We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hanoi Social Club

The Hanoi Social Club
6 Hoi Vu | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 84, Vietnam
+84 4 39382117
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 1,140 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, International, Vegetarian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Social Club is an oasis in a quiet laneway in the heart of Hanoi, serving excellent coffee and tea, and hearty meals, including a wide range of vegetarian choices. Come and enjoy this creative space (including our terrace garden) and relaxed vibe, day or night.If you desire a bit of Vietnam, try our cafe trung (fabulous egg coffee) or some viet fries (made with bamboo shoots!).
England
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
“Chill out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

An excellent place to chill out. We didn't eat - only popping in for a drink, but the menu looked good with plenty of vegetarian options. When peopls meals arrived it looked to be generous portions. The place it's self occupies various rooms and will appeal to some customers more so than others. I loved it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    137
    43
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tranquil spot - ideal for a quiet time with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Tranquil three floor cafe with comfy chairs, quirky decor and posters, roof garden and all in all great downtime place. Not so easy to find, but once I did I spent a couple of hours there working away and enjoying a low key meal - ginger and lemongrass tea (great 'n spicey); mango curry with brown rice (needed a bit more bite) and Vietnamese coffee (condensed milk at the bottom - don't stir too hard!) with Vietnamese vanilla ice cream, nuts and nougat (although couldn't find the latter). Good service. Great place for a quiet time and good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A little haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

A good place for drinks, food, free wifi and they have a good selection of second hand books too.
Good value and the levels are upstairs seem to provide some quiet in an otherwise noisy city

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A hip Melbourne cafe in Hanoi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Came here today needing somewhere to chill out for the afternoon, waiting for the night train.

As soon as I walked in I felt like I was at home in Melbourne, with a quirky decore and funky menu very similar to the South Melbourne cafes Im used it.

Variety of couches, chairs and tables with a lot of people doing similar to me and parked up for the day. There are a few levels I think however I stayed downstairs.

Mango lassie was yum and I liked the Veggie Burger - different to any other veggie burgers Id had back home.

Seems to be the place to be for students, expats and tourists.

Will come here again when Im keen for another relaxing afternoon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, great menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Cute little restaurant with a different menu. Ordered a salad, that was huge and really well served... Couldn't eat it all myself. Pineapple slush was also good. Wifi that works and amazing musical selection. Price pays for everything you get.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hanoi Social Club also viewed

 

Been to The Hanoi Social Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hanoi Social Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.