We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but you can find better at the same price, except if you get the free pick up at airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Style Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hanoi Style Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Style Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #305 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but you can find better at the same price, except if you get the free pick up at airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The hotel is very well located in the old quarter in a street with a lot of restaurants, bars.
The room was clean but not as promising as on the pictures.
The bathroom was clean but not wonderful.

Good points: there is a computer with internet in the room. Fruits and a bottle of wine was offered to us.

We only stayed one night and only tried once the breakfast. As already said by someone else, try to arrive early for the breakfast. Otherwise, you won't have anything left to eat.

They offered us a free pick-up at the airport which was very well appreciated. The price is normally about 15 dollars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    29
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
14
37
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had a large superior room with small balcony at the front of the hotel. The bar/restaurant across the street is noisy until around 1am. We were so exhausted from jet lag that it wasn't a big issue. But you may want to trade the bigger windows for a quieter room at the back.

The in-room computer is great - super convenient. Room was a good size and the hotel is in the heart of everything. Rooms were clean and staff were friendly and accommodating. For travel booking, Handspan tours/agency is on the same road and they seemed most knowledgeable in terms of info provided.

Room Tip: back rooms are quieter but have no real view and smaller windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The accommodation was clean with all the amenities that the price would suggest - very good value for money. Free internet access was welcomed to touch base with home.

This is the first review I have ever written. The reason I felt the need to write was the service that we received from Mr Tam. He was efficient and attentive without being intrusive. He organised every thing we needed from trips to a health spa. He just seemed to pitch his help at the right level.

The other staff members were very pleasant. Very well located. About 5 mins from the Water Puppet Theater and Hoan Kiem Lake. This little hotel sits very well in the busy streets of the Old Quarter. Well worth a look !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed at Hanoi Style Hotel from 1-4 Oct 2011, and was very concerned with the location and amenities like the availability of a lift / hot water running. I was travelling w my aging father for this trip, so safety and comfort were my main priorities.

Even before my trip began, i was already corresponding with the hotel's manager, Mr Tam, because i wanted to be sure everything would be alright. Mr Tam was very prompt and explained everything in details, much to my relief. Taxi pickup was USD15 for two-way (arrival and departure), and there was even a free room upgrade for us, which i was very thankful about, since i thought my deal from Agoda was cheap enough and wouldn't entitle us to any free perks like the room upgrade!

Like other travellers, i must say the hotel's location is wonderful. We could explore the Old Quarters on foot easily. And i was pleasantly surprised when the tours at the hotel were relatively half the price of what i found from the internet. Just ask Mr Tam for recommendations if you can't do an overnight tour like me. Mr Tam is non-pushy, speaks good English and recommends what is within your budget. His assistants were just as helpful, but they spoke limited English like most other Vietnamese, so it's better to speak to him at the start of each day.

The stay has made our trip an enjoyable short holiday. I would love to return to Hanoi Style Hotel if i ever head back to this part of Vietnam again! (:

Room Tip: If you happen to be a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the main streets instead. The honking...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoistylehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Style Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Gwen,

We would like to express our gratitude to you for your nice words and praises. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff and motivate us to keep up the good work.

We wish you all the best and truly hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Warm regards,
Mr.Tam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Hanoi Style before leaving for Sapa. This hotel is actually a nice one in the Old Quarter of Hanoi. The price is fairly cheap for this midtown area also. Our room has cleany double bed, a telephone, an LCD TV, a minibar and a PC with internet access. The furniture and decorations are elegant. They also put a desk in the room so we could write some postcards for our little nephews Jimmy and our parents. Everything is comfortable and worths itself for a 3-star hotel. The bellboy was friendly and helpful when we asked about the streets and locations around the place. The hotel owns a very convenient location because there are a lot of stores, boutique shops, restaurants and cafeterias nearby. We tried to get the most of Hanoi during our stay and actually we can never get enough of it. Thanks to the hotel for its awesome hospitality and the lovely town of Hanoi for such sweet memories!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We found this hotel is perfect for your stay in Hanoi. 37 Ma May street is in the middle of the old quarter but quieter than other Hanoi streets. Tourist attractions like the 87 Ma May Traditional house or the Water Puppet Theater and the Hoan Kiem Lake as well as many restaurants and the silk street (Hang Gai) are within short walking distance.

The hotel has a driver which picks you up at the airport.

The rooms have style, are perfectly clean, with comfortable beds, balcony (we had rooms 301, 401, 501 and 601 which we all can especially recommend). These rooms have a nice view over the old quarter. Mineral water, fresh fruit, aircondition, Wi-Fi, TV, computer is all included.

Breakfast was also very good, with lots of variety, traditional or western, with good, fresh fruit, eggs/omelette and great coffee.

Especially worth mentioning is the absolutely friendly and professional staff. They know their business and can help with everything you need.

The hotel also organised our trip to Halong Bay (a must when you are in Vietnam). They have much experience in that and everything was carefully selected and perfectly organised which resultet in a wonderful experience. We could leave our luggage which we did not need for this trip in the hotel and felt it was absolutely save.

The hotel and its team exceeded our expectations and I recommend it very much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My friend and I stayed at Hanoi Style a couple of weeks ago and thought it was great - location is perfect (in the middle of it all in the Old Quarter with a few great restaurants in the same street as well), the staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly, free internet and the rooms were very clean. Mr Tam (who speaks great English) was also very helpful in booking our boat tour for Halong Bay which was fantastic - it definitely pays to organise this sort of thing once you are in the country, not over the internet before you get there. I would definitely stay stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoistylehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Style Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude to you for your nice words and praises. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff and motivate us to keep up the good work.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Mr.Tam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Style Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Style Hotel

Address: 35 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Style Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the "Old Quarter" – Hanoi Vietnam, Hanoi Style Hotel offers affordable, luxurious accommodation in an authentic Vietnamese neighbourhood. Shop in the nearby Dong Xuan market. Visit the many small shops, restaurants and coffee bars. It is just outside your Hanoi Style Hotel door. Hanoi Style's professional staff are well educated, speak English and Western languages and are committed to making your stay a pleasant, care-free experience.Visit our site and check out all latest hotel room promotions & special offers to enjoy your holiday in Hanoi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hanoi Style Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Style Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.