We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant 96

Restaurant 96
34 Gia Ngu | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
84 439352396
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 1,012 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A lot of choices, great location (next Tirant hotel), beautiful place, clean, excellent customer service, cheap drinks, quality food.

Yum yum yum.............

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    77
    23
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Bland Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went to Restaurant 96 after reading favourable reviews on Tripadvisor but found that our dining experience was average at best. The food was well presented but quite bland, we had the roast duck and a fish broth, both of which were underwhelming. The service was friendly enough, but you’ll find better, alongside more appetising food, elsewhere in the Old Quarter.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“one of the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

After read all the post about I decided to try to restaurant.The place is not easy to find.Taxy drive like crazy to find out.Anyway; the place is nice and look like clean.Is casual asian decor.
I like the toilet.!! nice.
I try the hanoi style deep fry sping roll.Well presented , Taste nice and very crispy(vote;65/80)
For main; the duck cook in ma may leaves.Taste,portions and presentation very good.
Service is not bad, and compare to other restaurants is exellent!!
menu is in english and the dish are write with details.
Personaly I recommend this place and for sure I will come back soon.
Is one of the best that I try in hanoi

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A good opportunity to sample Vietnamese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you have just arrives in Vietnam and do not (yet) feel like ordering food from one of the omnipresent food hawkers, this is the perfect place to start with Vietnamese cuisine based on an English menu and friendly explanations by the very helpfull staff.

As one of the rainy season's downpour was ongoing while we left the restaurant, we have been provided with plastic rain shields.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Really good service and excellent quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights in Hanoi as our introduction to Vietnam and on both evenings ate at this restaurant. The staff could not have been more helpful in giving us tips about what to eat and how. The food was really good . it was not busy when we were there - I think we ate later than most so not a special atmosphere but because they were not busy they ALL attended to us and conversed to make us welcome

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 96 also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant 96? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant 96, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.