We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of four months in Asia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bloom Microventures Private Tour

Bloom Microventures Private Tour
201 Trich Sai, Tay ho, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam
+84 164 387 6594
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 410 Tours & Activities in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bloom Microventures is a non-profit social business (registered UK charity) providing microcredit to entrepreneurs living below the poverty line in developing countries using a unique model that harnesses the power of responsible tourism with microcredit to alleviate poverty.Bloom Microventures offers unique and authentic day tours to the rural countryside of Soc Son, just 40km north of Hanoi, that give you a chance to explore a side of Vietnam very few tourists will ever experience while making a major difference to the lives of local Vietnamese farmers. The tour will include actively engaging in and learning about community development by providing a microloan to a woman we are going to meet, a traditional lunch and a selection of the following activities: learning about and even trying rice and tomato farming, a bicycle ride through the countryside, a walk through the beautiful forests, trying your hand at traditional fishing, visiting the location of a mystical historical legend and exploring a temple complex!
Conway, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A highlight of four months in Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We have been traveling in Asia for four months, in Taiwan, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Lao, and VietNam, and our day trip with Bloom is without question one of the most memorable things we have done. The opportunity to get off the well worn tourist track and learn something about life in the rural provinces was invaluable. Our guide Chi is smart, knowledgeable, sensitive to cultural differences, loved by the villagers we met, and is passionate about Bloom's mission -- to use tourist dollars to give direct and meaningful support to people so they can improve their lives. And the lunch was some of the best food we have had in VietNam.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great learning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

I was glad that we visited Phu Minh with Bloom Microventures. We departed Hanoi at 8am and returned by 6pm. Loved the activities that were organized (e.g. making sweet dumplings and weaving baskets) and learned many interesting things about the community and Bloom's work there. If only the weather was better!

A more detailed review could be found at https://mylongwaydown.wordpress.com/2015/01/19/hanoiiiii-pt-vi-bloom-microventures-tour/

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Intriguing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Spent a very relaxing day in Hoa Binh. Our tour guide Lonh was very friendly and knowledgable, giving us insight into the village as well as general social commentary in Vietnam.

Spent time with our loanee and uprooted some cassava trees with an excitable but not so strong 3 year old boy, and then went to lunch at the eco-lodge. Great healthy lunch and got to meet a whole bunch of Australian students who seemed to be having a great time interacting with the villagers.

Took bicycles, and rode around the pretty countryside, be prepared to wave and say hello back to the curious villagers! All in all a worthwhile trip and great to see just exactly where the funds are going to. Well done to everyone at Bloom!

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Get away from the usual tourist things”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

The tours that Bloom Microventures have are well worth it. Not only do you get to experience and see things in Ha Noi that are not the usual things touristy things but actually how some people live, by going on the trip your money also helps to contribute to this great organisation and the good things they do for those less fortunate. If you're tired of the normal hum drum tourist trail, I highly recommend you try this.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Christmas Day with Bloom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

My family would thoroughly recommend a tour with Bloom Microventures. We wanted to make Christmas Day a day to remember whilst away from the traditional celebrations with our families and our private trip with Minh was certainly that! Minh was a fantastic guide and was generous in the information she provided about the company, the families we visited and broader aspects of life in rural Vietnam. The value of the micro-loans to families and the whole community cannot be overstated - this program provides the first step in a process through which individual women can make a plan to generate sustainable income and achieve amazing things. They can also receive a second loan to continue to grow their enterprise, which is the case for the woman who will benefit from our tour. Her family plans to buy a second pig to be used as a sire, in addition to raising chickens and cultivating cassava. We had a wonderful day, both inspirational and humbling. What a difference a small number of dollars can make. Thankyou Minh and Bloom for the opportunity to see a beautiful part of Vietnam in a meaningful way.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloom Microventures Private Tour also viewed

 

Been to Bloom Microventures Private Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloom Microventures Private Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.