We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food and atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gecko

Gecko
89 Hang Bo St, Hanoi, Vietnam
043 8288773
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 1,013 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Decent food and atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Gecko was a few doors down from our hotel and a very convenient location. I was excited because the menu had a lot of my favourite foods but none that I tried was as good as I was expecting. None the less, it the food was okay, it was cheap, and it is clearly a favourite for foreigners.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    64
    29
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best food we had in Vietnam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

There are several Gecko restaurants in Hanoi, but this one was close to our hotel and we ate there 3 times. We also visited another Gecko closer to the lake 2 times. The food is excellent, stuff friendly, atmosphere cozy and relaxed, beer always cold, and prices reasonable, even a little bit lower then in similar places.
Soups are great, and if you get tired of Vietnamese rice and noodles, there is also a choice of western food, a little bit more expensive, but really good.
If you are in Hanoi, Gecko is the place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice cozy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Top place to go if you want a break from the hawker stalls.
Bistro type surrounding with seating for only 16 or so.
Staff always welcoming and friendly.
Food is really good and not at all expensive, keep your eyes open for special offers on the menu, it's always happy hour for something. Beer always cold and cheap, big bottles 10000 dong.
Overall you can't go far wrong with a visit to a Gecko, we used the one on Hang Bo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tignes, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Alright but its just a shame about the after effects!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great little place and I can see what they are trying to do... 'cheap and cheerful' to a decent standard. We had a mozzarella salad and a pesto panini. Both were average quality, salad had grated mozzarella and not as advertised in the photo behind the bar. My panini was dry and lacked a nice hearty taste. We ordered larue beer for 25,000 and the waitress didn't advise us that it was happy hour and that they had siagon bia for 10,000.
We then proceeded to walk round the night market and unfortunately both had to cut our visit there short to retreat back to the hotel bathroom. Been in Vietnam for 7 weeks now and this has only happened once before when we ate in a back water town in the Mekong delta.

I hate leaving bad reviews as I really wanted this place to be good but we were left ultimately very unhappy. Proceed with caution.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hang bac”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in hostel above the restaurant Gecko (hang bac) because we arrived late from our bus ride from Luang Prabang. It was the only thing open, so we were able to find a place to stay. That was great. And receptionist ( reception is situated in the restaurant) seemed very nice, he even offered meals at 1 a.m. So in this restaurant is possible to get food late (great). The next day when we had breakfast downstairs, therefore Gecko restaurant, we were slightly attacked by receptionist ( he is always there). Nothing special yes, they try to sell everything. Well the food was okey, service nice but slow, it arrived eventually after placing order to personnel with merely basic english. Not really to complain. But the guy - receptionist/bar/restaurant working person is pushy on their packages of tours. Any informations from his mouth - do not believe a thing. We realized his misinformation later on after we bought the ticket for bus to Halong city that stopped only in harbour (not halong city).
Otherwise there is a wifi for which your fingers must be fast to be able to join. And prices of food are okey (65.000 kip for hot sandwich - picture already posted). Pizzas are around 185.000 and this is okey for escape from noodels.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecko also viewed

Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gecko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.