We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Ta Hien Street | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Seasonal Offers!
Ranked #6 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Frankfurt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I came back to Hanoi after 5 years and wanted to stay in one if the successor hotels of the original Hanoi Elegance Hotel. Essence Hotel proved to be the perfect choice - great hotel, excellent location, nice staff, good food & service as well as good value for money. I can definitely recommend this welcoming and professional hotel.

HH, Germany

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,522
    130
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
343
804
90
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I loved my stay at the Essence Hanoi hotel, my only regret is that I didn't stay longer!!
the hotel arranged us a tour to Halong Bay, allowed us to arrive straight of the train from Ho Chi Minh at 5am and use shower facilities prior to our tour departure, and also stored our extra luggage while we were gone. I kept thinking to myself- no where in the uk would you get such great service at no extra cost!!
the staff were so friendly and welcoming, and although I didn't sample any lunch or dinner from the hotel restaurant I can greatly recommend the breakfasts!!
located in the heart of the old quarter I found the hotel perfectly situated for a good bit of shopping!!
an amazing experience - lovely clean, beautifully decorated hotel which I can't wait to return to one day!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

In 2009 we stayed on 2 separate occasions for a total of 18 nights at the Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel, when it was Elegance 4, and had a wonderful time. We reviewed it back then as we were extremely happy with every aspect

This year we decided to stay at the Essence Hanoi Hotel being fully confident that their level of service would be as high as that given to us at the Ruby. We were not disappointed. On making our booking by email direct to the Hotel we appreciated receiving a very prompt reply from Mr Vuong Manh.

Our stay in July was for 6 days, then a week staying with family who live in Hanoi, and back again to the Essence for another 6 days. Both times we had Junior Suite 605 which was spacious and spotlessly clean with a wonderfully comfortable bed and nice crisp linen. Other reviewers have already commented on the excellent inclusions in the room.

We had lots of laughs with management and staff and nothing was too much trouble - they help with anything and everything. We must compliment Ms Tam in particular. Tam is super efficient, friendly, happy and very knowledgeable about Hanoi and we loved showing off our very new grand-daughter to her and everyone else.

The location of the hotel is excellent and we did lots of walking around and around the lake. Good to have enjoyable exercise after the wonderful variety of food at the Essence Cafe! There are also many other eating places located nearby. We can also highly recommend the Gourmet Corner Restaurant at the Hanoi Elegance Diamond Hotel. It is in easy walking distance from the Essence and our dinner was of a very high standard. It was great to see the night lights of Hanoi from high up.

There is absolutely nothing to fault at the Essence Hanoi Hotel. Every single person is polite, friendly, smiling, happy and willing to help in any way. It is a first class, immaculate establishment and we have no hesitation in recommending the Essence to all prospective travellers to Hanoi.

We hope to be back again next year, possibly around May, and it will be lovely to see everyone again. They made us feel part of a large family. Can't wait!

Thirsty Geckos

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here on last night in Hanoi - wished had found it sooner and stayed longer. Truly 4 star at cheap price. Room faultlessly clean, facilities excellent. Lots of extra little touches that made it perfect including laptop in room, generous fruit platter, reasonable priced mini bar, rose petals on bed, fabulous coconut scented body lotion, alarm clock, excellent service from all staff; best restaurant for dinner (vietnamese and european menu - quality food and presentation with good prices and ambient dining area). Breakfast great, location great - this place has it all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The staff were friendly trustworthy and can speak English very will.they made sure our stay was comfortable and enjoy in Hanoi,.the room is clean and nice,also free wifi and laptop in the room.Perfect location in a central part of old quarter.I would recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Being one of the top hotels on tripadvisor we were almost a bit sceptical, it sounded too good to be true... But the hotel is simply lovely!! Friendly staff, good food (and reasonable prices, both vietnamese and western), excellent located in the old town, clean rooms and in the junior suite you even Get free minibar, a bottle of free wine and free laundry... The laundry services are not expensive at the hotel, but we really appreciated the free and well executed service. I would recommend the hotel to anyone going to Hanoi!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was possibly the best value hotel we have experienced anywhere. All of the staff were just so wonderful and helpful in every respect and in every situation. Although the front desk staff directed us to several excellent restaurants, the in-house restaurant was hard to beat. Thank you, Essence Hotel, for making our nine-day stay in Hanoi so memorable. Alan & Luba Perry.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Address: 22 Ta Hien Street | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence hotel ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.