We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local dishes done well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essence Restaurant

Essence Restaurant
22 Ta Hien Street | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Cafe)
+84 4 3935 2485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,029 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: International, Dessert, Fusion, Vietnamese, Diner, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on the ground floor of the Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa, the artfully designed Essence restaurant offers you various tasty authentic Vietnamese dishes and standard Western menu for lunch and dinner. Accomplished with an extensive menu of beverages including fresh fruit shakes, coffees and wines, the restaurant ensures you a wholesome meal with great food, excellent service in the right ambiance and fine spirits, all at a price guaranteed most reasonable in town. Wifi-internet & iMac is available, free of charge.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Local dishes done well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Good quality ingredients contributed to making local dishes outstanding. We ate both street food and in the restaurant and it was great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    801
    230
    70
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had breakfast twice here when staying in May 2013, great on both occasions.

The buffet breakfast is excellent value, given the choice that you get and the service throughout its actually hard to understand how they can make it so cheap. The staff will bend over backwards to make everything as easy as possible and they are very efficient at everything they do (rather than nice but a bit hopeless....). We travelled with a baby and nothing was too much trouble.

Would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money meal and delightful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our family of 4 tried to book accommodation at the Elegance Hotel in July this year, however sadly there were no rooms available, so we stayed elsewhere in the old quarter of Hanoi. We came across Elegance while exploring the streets and were pleased to see an ANZ ATM out the front for some urgent cash withdrawal. We took the opportunity to book at the hotel restaurant and came back for dinner (the next best thing to staying). We were thrilled with our meal, the range of tasty options and plentiful drinks menu, but particularly the extremely hospitable and friendly staff. We enjoyed our night so much we booked to return the next night! If you are unable to get a room at Elegance do try to have a meal at the restaurant and make sure you book.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing presentation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I'm usually extremely wary of hotel restaurants but this is one of the exceptions. It really does deserve its great reviews and the stylish presentation of the classic Vietnamese menu helps it stand out. In keeping with all the good 'uns, the happy attentive service and value for money are right up there too. Best book though - it's getting pretty popular.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Considering the first position in trip advisor restaurant list, I and my boyfriend have decided to try it! We can confirm that the quality of the food is above the average and dishes are presented in a very nice and unconventional way.
The staff is very gentle and all the time they brought a dish they told us how to eat it!
We suggest to make a reservation because the restaurant is not so big!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Essence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essence Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.