We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Woolworths and take a photo” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient House

Ancient House
87 Ma May Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$38*
and up
Private Hanoi Sightseeing with Electric Car Tour...
Ranked #36 of 91 Attractions in Hanoi
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This house in the Old Quarter was restored in 1999, as an example of an ancient Hanoian home. It represents the architecture of the Old Quarter, and is decorated to reflect ancient houses of Hanoi.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Go to Woolworths and take a photo”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This is just a shop in an old building. If you feel compelled to go the take a photo outside and save the price they charge to enter a shop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    33
    20
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
188 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“I don't like paying to shop!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place is more beautiful from the outside than the inside. You have to pay to get in, and then the house is one big store. Also, the prices in the store are quite a bit higher than we saw elsewhere. If you are going to Hoi An, skip this Ancient Shop (er . . . I mean house), as you can visit real clan homes there instead.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninh Binh, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing interesting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

i read this house on my guidebook read was nice but when i came the i saw dirty house, inside very hot uncomfortable. Music terrible too headache, not stop for off little. Ticket very expensive. staff wak ok but they doesn't speak. i just came 5 mins and going out. not recommend this palace.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“More shop than museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Interesting enough to take a quick look around & it was cheap enough but really the house is predominantly a shop for traditional artwork, embroidery, games & other items, many of which are sourced from local villages. The prices & quality seemed decent so we did pick up a couple of items and we enjoyed 15-20 minutes out of the sun. It isn't the most exciting place but it's worth calling in if you are visiting/staying in the old town since the cost is so low.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Disappointing - not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was my second visit and something had happen. The old and genuine was kind of gone. Not gone, but hidden behind all the stuff they had put up for tourists to buy, and it wasn´t old stuff to match the house. No, it was just the crap you can buy in all the other shops for tourists.

They probably want to survive and earn more money like all the other businesses. But to what cost? The first time I was there it was a pretty genuine house with only interior and furniture's from way back and the staff talked about the house and everything else in the house. Now the staff talked about the authenticity of the merchandises - "oh no, this place mat is real silk and it´s made by hand, you can see this by looking at the stitches". Bah! - I didn´t go there to get a lesson about pillowcases, place mats, table cloths and silver necklaces made by their fellow men´s down the road. I want to see how it looked like 200-300 years ago.

A good advise to the manager:
Instead of getting an income from selling "new" things and ruin the authenticity of the place, they should rice the 10.000 VND (½ USD) entrance fee. I would gladly pay 5 times more (maybe even more) to see an authentic house. And I think I speak for others too.

But still, if you look beyond the merchandises, it´s a pretty cool place. I want one...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient House also viewed

 

Been to Ancient House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.