We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice return visit to Hanoi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Ta Hien Street | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Seasonal Offers!
Ranked #6 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very nice return visit to Hanoi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Essence Hotel - Hanoi Great little boutique hotel located in the heart of the old quarter. Our room was large and very comfortable - we were greeted in the room with a complimentary bottle of wine and rose petals on the bed.....Must have thought it was our anniversary. The staff was extremely helpful, courteous and always had smiles on their faces. They were fantastic at helping to organize tours, transportation to and from the airport and recommending great local eateries! The restaurant in the hotel is really good and very reasonable. I would definitely stay at the Essence Hotel again!

Room Tip: The Jr Suite was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,524
    130
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
343
804
90
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

In a nutshell, our experience at the Essence Hanoi was hands down, the best service we have ever experienced at any hotel in the world, and we have been privileged enough to stay at some of the best.

I was making a rather last minute reservation due to the impulsive nature of our trip, and the manager, Mr. Chung was extremely helpful in answering all my questions through IM, and even offered us a discounted rate on the next level of rooms because the room we wanted was fully booked.

We were greeted by Mr. Hai who managed our check in, and he has to be one of the best hotel personnel we have ever met. He was friendly and warm, but never overstepped his boundaries - the perfect balance between being hospitable and professional. He and the other staff were extremely helpful in answering all our questions, and took the effort to remember little details about their guests, which really made us feel special.

Along the way, I had just mentioned that this trip was to celebrate our 5th anniversary. When we arrived, they had upgraded us to the Essence Suite, and decorated our room with petals, and fashioned swans out of the towels. Complimentary snacks, fruits and a bottle of wine completed our welcome surprise. In addition, we had booked a 1 night Halong Bay cruise through them on the Paradise Luxury, and they had made sure that Paradise also upgraded us, to their best room, and surprised us with a cake on board.

On top of everything, as a nursing mom traveling without baby, I had to express and freeze milk so I could transport it home. They were extremely accommodating, and helped me store my milk in their freezer, taking care to ensure that it was not stored together with raw meats.

The rooms are nice, clean, comfortable and cosy, on par with many 5 star hotels. The view isn't much, but it really wasn't a problem for us. We thought the laptop in the room was also a nice touch. The breakfast selection was decent, and delicious (I especially enjoyed the homemade yogurt and the pho).

All in all, it really was the best hotel stay we've ever had, and it really was the personalized service (delivered with sincerity) that made it outstanding.

Room Tip: We stayed a night in the junior suite and another in the essence suite. Though the Essence Suite had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Arriving at the Essence was like arriving at an oasis amid a teaming sea of movement. The welcome drink and cold facecloth handed to us on arrival were merely teasers of the excellent service yet to come. The staff was great and could not do enough to make us feel welcome and special. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were great, with the accompanying friendly service.
The travel desk went out of their way to arrange a good Halong Bay tour for our daughter and Hi at the front desk helped us plan an itinerary of sights to see in Hanoi and arranged a driver to take us around.

The cost of services (for example having laundry done) was very reasonable compared to all the other places we stayed in Viet Nam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is an excellently located hotel in the old quarter of Hanoi. As this was our first stop in Vietnam after a long trip the hotel pick up from the airport and the welcome drink upon arrival was lovely. There was a small hiccup with the booking (we needed 2 twin rooms and they did not have them available) that was sorted out with the manager. They also provided transport for 9 of us to and from a restaurant in a different part of town - which was greatly appreciated. We had a juior suite where we were provided with wine and local "goodies" which was a nice touch. The room was extremely clean and exceptionally well presented with those extra little touches like fresh flowers that made it feel really special. The junior suite included complimentary mini bar which was a nice addition. The breakfast was good and the service was excellent in every respect. Definitely worth staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: The junior suite was very slightly more expensive that a regular room but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

First the positive side : very well located, super nice staff, pretty good food at the restaurant. On the other side, if you book two connecting rooms, you may very well have one room without a window and the other one with a direct view on... a wall. It is ok for one night or two but If you want a comfortable place for 4/5 days don't choose the Essence hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Located In the heart of the old quarter of Hanoi, Essence Hotel is a peaceful and friendly respite from the chaos of the city. The breakfast was excellent, especially the homemade yogurt. The staff, including Hai, Long, Nyung and Bai were extremely friendly and helpful. They arranged a great tour to Sapa and the doorman escorted us all the way to the train, picking up the tickets and taking us into our cabin. Everyone had a friendly smile on their face and kind words. We'd visit again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Situated in the perfect spot in the lively Old Quarter, Essence Hotel also has exceptional service and comfortable rooms. The service right from checking in through to checking out could not have been better. The staff go above and beyond to give you tips, book tables/appointments and make sure your stay in Hanoi is up to expectation. The included breakfast was the best I experienced throughout Vietnam with a good selection. Modern, comfortable rooms with a laptop and free WiFi worked well. Great place to stay!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Address: 22 Ta Hien Street | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence hotel ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.