, omelete, and other US style breakfast.

Room Tip: Pick the one with window facing road?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and within the tripadvisor community. We are extremely grateful for your kind comments on the product and services.

We hope to welcome you back to Church Boutique Hotel whenever you are in Ha Noi.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto A. Pérez
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I booked this place based on the other reviews and was disappointed. While the place was well located in Old Town, our room was very very small and dark. The only "window" was to a lightwell that was so far from the first floor light source as to be a darkwell. The room was tiny, really really small. The only closet bar could accommodate only hanging shirts as even my 9 year old's dresses dragged the safe which sat on top of the mini-fridge cabinet. There were no chairs at all, only a small stool at the built in desk. No table, no place for room service trays. This was a room for sleeping, not hanging out.

Except sleeping wasn't so great because there was some sort of vent over the 2nd bed that seemed to be connected directly to the room next door. We could hear the couple there as though they were in our room, seriously--every sound, woke when they arrived back in the evening and woke them up in the morning. We could even see their light when they came in and turned it on.

The staff seemed very sweet but the front desk was unable to make us tour arrangements despite two days of trying and promises to look into it and then call us. They apparently do the Halong Bay tour only but didn't let us know to go to a tour outfit rather than waiting for them to get back as promised, yet they never did.

If you do book this one, be sure to get the top floor or the very front of the hotel. And be sure to get the directions or pay for the airport transport. Our taxi driver and the our neighbor's took us to the wrong place at first. OH and be sure to ask the hotel which taxi companies are reliable. We were ripped off by one with a fake meter and only after telling the front desk the story did they warn us against certain companies. I'm sure that negative experience colored my view of Hanoi in general. We live in Beijing and have traveled around Asia quite a bit so were surprised at the rip off. Other guests reported similar or worse stories.

Room Tip: Front of the building with a real window or top floor. Avoid the first two rooms on each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are honored that you have selected Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, an H&K Hospitality Management property, for your recent visit to Ha Noi. Thank you for your patronage.

Church Boutique Hotels is dedicated to providing you with the finest in personal service and amenities to enhance your vacation experience. I have noted your comments with regards to poor noise insulation, inadequate lighting and promptness of our staff. Please be assured that all the information, which you have provided, will be used in planning ways to serve you better in the future and improve our facilities and services.

Once again thank you and we hope to see you soon in this wonderful city.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto A. Pérez
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is an undiscovered Gem of a hotel in the old Town section of Ha noi
The staff was very helpful - one took my $ and ran down the street to get some 'Top off minutes' for my cell phone!
Room is typical of what you'd find in a $200/night hotel in NYC.
Breakfast was free and excellent. WiFi was free and speed was good.
Toiletries were very good quality as was everything in the hotel. Shower was very modern.
Room is small with not a lot of space but adaquate.
Shopping galore is a block away.
Excellent Value for the money. Stay here!!

I was here on a business trip.
Wouldn't recommend coming to Ha Noi for much else. Nothing charming about the city. Cabbie's aren't very honest.
Go to Saigon - a lot more to see and the price is a third less.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Terry,

We are honored that you have selected Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, an H&K Hospitality Management property, for your recent visit to Ha Noi. Thank you for your patronage.

Church Boutique Hotels is dedicated to providing you with the finest in personal service and amenities to enhance your vacation experience. You, our valued guest, can only measure our success. We would therefore like to thank you for providing us with your comments and feedback helps us keep our standards at the highest level.

Once again thank you and we hope to see you soon in this wonderful city.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto A. Pérez
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

On 2 Sep 2012 my 8 friends and I checked into the hotel and received a very pleasant welcome despite the lobby being quite small.
But we were very impressed by the young and energetic staff and astonished by the standards of the rooms, it was truly beyond expectations.
What was most worthwhile to remember is the attentiveness of the chamber-maids who make a check on the room regularly.
It is due to their good work attitudes that I was able to recover my computer harddisk in the room safe after I checked out on 6 Sep and was careless to leave it behind.
On 9 Sep, a few of my friends who were staying at the hotel called me to ask if I had forgotten about that item in the room as I left earlier that morning.
Thankfully it was returned to me safely through the honesty of the hotel staff.
I will definitely recommend a stay at this excellent hotel to my friends and colleagues.

Mr Tan
Singapore

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Mr. Tan,

I was about to reply to the private email you sent to me sharing your experience during your interim stay with us as CBH – without a doubt we are honored that you have selected Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, an H&K Hospitality Management property, for your recent visit to Ha Noi. Thank you for your patronage.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and within the tripadvisor community. We are extremely grateful for your kind comments on the product, services and above all our wonderful team. Our promise is to be continuously engaged as a professional yet friendly team for our guests.

Once again thank you and we hope to see you soon in this wonderful city.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto A. Pérez
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stepping into this hotel was a welcome relief from the busy location it's situated in, near the central lake in Hanoi it is walking distance to most things and surrounded by great restaurants and shops, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, the rooms are a decent size and modern, stylishly decorated, cable tv, split system mini bar and free wifi, not a great view from our room but the bathroom is a very good size. Breakfast is everything you can wish for both Local and other cuisines, soups, omlettes pastries etc. Very enjoyable stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca

Address: No.21, Hang Ca Street, | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 489 hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Boutique Hotels are a group of newly built and refurbished hotels which combine Vietnamese hospitality with international standards and exquisite services. Each hotel has its own unique blend of contemporary style, unrivalled character and sheer elegance which make the hotels, the perfect place to stay for all visitors to Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.