We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfortable, yet reasonable place to eat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essence Restaurant

Essence Restaurant
22 Ta Hien Street | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Cafe)
+84 4 3935 2485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,140 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: International, Dessert, Fusion, Vietnamese, Diner, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on the ground floor of the Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa, the artfully designed Essence restaurant offers you various tasty authentic Vietnamese dishes and standard Western menu for lunch and dinner. Accomplished with an extensive menu of beverages including fresh fruit shakes, coffees and wines, the restaurant ensures you a wholesome meal with great food, excellent service in the right ambiance and fine spirits, all at a price guaranteed most reasonable in town. Wifi-internet & iMac is available, free of charge.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great comfortable, yet reasonable place to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

During our 2 week stay in Hanoi, we ate several meals here. They have a varied menu, reasonable prices, fantastic service, comfortable atmosphere and really good food. Check them out. I am sure you will be pleased.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    229
    70
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice service and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The food was very nice and the staff very friendly. The pricing was very reasonable. The waitress comes for a chat and practices her English with you when you have finished eating. We ate dinner twice there, it was one of the best places to eat in Hanoi

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Indeed the essence of Hanoi cuisine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Experiencing breakfast, luncheon and dinner menus over our four day visit, every meal was freshly prepared, well presented and truly delicious. So much so we looked forward to our next meal. Staff are unobtrusive yet very friendly and watch carefully to clear completed dishes, refresh water or respond to the slightest suggestion of need. Staff take their training seriously and are to be congratulated. A trainee wears a badge to indicate that and we were aware that our positive responses enhanced self esteem. I enjoyed the small private alcoves separated by decorative wood panels. Larger parties could be accommodated also.
Quiet, suitable Vietnamese "dinner music" would have further culturally enanced the dining experience. I very much enjoyed my conversations with ths friendly staff who so eagerly shared much of their culture and suggestions of things to do and see in Hanoi with us. So positive was our experience I was sad to be leaving young folk who I so quickly built a rapport with.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great little oasis in the heart of the old quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

What a lovely little oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the streets
We had our first meal here and it was really great
Bun cha was fabulousness
Lovely staff and great price
Will be back again
Can see why it's get the highest rating

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place is quite average. Definitely a long way from 5 stars. Food quite so so. Service cheery but basics like bringing meals at the same time, bringing coffee at the same time as dessert and as ordered, providing paper to dry hands in the washroom - not there. Very little ambiance, just trying hard to be western and not quite cutting it.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Essence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essence Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.