We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good boutique hotel in heart of tourist quarter.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai to your Saves list
Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Hang Gai | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Scotland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good boutique hotel in heart of tourist quarter.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

You should not be disappointed if you choose this hotel.
It is in heart of tourist district, moments from Lake, Water puppets, Shopping and night market
Excellent international buffet breakfast.

The only quirk is the bathroom was enclosed by glass panels,not by a wall making it a rather intimate experience with 2 sharing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    64
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
76
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This lovely, small hotel is right in the middle of the Old Quarter, five minutes away from the lake and the weekend night market. The breakfast offers a choice of western buffet or pho soup (noodle and chicken). The service was good, and we had fruit in the rooms as well as little chocolates in the evening. The rooms are very nice, though a bit small. We stayed at the beginning and at the end of our stay in Vietnam, on the 6th and 7th floors respectively both facing the side, rather than the main road, and they were very quiet.
Would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the main street in case they are noisy, as there is a lot of traffic and beep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Lovely, comfortable rooms. Ask for a room from floor 6 and above, the lower rooms you can still hear the street noise from and it goes all night. Location was great, great shopping, money exchange, food, massage all within a few hundred meters. Not quite as crazy as just a few streets away where the locals hang out and you cant walk on the sidewalk. The sidewalks are clear here, very close to the lake, so an easy interesting walk. Very busy around the lake so good for a safe walk at night with all of the locals. Ho Chi Minh's mausoleum is a short taxi ride away, tuk tuk even cheaper if you dare. It doesn't matter where you stay here the traffic is crazy and you just get use to stepping onto the road and trusting that they will go around you. Food in the restaurant is excellent, the local food was top quality but they must get a lot of Australians as they tried really hard to cater for them. Lamb cutlets with gravox, and if you got a serving of chips the sauce was Heinz. Could not fault the service. 10 out of 10 overall

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper levels as the noise from the street can be clearly heard up to about floor 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at this boutique hotel. Beds were the most comfortable in Hanoi, and rooms had all the bits and pieces of a 5* hotel. Can't recommend this place enough. Location for sure could not be better - in the centre of silk street at 5 mins to the lake!

Room Tip: Get a deluxe - worth the bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai for a total of 3 nights in October 13. Very pleasant hotel, lovely comfortable rooms and excellent professional staff made our last few days in Vietnam very enjoyable. We dined in the restaurant on two nights, we found the food to be lovely and the waiting staff very friendly and helpful. We would definitely love to stay in this delightful hotel again when we are back in Hanoi again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Church Boutique Hotel (care, there are at least of this name in Hanoi) in Hang Gai, while exploring the city of Hanoi.

The hotel has one of those narrow frontages that are so easy to miss, but once you enter the lobby the class of the hotel is evident. Smart and friendly staff were there to greet us later to give us good advice on the city geography.

Our sixth-floor room was reasonably sized, with good quality decor and a layout that made the most of the space. Although we had large windows overlooking the street, traffic noise was not a problem. Our friend, however, did not fare as well, being given a small room with no windows on the second floor.

Breakfast is served on the mezzanine; the usual buffet formula of hot and cold food was available, with efficient staff looking after the hot drinks. Beyond breakfast, catering is very limited, but being located within the old quarter of Hanoi, you barely have to go out the front door for a good choice of restaurants.

Having been on the move for a week, we needed some clothes washed. The hotel would have charged in excess of 1m Dong for our 3Kg of laundry. A short walk down the road we found a travel shop who did a very good same day service for only 75,000 Dong. Quite a saving.

No gym or pool, but then this isn't a large hotel, so I wouldn't expect such facilities.

All things considered, a very good place to stay if you plan to eat out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed 1 night at this hotel. Quiet hotel with acceptable service level.

Room: Spacious for a boutique hotel. Room deco is soothing and relaxed. Stayed at the top floor, aircon vent is leaking throughout the night, just slight water dripping sound.
Service: Front office and restaurant staff are friendly. Will try to strike a conversation with guest. English ability reasonable for normal conversation.
Location: walking distance to the lake.
Breakfast: International spread, good breakfast.

Recommended for Business & Vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai

Address: 95 Hang Gai | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Boutique Hotels are a group of newly built and refurbished hotels which combine Vietnamese hospitality with international standards and exquisite services. Each hotel has its own unique blend of contemporary style, unrivalled character and sheer elegance which make the hotels, the perfect place to stay for all visitors to Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.