We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essence Restaurant

Essence Restaurant
22 Ta Hien Street | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Cafe)
+84 4 3935 2485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,088 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: International, Dessert, Fusion, Vietnamese, Diner, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on the ground floor of the Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa, the artfully designed Essence restaurant offers you various tasty authentic Vietnamese dishes and standard Western menu for lunch and dinner. Accomplished with an extensive menu of beverages including fresh fruit shakes, coffees and wines, the restaurant ensures you a wholesome meal with great food, excellent service in the right ambiance and fine spirits, all at a price guaranteed most reasonable in town. Wifi-internet & iMac is available, free of charge.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at the Essence Hotel for over a week so had many meals in this restaurant. Overall, the atmosphere is wonderful, the staff are welcoming and the food is great. There were only a few things that I could pick on. The majority of the food was delicious, there was only a few dishes that weren't amazing compared to some other restaurants in Hanoi (for example, the fresh spring rolls I found quite dry compared to other places).

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    843
    238
    69
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We absolutely loved eating here.Great food,great service at a great price. Fresh authentic local food. Even the pasta for the kids was good.Staff just cant do enough for you. Its unbelievable how good this place is!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, upmarket venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife took me for a meal here in July to celebrate my birthday. I had the only spicy dish on the menu and loved it. The food was really amazing and the service was impeccable. The ambience is a bit "hotel restaurant" but still very classy. I think it is a pity that the staff have all been asked to choose western names to make it easier for tourists to pronounce. Vietnamese names are not all that difficult and it seemed a bit fake to be served by Sarah's and Jenny's in the middle of the Old Quarter.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Exelent service and food follow the recommendations of your waiter great flavors and presentations of the dishes, clean and good atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Essence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stumbled across this little gem of an oasis in the midst of a hectic evening of shopping and bargaining.... The Tripadvisor notice drew our attention and we asked to see the menu. Regardless to say, the very welcoming staff and their descriptions of the meals as well as the satisfied looks on the faces of the guests who had finished their dinners bowled us over. We had exceptionally tasty spring rolls and mango salad as starters. Since visiting Vietnam for the first time six years ago, my husband and I fell in love with Bun Cha and Fish cooked in Banana Leaves. We were not disappointed! This may be the best versions of these dishes that we've eaten on our four trips to Vietnam.
We can highly recommend this restaurant: for its food, delightful waiters and ambience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Essence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essence Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.