We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in the centre of Hanoi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Silk Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Silk Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Silk Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   109-111 Hang Gai Street, Hanoi 21200, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
COME BACK & get DISCOUNT!
Ranked #97 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in the centre of Hanoi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic. It is smack in the middle of the old quarter. We had the room facing the Main Street and if there was noise, it did not bother us as the windows were of the aluminium casement type. So kind of sound proofed. In which case having a balcony and facing Hang Gai was an experience....a definite early morning/afternoon pastime. Watching the traffic below, and the horns honking is a sure sign one is in Vietnam... Room decor is about 3-4 star, but the service in dining room( breakfast included) was definitely 5 stars... The breakfast ranged from western to Asian... Cereal, English breakfast , pho, Chinese porridge....and the bird's eye chilli culled with the great vietnamese coffee was worth getting up early after a late night.
Overall the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I will definitely come back here. Value for money..

Room Tip: The front facing the street. One can spend the afternoon just looking down at the crazy traffic. Wea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    169
    40
    8
    6
See reviews for
47
201
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is definitely a boutique hotel but the staff are lovely and the room we had was large with a private balcony!

The breakfast included was that of a 4 star hotel but it was delicious!

We were originally going to stay 1 night, then do a 2 day Halong Bay Tour then do 1 more night then depart, however i was sick so we were easily able to extend our 1st night into 2 nights, leave out suitcases with the hotel and then do 1 more night at the hotel!

The staff were friendly and even carried umbrellas over our head to get into our transport!

The location of this hotel is great as its in the Silk district and close to food, bars and attractions!

Ask for a large room if you have more than 2 people staying with you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I booked a total of 9 nights in a deluxe room. We had 2 rooms, with 4 adults, a 4 yr old and a 2 yr old. The Deluxe room which was described in Expedia as "overlooking the city or courtyard" either didn't have windows or overlooked a dirty internal stairwell. We have complained to Expedia.

We asked to move rooms, and they kindly moved one of us to a room with an external view, but on a different floor to our family. So despite asking for rooms close together on a high floor with windows facing the back courtyard, we received none of our requests, not even a response to the request.

The location is good, but the rooms are very small and very cramped for any more than 2 guests. The bathroom, although modern, is a bad design. Something as simple as using the toilet in privacy requires closing the glass door and pulling a blind down.

In addition, we had to search under the bed for missing toys for our children and the amount of dust, dirt and hair under the bed was disgusting! I suspect the cleaners never clean under the beds.

Lastly, we ate in the hotel's restaurant one night, my husband ordered a pizza and got very ill the next day. Despite eating at all sorts of local restaurants during our trip, it was the pizza at this 4 star hotel which made him ill.

Nevertheless, the location is very good, but also very busy. Would recommend somewhere slightly less manic if you would like a bit of peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Check your special requests directly with the hotel before arriving and committing any bookings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creswick, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. Great room, large comfy bed, lovely bathroom. Staff were helpful. Hotel is in the middle of the old quarter, close to everything. Loved it! Free mini bar, breakfast was lovely. In house spa was great.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Wow we were very impressed with this hotel. We stayed in a junior suite and it was lovely, massive bed, nice bathroom, cute balcony and free mini bar. The service was excellent, the breakfast yummy and location great - couldn't ask for more!

Room Tip: Junior Suite lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have previously stayed at two of the Hanoi Elegance hotels, but I wanted to try something different for this trip. Golden Silk is located at a central part of silk street. It is a really easy place to get around the Old Quarter and only a few minutes from Hoan Kiem. There are so many restaurants and bars close by, including a few backstreets i stumbled across that I hadn't been down before.
I booked the luxury room with balcony. It wasn't available when i arrived and I was upgraded to the presidential suite - which was huge. I was travelling alone and the suite was a great space to sit in to read or have a beer in the afternoon after a day of wandering around.
Both rooms had a stunning lacquered painting behind the bed with a lotus pattern - they were a lovely feature of the rooms. Dark wooden floors and white bed linen - beautiful Vietnamese design.
The bathroom of the suite was something to be seen - double spa, shower with many settings. It also had a kitchenette - not that you would cook for yourself in a city like Hanoi but it was handy for things like cutting up fruit bought from street vendors (or cakes..)
The luxury room was beautiful, another clean and well-designed bathroom. Beautiful fittings. Comfy beds in both rooms - slept really well. People speak of the noise from the street. I have never had any problems with the noise. It is there but then, you are in Hanoi - and that is the sound of the place. I find it oddly calming and late at night when it stops, it can be eerily quiet!
The balconies are nice- the presidential suite one is a bit stark - super hot - but the room balcony was nice. Both rooms are great - if I went back, I would go for the luxury room as it met my needs.
The breakfasts are nice. Not a huge range of fruit but always sweet watermelon and bananas. The omelettes (cooked to order) are great - as was the pho. And really, this is all I am looking for in a breakfast - then you hit the streets to keep eating all day.
The hotel is clean and staff helpful.
The communications with the hotel through the booking process were helpful and they got back to be quickly in response to questions.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Luxury room with balcony - great views over the street and beautifully designed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a total of 3 nights & 1 morning shower & breakfast (after Sapa overnight train & before Ha Long pick up), the staff at the hotel were fantastic, very welcoming & helpful. The hotel looked after our bags overnight & for several days as we went off on our various tours - nothing was ever too much trouble. Rooms were small but clean & nicely decorated, breakfast was nice with both Vietnamese & western choices. Location was great, right in he heart of the old quarter, would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Silk Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Silk Boutique Hotel

Address: 109-111 Hang Gai Street, Hanoi 21200, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Silk Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Elegance in Exclusive Luxury" 55 rooms and suites opening 01 March 2012, captivating vistas of Hanoi's old quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Silk Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.