We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Food & Service in Hanoi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essence Restaurant

Essence Restaurant
22 Ta Hien Street | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Cafe)
+84 4 3935 2485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,007 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Dessert, Vietnamese, International, Fusion, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located on the ground floor of the Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa, the artfully designed Essence restaurant offers you various tasty authentic Vietnamese dishes and standard Western menu for lunch and dinner. Accomplished with an extensive menu of beverages including fresh fruit shakes, coffees and wines, the restaurant ensures you a wholesome meal with great food, excellent service in the right ambiance and fine spirits, all at a price guaranteed most reasonable in town. Wifi-internet & iMac is available, free of charge.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top Notch Food & Service in Hanoi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a great night out for our family when visiting Hanoi at the beginning of August. Had decided to go here based on some excellent reviews and was not disappointed by anything. We had great food, presented beautifully by attentive staff and in lovely surroundings. Our teenage kids loved it too. Would recommend and return if visiting Hanoi again. Try it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    684
    198
    65
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect in almost every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We were staying next door and decided to eat here because of the trip advisor recommendations. And we were not disappointed. The rice paper pancakes were amazing as was the bamboo beef. My partner and I had entrees, mains, a dessert to share and a cocktail each with the total a meagre $33. Unbelievable value. The service is amazing, the decor lovely and the food delicious. If you're nearby, definitely worth a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the Search”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We walked to the Essence, great night to be out, streets very busy.
Wish we had stayed here , it has a great vibe, in the old quarter.
The atmosphere and service was great.
Try the Prawn and chicken Mango salad, wow!
Garlic and cheese bread and the Hamburgers are large.
Creme Brulee yum, wish I had some now !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good service and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The staff was very friendly when she served us. She recommended us many of the unique food which are their speciality. She was very pro-active in starting a conversation.

Slightly expensive in Hanoi, but very cheap for a fine dining restaurant :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Amazing food, great service, awesome prices! Can't say a bad thing about this place. Try Banana spring rolls with chocolate and custard! Heaven!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Essence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essence Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.