We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The true meaning of "Hospitality"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 to your Saves list
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Hang Dzau, Hoan Kiem Lake | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Direct Exclusive Deals!
Ranked #28 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The true meaning of "Hospitality"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were greeted like royalty with the warmest welcome I have ever experienced. The staff (from the front desk to the cleaning staff) are knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. We were lucky enough to stay at both Meracus 1 and Meracus 2 and this review applies to both.
Locations are both excellent, every part of the hotels were clean and the décor at both although different were in their own style beautifully done. Nothing was too much trouble, I highly recommend these hotels in Hanoi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HungMeracus, General Manager at Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear our distinguished guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing Meracus Hotel for your recent stay in Hanoi, and we are highly glad to know that our expectation has been exceeded.

On behalf of the whole staff, we are thankful to you for the excellent comment which meaningfully encourages and supports us on our way of development. Reading yours, we know that we are doing the right things and our attentiveness has been well-recognized, and truly, we are touched by you also.

In addition, we thank you for recommending Meracus Hotel to the upcoming guests. Your truthful review is valuable not only for us, but for the ones who are looking for a smart choice of accommodation in Hanoi for an enjoyable vacation as well.

Our primary goal is fulfilling every guest’s satisfaction, accordingly we keep striving harder in order to improve both facilites and services to the best possible, and your patronage is important for us in deed.

Should you need any further help, please feel free to contact us anytime. It’s always our pleasure to be your service.

We wish you greatest health and prosperity!

Your in service,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    100
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
101
400
71
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Simply impossible to explain it, beautiful people, beautiful service, beautiful hotel, I recommend you all to stay here if you visit Hanoi! Perfect location, very clean, very professional service.
The rooms 701 and 702 are perfect, I believe the rest are also great, the food shows the quality of the chef and, in this case is FANTASTIC (with capitals)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

After a booking error with Meracus 1 (this seems to be often) and then a mis-
understanding of our rates for
swapping to Meracus 2, we finally settled into the best hotel in HanOi.
The hotel is clean and decor lovely - close to everything in the old quarter and yet noise no problem. Breakfast great and ALL staff just wonderful - with a special mention for June and Joey for helping us celebrate our 40th anniv. Also for helping me feel better when I was sick. Do yourself a favour
and stay in Meracus 2. You will
Love it

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights and my feedback is:

*Location - Superb, right in the old quarter with close access to almost all attractions
*Cleanliness - Superb, comfortable and cosy.
*Room size - Would recommend going for deluxe if you need a little more space and doesn't mind to spend a few extra dollars. Also, some rooms are noisier than the others (those facing the streets) so do make your request if you are a light sleeper (although I would say they offer ear plugs too!)
*Service - Staff are all friendly, polite, courteous and thoughtful
*Overall comment - Small hotel but feels like a five star and treated like a five star guest too!

Had a little hiccup over the room I've booked (booked 2 months ago and got it confirmed). Was told that the one and only Junior Suite was taken (really disappointed and upset) on the day of check-in. However, customer service manager did all he could to make it up for us - great on the spot thinking and ensuring all their guests are satisfied.

Well done Meracus and I would like to thank each and everyone of them there who have taken care of us really really really well!

A definite return to this hotel if I am to visit Hanoi again. :)

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request for quieter rooms where possible. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My mom, sister and I stayed at the Meracus 2 for two nights, left our luggage for one while going on an overnighter on Halong Bay which the hotel organised, and came back for a final night. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, in particular the restaurant staff who provided delicious a la carte breakfasts (I loved the eggs bennie and the Vietnamese pho) and took the time to show my mother how to make the carrot garnish and give us the cinnamon tea recipe. We had a balcony out to the busy street where we enjoyed watching life go by. We all highly recommend this hotel as the best service oriented one!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Smart modern rooms, breakfasts amazing, staff brilliant. We stayed at the Meracus 2 on 3 occasionis while in Vietnam and would be happy to recommend it to anyone in Hanoi. The rooms were fantastic, but the staff made the stay all the more memorable. They could not have been more friendly, helpful and accommodating. The only place to stay in Hanoi!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Glacier, Montana, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great new hotel in Hanoi, excellent and courteous staff. The hotel is located slightly off the main drag so it is quiet for Hanoi standards. The breakfast is some of the best you will find in Hanoi and it is included with your room. You get what you pay for with the meracus 1 hotel. The rooms cost a bit more money than your average budget hotel but if you are new to the city it makes a comfortable basecamp. The rooms with balconies have great views of the city.There is also a Meracus 2 in town, we have stayed there and it is good but if your budget allows go for Meracus 1 which has great access to Hoan Kim Lake.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1

Address: 11 Hang Dzau, Hoan Kiem Lake | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Hang Dau (Hang Dau) street – the famous shoe-shopping street of Old Quarter Hanoi, Meracus Hotel is at convenient place where you just step out and feel the true life of the over-1000-year-old beautiful city. With graceful design of lobby, lounge, restaurant and rooms, Meracus Hotel is the most right place for your relax after hours of working or traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.