We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base in Hanoi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai

Save Saved
You added Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Hang Gai | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 490 hotels in Hanoi
Sussex
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good base in Hanoi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Church Boutique Hotel (care, there are at least of this name in Hanoi) in Hang Gai, while exploring the city of Hanoi.

The hotel has one of those narrow frontages that are so easy to miss, but once you enter the lobby the class of the hotel is evident. Smart and friendly staff were there to greet us later to give us good advice on the city geography.

Our sixth-floor room was reasonably sized, with good quality decor and a layout that made the most of the space. Although we had large windows overlooking the street, traffic noise was not a problem. Our friend, however, did not fare as well, being given a small room with no windows on the second floor.

Breakfast is served on the mezzanine; the usual buffet formula of hot and cold food was available, with efficient staff looking after the hot drinks. Beyond breakfast, catering is very limited, but being located within the old quarter of Hanoi, you barely have to go out the front door for a good choice of restaurants.

Having been on the move for a week, we needed some clothes washed. The hotel would have charged in excess of 1m Dong for our 3Kg of laundry. A short walk down the road we found a travel shop who did a very good same day service for only 75,000 Dong. Quite a saving.

No gym or pool, but then this isn't a large hotel, so I wouldn't expect such facilities.

All things considered, a very good place to stay if you plan to eat out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    51
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
59
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed 1 night at this hotel. Quiet hotel with acceptable service level.

Room: Spacious for a boutique hotel. Room deco is soothing and relaxed. Stayed at the top floor, aircon vent is leaking throughout the night, just slight water dripping sound.
Service: Front office and restaurant staff are friendly. Will try to strike a conversation with guest. English ability reasonable for normal conversation.
Location: walking distance to the lake.
Breakfast: International spread, good breakfast.

Recommended for Business & Vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarante, Portugal
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent just one night on this hotel. Glad it was only one night!
We arrived at night, around 10:00 p.m. and we were very tired.
We hadn't dined, so, on the check-in, we asked the recepcionist if it was possible to had some food (at the bar/restaurante/room service). He informed us that it won't be possible, since, at that hour, they didn't serve anything at the hotel. We were starving (and very exausted to have forces to go another place, far from there, and eat. Every shop around was closed and we didn't find any restaurant near the hotel.). So we asked if he could go at the hotel's kitchen and bring us something (a piece of fruit or bread). He answered no! And he was not even a little nice or showed interest for us.
We ended eating only one snickers from the hotel's minibar!

We didn't feel ourselves comfortable on this hotel. It's VERY narrow!! It's cloistered between two buildings and the corridors are really very narrow! The room was very very small! We felt ourselves asphyxiated there.

Breakfast was regular, not good. The breakfast area is also really tiny!

On the check-out, the recepcionist wasn't nice, again. Not even interested in knowing if we enjoyed our stay!

We understand that this hotel concept is frequent in Hanói (I mean hotels built between two buildings - kind of stuck) but Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai is too much!! It's claustrophobic... the way the space is distributed, the kind of architecture... I don't know... but we really felt ourselves badly here. We only wanted to go away, faster as possible!

We won't return to this hotel. Essence Hanoi Hotel, for example, is undoubtly a better and ideal option, in terms of this kind of hotel. We loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawi, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

First experience in Vietnam staff was amazing Rooms are nice too, very clean
Centrally located inthemarket part of town easy to walk. We learned from staff how to weave through the very busy street. Bicycles, mopeds, cars weave through each other. Amazing to see how aware they all are of each other

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a little gem, situated in the old quarter. Highly efficient and helpful staff,so friendly. Rooms clean, well decorated and have everything you need. The young doorman is so charming and parts the traffic like the Red Sea when walking you across the road.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights, the location is great, walking distance to activities and street shopping. The breakfast was absolutely delicious! The staff was super friendly and helpful, they even helped us cross the crazy busy streets of Hanoi. The only negative is the pillows in the room, hard as rocks! We've found this throughout our SE Asia travels though.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night on my way to Sapa.
Room was a Suite with a private balcony on the 7th floor over looking the Hang Gai Street. Hotel is centrally located in the Old Quarter.
Rooms were spacious and clean with all modern facilities.
Did not try the restaurant so cannot comment on it. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Checked in early at around 11am which was very good as we were tired from an early flight.

Room Tip: 7th floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai

Address: 95 Hang Gai | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 490 hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Boutique Hotels are a group of newly built and refurbished hotels which combine Vietnamese hospitality with international standards and exquisite services. Each hotel has its own unique blend of contemporary style, unrivalled character and sheer elegance which make the hotels, the perfect place to stay for all visitors to Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.