We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Silk Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Silk Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Silk Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   109-111 Hang Gai Street, Hanoi 21200, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
COME BACK & get DISCOUNT!
Ranked #97 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service, great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as a last minute booking as a result of changed plans (flooding in Central Vietnam).
We found the service to be fantastic and unrelenting.
The rooms were great (though you need to pay extra for an external view), spacious and very clean.
It's a great location so close to Hoan Kiem lake as well.
Thoroughly recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Director of Sales at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Petabarnard,

Thank you so much for taking time to write review about your stay at Golden Silk boutique Hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed our "fantastic service and spacious & clean room".
Petabarnard, should you have plan to visit Hanoi again please feel free contact me at any time.

Looking forward to welcoming you back "home".

Warm regards,
Hanh Chu
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    169
    40
    8
    6
See reviews for
47
201
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Staff were not welcoming and for the price we paid we expected a lot better. Breakfast was average, room was nice but only if you pay extra for a city view otherwise you get a window which looks inwards into the hotel lobby or stairwell.

Stayed a total of 3 nights all day in different rooms as it was our base between our travels around Vietnam. The 2nd night was terrible, we stayed in room 304 which was right above the restaurant, I was awoken by chairs squeaking and chatting at 5.45am, our air con also started blowing out cigarette smoke that I can only assume came from the staff out back. After complaining we were upgraded to a luxury room supposedly worth $100. The room was good but I would have never paid the asking.

The location is the best part of the this hotel, but there are plenty of others that are much better priced within the area. Hanoi's a fantastic place to be out and about in, save some money and choose a nice b&b ,get out and enjoy the city.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Director of Sales at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Eri Y,

Warmest greeting from Golden Silk Boutique Hotel. Thank you for sharing experience after your stay with us.

We sincerely regret the issue that you had on your 2nd night staying here. Please rest assure that we take this matter seriously and will review with our team.

Again thank you for your constructive feedback and we hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hanh Chu
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We wanted to stay in the Old Quarter. This hotel was perfect. We walked out the door straight into the Old Quarter. Nothing like getting into the culture straight away. Very central to everywhere we wanted to go. Felt very safe and comfortable.
Room was very comfortable not that we spent much time there. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff very helpful.
Would definitely go back and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We didn't mind what room we had as long as it wasn't noisy. No view but very comfortable. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Director of Sales at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Suzy P,

Many thanks for your 5* review. it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.
We are very happy to hear that you were enjoyed your stay and had a comfortable room at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel.

Suzy P, once again thank you for sharing your experience and we are all looking forward to welcoming back "home" in the not too distant.

Warm regards,
Hanh Chu
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andernach, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is located in the lively center. Staff is extremely friendly and helpfull in all respects. Quick check in and out, porter for luggage, free soft drinks in the room and good breakfast. Although located in the lively area, traffic noise is low even with open window.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Director of Sales at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Winfried4,

warmest greeting from Golden Silk Boutique Hotel.
We much appreciate your 5* review. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feed back.
We are trying all the time to create a feeling guests love and in your case our team have succeeded. we are very happy to hear that you found out "Staff at Golden Silk is extremely friendly and helpful".

Should you and your friends have plan to visit Hanoi please feel free to contact me at any time.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back "home".

Kind regards,
Hanh Chu
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. The staff was very friendly and our room was spotless. The bed was also very comfortable. My only issue with this hotel is that the bathroom doesn't have a door. I'm a female and was traveling with two male friends, so the bathroom situation was a bit awkward. A lot of trendier hotels seem to be designing their bathrooms this way which can either be really romantic or really awkward.

All in all though, this was a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Director of Sales at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Puja S,

Many thanks for sharing experience after your stay with Golden Silk Boutique Hotel.
It's great to hear that you found out "the beautiful hotel, great location, comfortable bed and friendly staffs" here. I will share your comments with our team and I'm sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Puja S, Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warm regards,
Hanh Chu
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We also stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our Vietnam holiday. We liked the hotel and I liked the surroundings but my husband couldn't stand it. It is like running an assault course each time you step out the door. The disruption from the building works was also relentless, starting with public announcements and music broadcasts before 6 am. But none of this is in the hotel's control. Nice staff, nice room, good breakfast, and even the meal we had brought to our room one day because i was unwell was surprisingly fresh and tasty.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanhGS, Director of Sales at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Babette O,

Many thanks for sharing experience after 4 nights stay with Golden Silk Boutique hotel.
we very much appreciate your kindly understand the surroundings of hotel. which are strengths point and also are weakness point of us.I am very happy to knew that you are satisfied with our staff, room and breakfast.
Babette O, thank you again for your nice review and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warm regards,
Hanh Chu
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Point, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this wonderfully located boutique hotel. Easy walk to interesting restaurants, bars, markets and the lake. From the front door to reception and the restaurant and bar we found staff are very friendly and helpful. A room at the back of the hotel offers a no noise option to rooms at the front. Across the road is a building site operating 7 days a week. The rooms are very comfortable however drainage from the shower is slow and one needs to take care not to flood the floor. Complimentary water,beer, soft drinks and fruit in the minibar was a nice touch. The restaurant offers an excellent range of foods for breakfast unfortunately the coffee is not what we experienced in our Vietnam travels.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Director of Sales at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear LyndaB B,

We very much appreciate the "excellent" review after your stay with Golden Silk Boutique hotel.
It is great to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and you found out the hotel location, staff, services, food and room to your liking.
We also thank you very much for your feedback regarding with the drainage matter. we assure that it have to fix immediately.

LyndaB B, thank you again for sharing experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards,
Hanh Chu
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Silk Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Silk Boutique Hotel

Address: 109-111 Hang Gai Street, Hanoi 21200, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Silk Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Elegance in Exclusive Luxury" 55 rooms and suites opening 01 March 2012, captivating vistas of Hanoi's old quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Silk Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.