We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel, good value, great service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Sans Souci IV Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Sans Souci IV Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Sans Souci IV Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Ngo Huyen Street | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Ok hotel, good value, great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Chosen soley on price and availability due to last minute booking.

Hotel is a ok for what you pay.

Rooms are clean but have some issues. My room was on the 7th (top) floor so i had to take the lift to 6th floor and walk one flight.

The room was noisy because the lift mechanism was next to it making clanging sounds everytime someone used it.

Doors were very stiff, had to bash it with my shoulder to open or close.

Shower ran out of hot water quickly, and flooded the bathroom.

A/C didn't put out hot air, which led to cold nights!

Plus side is the double bed was big, brand new Sony TV.

Location is within walking distance of most sights in old quarter.

Staff are extremely friendly (cleaners, cooks and ereceptionists), by far the best thing about this hotel.

Breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    48
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
84
33
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel is located in a very central location within the Old Quarter. Its very clean and the rooms are quite nice (not large but adequately sized). If you want to explore Hanoi, you will love the location. Plenty of street food / local eatery options nearby. Also very easy to get a cab from here.
The staff at this place are excellent. If you need any help with recommendations of restaurants / places to visit / visa on arrival / etc. be sure to ask the front desk (Kim and Twee). They provided an early breakfast at 6:30am so that we could have breakfast before our flight.
The only reason I am giving 4 stars and not 5 is that we initially had 3 rooms with 5 of us, but we were requested to share 2 rooms between us, because they had ended up over booking one room. We were not forced into this - just requested, but nonetheless, such things should be avoided.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very comfortable hotel in Hanoi's Old Quarter,with very clean and nicely appointed rooms an d bathroom. Very nice breakfast and a most pleasant and helpful staff, especially at the reception.we checked in at 4:am and we're welcome warmly.walk in distance to Hakka Tiem lake and cathedral,a great location to visit all sightseeing sites..

Room Tip: Ask for additional towels in bathroom! Courtyard facing rooms are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel is not accessible by car, so it was a little problematic because I was traveling with my elderly mother. However, it was only for three nights, so it was not a huge problem. Despite the small size, the hotel has a new-ish looking lift.

The room was sufficiently sized, but a little awkwardly designed. There's a small gap between the foot of the bed and the wall, so getting to the other side of the room was not easy. Other than that, the hotel was great. The staff is very friendly, although a bit confusing with prices. I was informed that extending the room til 15:30 would cost me $12, but in the morning they said it's $15. In the end they honored the original quoted price, so it was OK. I sent one shirt for laundry, but the staff wouldn't tell me how much it was until I checked out. It was $1.5 (while the place next door has a sign that said $1/kg). It was still cheap but I would have liked them to be more forthcoming about the price. The total bill when I checked out was $14, which I knew was wrong, but I paid it anyway cos it was not that much different.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in Hanoi beginning of November for about a week interrupted by 3 day trips to Sapa and Halong Bay. I moved to Sans Souci IV after one night in the first guesthouse in the same road. The first guesthouse was ok apart from the water in the bath which was flowing from the sink to the ground instead of using the tube. The Sans Souci IV hotel offered excellent rooms with a very nice bath. The shower in my room was very good, only little water dissipated through the door onto the floor. The bed was comfy, the a/c worked very good and despite heading towards the front front road it was quiet after 11pm when the bars requested their customers to come inside. Breakfast was very good, coming always with a selection of fresh fruits, juice and as much coffee or tea as you like.

The location is very good, close to the church, the lake and the old town.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I booked both tours at the hotel and I wasn't disappointed. Maybe you get better offers, but I didn't waste my time with searching for the different travel agencies for the best deal.

I would recommend the hotel to everyone. If you're not alone it's a much better option than the low budget guesthouses.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Arrived in the limo arranged by the hotel. No problems, he was there to meet me. The hotel is small from the outside but so clean. the room was adequate, clean, airy, and the staff were friendly and very eager to help. Excellent value for the money. I would definitely stay there again and would reccommend it to anyone,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Went there on july very Nice hotel, clean room good service but good price. Very nice frieandly staff especially we have a very nice breakfast. Good location hotel lacated in the downtown very easy to go everry where and close to maney restaurants and the super stores and the market. the hotel organize us a very nice trip with frieandly tourist guide "mr.tom cruise"to Ha long bay too. Nice hotel, Good service Went there on july very Nice hotel, clean room good service but good price. Very nice frieandly staff especially we have a very nice breakfast. Good location hotel lacated in the downtown very easy to go everry where and close to maney restaurants and the super stores and the market. the hotel organize us a very nice trip with frieandly tourist guide "mr.tom cruise"to Ha long bay too.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Sans Souci IV Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Sans Souci IV Hotel

Address: 16 Ngo Huyen Street | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Sans Souci IV Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening, The Hanoi Sans Souci IV Hotel is conveniently located in the very heart of the charming historic Hanoi Old Quarter, at 16 Ngo Huyen street, near St Joseph’s Cathedral. Our hotel is situated in a quiet peaceful street which offers you a perfect retreat from the vibrant and buzzing Old Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hanoi Sans Souci IV Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Sans Souci IV Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.