We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vietnamese style cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Cooking Centre

Hanoi Cooking Centre
44 Chau Long St. | Ba Dinh District, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 4 3715 0088
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Hanoi Cooking Centre like an insider
Top Rated
$81*
and up
Vietnamese Cooking Class at Hanoi's Cooking Centre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: First visit the famous Chau Long Market, then take your wares back to the kitchen to prepare a meal, perhaps street food, traditional Hanoian dishes or coastal cuisine. If you don't want to cook, a five-hour tour of street food and other venues ends with Vietnamese tea and dessert.
Castlemaine, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vietnamese style cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The session started with a trip to the local market to take some of the mystery out of the unusual fruit and vegetables etc. The cooking class itself is very hands on with plenty of expert advice available. At the conclusion of the class, we had a very pleasant lunch eating what we'd earlier cooked up. Even got to sample some fried silk worms!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    25
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hands-on Hanoi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Hanoi Cooking Centre stepped in when Hidden Hanoi failed my family and I with a last-minute cancellation - one hour before we were supposed to have been at Hidden Hanoi. The cancellation turned out to be a blessing in disguise for my family. The early morning market experience, coupled with hands-on cooking in Hanoi Cooking Centre, further reinforced the sights and sounds of Hanoi in an indelible manner. Learning how to cook Hanoi's street food is definitely one way to engage one's six senses in a meaningful and memorable way.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Vietnamese Street Food class was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Thanks to the Hanoi Cooking Centre for welcome my family (including my father-in-law who watched). Tracey gave us a very informative tour of the market, including some insights into Vietnamese food, the freshness and their approach to a number of different foods that westerners often consider taboo. It was great to discuss differences with an experienced chef.

Back in the cooking class after the tour of the market, our instructor was very patient, showing us techniques, and the staff were extremely efficient - clearing our mess and setting up the next dish often without us realising (we'd often turn around and be surprised that our workbenches were reset for the next activity). Impressive all round!

Class was from 2pm-5:30pm (however we were there until 6pm, eating and enjoying the sunset over the street view).

We received aprons as part of our US$55 class fee, which made a lovely souvenir.

Thanks again!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“market street food tour a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

It was a great market tour that took from 9 am until 3pm. We ate and ate our way through the town.Starting with delicious pho and loads of information on the culture of Vietnamese eating habits. The guides were knowledgeable and you could feel their pride in educating our group about their culture and habits. We walked the old quarter and the markets, stopped at several food stands and tasted their great rice pancakes ,filled with pork and my absolute favorite, their dried shallots which gets sprinkled generously on top.
The mystery about market food vanished for us, we sat with the locals for a beer break and continued cruising the streets. Even if you do not take up cooking here, I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had the best day at Hanoi Cooking Centre. Tracey took a group of us to the local market to see all the local produce, she explained all the different foods and how they are used. We bought a few things to bring back to the centre. We then started our cooking class and cooked various items. We had a lot of fun and tried a few weird and wonderful things. We then went upstairs and had all we had cooked presented beautifully for lunch with cold frosty cold beer and chilled wines. It was a great day and we met some lovely people.We would definately recommend this as a great thing to do in Hanoi.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanoi Cooking Centre also viewed

 

Been to Hanoi Cooking Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Cooking Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.