We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and awesome staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Moment Hotel 2

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Moment Hotel 2 to your Saves list
Hanoi Moment Hotel 2
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Hang Cot, Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albany, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place and awesome staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in the executive suite which had a lounge and bedroom seperated by the shower. This allowed us to feel at home rather than 'living off a bed'. The hotel is nicely situated in the Old District. The staff were very friendly - they treat you like a family member! Do take advantage of their knowledge though i.e. ask them for everything. For example, if you want to go for a tour-ride on the back of a motorbike, ask them to organise it. That way you will not be scammed. If you want a tour guide, ask them. Food is good, and room service is good. Happy all-round and will stay there again if we return to Hanoi. Well done to the manager Jimmy, and his smiling crew.

Room Tip: Executive suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    84
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
201
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel is small and quaint. Location is very central and within close vicinity to the famous Dong Xuan Market. The staff at the hotel are very accommodating and friendly. They are at your service for any request you may have. The rooms are comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was completely thrilled with the personal service and attention that we received at this hotel. The staff were quite simply some of the best we've encountered in our travels. They were always polite, informative and genuinely interested in our Hanoi experience. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left they were all fabulous. Jimmy (the concierge) was particularly excellent and spent much time running around doing things for us; this even extended to accompianying me to the money exchangers so i could convert a significant amount of dong back to US as he was worried for my safety and did not want me to be ripped off! The room was modern, clean and well maintained. We opted for the executive suite which was a good move as it gave us a living room as well as a bedroom which meant we were happy to chill in the room when we needed a break from busy Hanoi. This is a small hotel but very well located and ideal for a visit to the capital.

Room Tip: Executive suite is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed there a night and 1 day while we were waiting to go to Sapa. Wish we have more time to stay there. They gave my brother in law birthday cake, which is very nice touch. Jimmy and his team are very helpful, called taxi for us and very eager to help out whatever customers need. Everything this hotel staff tries to do show how much they care their job and treat them like it is. Breakfast is very good and we are all like it. The room is nice equipped, the air condition in room 601 not quite cool enough. Traveling around Hanoi and back to this hotel is like a heaven feel like.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at Hanoi Moment 2 for a few nights in December 2012, and it was really a perfect place to stay.
The rooms are great, the service is excellent, and the restaurant is superb.
We were told that they have just opened the restaurant recently for lunches and dinners as previously it was for guest breakfast only, and I have to say we havent tasted better vietnamese food before or after. Back in London we went to one of the highly rated Vietnamese restaurants, and after Moment 2 experience it was a disappointment.

One thing to note is that we have found that Junior Suite is noticeably better than Executive Suite.

Room Tip: Junior Suite is better than Executive Suite, its quieter and more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 13 with ages spanning from late twenties to mid seventies who stayed at this hotel last week. We couldn't have made a better choice. Flying off the charts is the incredible service rendered by Jimmy and his front office team. They were genuinely helpful and very sincere in ensuring that our stay in Hanoi was optimised. We made numerous changes to our plans, and they accommodated us every step of the way. This is service with a heart! We took a variety of rooms, from delux to family to junior suite to the penthouse. The beds were exceedingly comfortable (except for the roll away bed which kept collapsing), and all of us had very good nightly rest. The daily breakfast was very complete and we had more than our fill. If there is one small improvement, it would be to add oats to the menu, but it's a minor detail. The location in the old quarters was good and if not for the scorching heat, we would have walked everywhere.

For anyone looking for a base in Hanoi, truly, look no further. You will not be disappointed with Hanoi Moment 2. Kudos to Jimmy and his A-team!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is the most amazing hotel I've experienced in many years...and I have travelled far and wide across this globe! This is what I'd call a boutique property, something you could easily find in an off-Broadway Manhattan neighborhood. The rooms are all tastefully decorated (we stayed several times going back and forth from Hanoi), with an obvious attention to many small aesthetic details by the owner. The place oozes understated class. Showers are exotic, with a wood platform placed over stones. Laptop computer in room is a great plus. Rooms are super quiet...a big plus in the noisy Old Quarter. But what jettisons this hotel to a whole new level is its customer service. I have NEVER been treated to such a high level of service anywhere. They worked with us on getting the right room arrangement for a family of four, offering several options. Jimmy was just incredible, offering constant tips on any and all questions. The same applies to the rest of the front desk staff...they were all so genuine and sincere in making sure we were comfortable and happy (several of the women are recent college graduates who studied hospitality and English and are anxious to build a career in the industry). Upon entering the hotel after a day out, we were always approached and asked about how things went and what more they could do for us. They far surpassed my expectations.The in-house restaurant was also suprisingly good (great, actually)...there were a couple of nights when we just didn't want to struggle with the noise and crowds on the street. Prices were very reasonable and they had a good selection of wine and liquor too. It was nice to see an "empowered" staff too...certain small things were resolved on the spot, without having to consult with a manager. After coming from Ho Chi Minh, I was advised that we would find the people in the north to be more reserved and less engaging. Well, this certainly doesn't apply to the Hanoi Moment 2 staff. I can't say enough about this place...it is 5-star service and comfort at very reasonable rates, that anyone above a budget backpacker can afford! Thank you Jimmy & staff!

One watchout: if you go to book and type in "Hanoi Moment" in your internet search engine, the Hotel Legacy will come up first under this name (deceptive marketing by a hotel trying to tap in to the Moment's stellar reputation). We actually stayed at the Legacy for one night since a third party booked for us (perfectly fine, but no comparison). Also, I can't compare the Moment 2 (Hang Cot Street) vs. their original property, but the Moment 2 definitely gets a 10 in my book.

Room Tip: For a family of four, you can either get two rooms (one queen size bed per room), or negotiate their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Moment Hotel 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Moment Hotel 2

Address: 42 Hang Cot, Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Moment Hotel 2 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the heart of Hanoi's old quarter, just a stone’s throw from the evocative Hoan Kiem Lake and a few minutes from many major sites, shops, bars. Well in a nutshell our desire is to give you great quality accommodation at a good price and with unrivaled customer service. We are committed to ensuring you leave Hanoi with happy memories of a unique city and a special hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hanoi Moment Hotel 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Moment Hotel 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.