We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good and inexpensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant 96

Restaurant 96
34 Gia Ngu | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
84 439352396
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 1,013 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very good and inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stumbled upon this place. We wanted to eat more than prawns and noodles. This place had a good variety. The food was very good and tasty. The staff were helpful, the place appeared clean. I would recommend this place but remember you get what you pay for! Still a bargain.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    79
    23
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Called here after been recommended by our hotel and it was fantastic, the best food I've had in a long time, that wasn't sushi!

Nice (what seemed) family run restaurant, would recommend to anybody but please don't expect fast food. It's not a long wait but it's worth the wait!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“VerI try average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I went to 96 with a group of friends. The service was very good and the wait staff were friendly. However, my meal (beef with red wine) was tasteless and the beef was very fatty. I tried my friend's duck with lemon grass which had more flavour than my dish but was very oily. Given that there's a lot of good food in Hanoi I wouldn't necessarily recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perhaps a little overhyped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Nice small clean little restaurant. A little on the pricier side although the food was good quality (albeit very bland). Service was excellent, very friendly. Good but not worthy of a 2nd visit

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First dinner in hanoi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

As first dinner in hanoi we came across this restaurant in the old quarter and we were satisfied with the food and the service. The staff speaks a little bit of English, that it is not so common in Vietnam. The food is typical Vietnamese but in my opinion little bit "westernized"

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 96 also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant 96? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant 96, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.