We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent snails” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Bien Seafood

Pho Bien Seafood
14 Pho Trang Thi, Hanoi, Vietnam
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #439 of 1,024 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located in downtown Hanoi
Berlin, Connecticut
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“excellent snails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Fresh seafood, unique snails at this place. Clams, prawns were nice. Ate there only once but for us it was good. Perhaps it helped we had very good local help. Check again before you go. After all everything is in flux in Hanoi.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great selection of seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The better half and I decided to take advice from some fellow travellers and try Pho Bien and on the whole we are glad we did. This was our penultimate evening in Hanoi and we went here prior to trying the delights of Le Pub.
We ordered a few starters and two main courses to share between us, everything was very tasty, good fresh ingredients, good fresh flavours, I would advise that the squid was maybe a bit overdone but we were spoiled by some phenomenal chefs during our travel. The food was in no way disappointing and I find it hard to believe that you won't be able to find something you really enjoy on the menu.
Good level of cleanliness, especially compared to some of the street cafes you come across (not that i'm complaining, all the food was great)
Granted there is no air-conditioning in the restaurant but cold towels are provided as well as fans when the waiting staff realise you are a bit on the muggy side.
We found the staff very pleasant but other tourists to be really disrespectful, a smile goes a very long way in Vietnam, some tourists should try this and it may reduce the negativity of the reviews they leave. Obviously reviews are subjective in their nature but we returned an incorrect dish without issue and the staff couldn't have been more apologetic.
The tanks of fish outside should not be mistaken for anything else other than wet-storage for food, this is not an aquarium, we did not see any dead fish floating in the tanks but having read a review that "these were removed and fed to alley-cats", I actually find this quite reassuring?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“My regular restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I go to Pho Bien once per month due to its near location. The price is acceptable and I love these foods there. For my taste, it is absolutely fresh and yummy. If u want to find a restaurent where u can hv a dinner w yr family. It is....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I went here with my family and i wasnt very impressed. The food wasn't what the menu described, their fish tanks had dead fish floating at the top, where they scooped it out and fed it to alley cats infront of the restaurant and diners. The food wasnt nice. Very unimpressed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Big Dissapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went there according to a few good reviews, but first of all, it's NOT NON-SMOKING!!!!!
The atitude of staff was not friendly at all and they put things we didn't ask or order, so we gave them back, then they didn't like it at all.
Food on the menu came very different from their discription.
No air-con.
because we had fantastic seafood some other place in Viet Numh before, it was very dissapoint.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Bien Seafood also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Pho Bien Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Bien Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.