We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food & Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essence Restaurant

Essence Restaurant
22 Ta Hien Street | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Cafe)
+84 4 3935 2485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,013 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Dessert, Vietnamese, International, Fusion, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located on the ground floor of the Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa, the artfully designed Essence restaurant offers you various tasty authentic Vietnamese dishes and standard Western menu for lunch and dinner. Accomplished with an extensive menu of beverages including fresh fruit shakes, coffees and wines, the restaurant ensures you a wholesome meal with great food, excellent service in the right ambiance and fine spirits, all at a price guaranteed most reasonable in town. Wifi-internet & iMac is available, free of charge.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The food was devine and the staff explained and showed how to eat the food we ordered - could not fault the service either.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    689
    199
    65
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

The food here is delicious. We ate local food and the staff were very helpful showing us how to eat some of the meals. It is a quiet, restful place after the extraordinary busyness of the Old Quarter. Great atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Our first night in Hanoi we went to this restaurant and was truly impressed. Food was excellent highly recommend it for quality. The staff were attentive and very informative. My teenage daughter was still suffering from long flight and was not keen to be too adventurous. The menu was great we had the Vietnamese dishes and she had a more western dish with a little vietnamese twist.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An absolutely amazing dinner..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

An absolutely delicious Vietnamese dinner and great service. Staff speak good English so can answer questions on dishes helping you to make the best choice for your taste.. Thank you TripAdvisor for finding this place for me. Wisdom of the crowds works!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great food in Hanoi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at the attached Essence d'Orient hotel and twice ordered from their menu. They were the best meals we had in Hanoi! The restaurant has a good selection of Asian and Continental dishes and even caters to the vegetarians! The flavors were superb and the food tasted fresh and was presented beautifully. Do make it to this restaurant for a good meal if you are in Hanoi - you will not regret it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Essence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essence Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.