We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reliable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essence Restaurant

Essence Restaurant
22 Ta Hien Street | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Cafe)
+84 4 3935 2485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,140 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: International, Dessert, Fusion, Vietnamese, Diner, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on the ground floor of the Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa, the artfully designed Essence restaurant offers you various tasty authentic Vietnamese dishes and standard Western menu for lunch and dinner. Accomplished with an extensive menu of beverages including fresh fruit shakes, coffees and wines, the restaurant ensures you a wholesome meal with great food, excellent service in the right ambiance and fine spirits, all at a price guaranteed most reasonable in town. Wifi-internet & iMac is available, free of charge.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
“Very reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The service was great. Most of the food was also excellent. Can't quite give it a 5, but it's close.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    229
    70
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional service and great value, gorgeous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had lunch twice there and we were the only ones there which I found odd. I suppose most people leave it for dinner. Service was sincere and very professional, food was not expensive but amazing taste. We ordered traditional vietnamese and we were advised how to eat it to get maximum benefit. The staff are genuinely keen to make your experience a first class one and I also got to learn about the 'brand' of the hotel too. If it stays this good then I'd say don't wait until dinner - grab lunch there too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food..Good Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Service first class.and very friendly.

Drinks not expensive (beer #1.50)

Food WOW we loved it and My wife would have eaten there every night.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Essence Hotel for one night prior to a Ha Long Bay cruise. We debated going out for something to eat and read that this was number 3 on Trip Advisor! We decided to therefore stay in the hotel and go to the Essence Cafe!
The service was absolutely amazing, all staff so attentive and helpful! We had 2 starters, 2 main courses and a side,a dessert and 4 drinks between us and it came to less than £30!!! We had the hanoi spring rolls to start which was fantastic and served with noodles and some salad! I had chicken cashew and my wife had beef noodles! Both dishes were absolutely fantastic!!
I can't find a single fault of this excellent restaurant - 100% recommend anyone in Hanoi to make the visit as you won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Visited this restaurant based on other tripadvisor recommendations. Food was good and service was great. Staff manage to accommodate us on a busy Saturday night in spite of us not having reservations. Service was quite quick as well. Great experience and would definitely recommend the place.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Essence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essence Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.