We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rip off !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Millennium Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hanoi Millennium Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Millennium Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   29 - 31 Hang Mam Street,Oldquarter, Hanoi 12345, Vietnam (Formerly Millennium Legend Hanoi Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 469 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A rip off !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We stayed at this hostel for 2 days in February 2015. The hostel was ok, but we strongly recommend against booking any trip with their travel agency (Millennium group) : we booked a 2 day trip to Halong Bay with them. We were given a planning for those two days and were told that we would sleep in a boat from the Papaya boat company (they showed us pictures..). When we arrived there we were driven to a boat which was not a papaya boat, the room they had under our name was a twin room, not a double room as we asked. The planning we were given was not the one on this boat. Clearly the staff at Happy Backpacker's Hostel sold us something but booked something completely different. And as they knew that we would not come back to Hanoi, they knew that there was no chance for us to complain in person. We called Happy Backpacker's Hostel while on the boat to try to understand what had happened, but they were very rude and hanged up on us..! So we suggest you go somewhere else !

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    6
    4
    9
See reviews for
2
11
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joao Pessoa, PB
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Hotel is located right in the old town, everything is within walking distance. Lovely rooftop restaurant with stunning views. Nice and clean rooms, good ontbijt.wij have booked a tour sapa, super arranged all. Taxi picked us up and brought us back to the hotel. We could leave our luggage at the hotel during the glory cruise to halong bay and sapa tour. Do you go to Hanoi? This hotel really is a must!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Hi,
The hotel is ok but we had a terrible experience with their travel agency (happy millenium hanoi). They sold us a trip to Halong bay: we agreed on itinerary, program and price. We were supposed to do a 2 days/one night trip with a company boat called Papaya. We did half of the scheduled program and we weren't on a papaya boat. When we realised that something was going wrong, we called the hotel to try to understand what had happened: they were very rude and not helpful at all. We strongly advise you to stay somewhere else or at least to book your trips with another company if you don't want to be ripped off. Very disappointing ! And be careful, they use different name

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We choose this hostel after visiting 4-5 others. This one was a bit more expensive but took it because breakfast was included.

We went to the dining room ( which was really filthy) around 8:30 and there was nobody, so we went to the reception. The guy told us that breakfast wasn't included with our room ( even if the owner told us we had breakfast serve from 7 to 10), that he was the only one working in the hostel this day and that he wasn't making breakfast for anyone.

So we went back to the kitchen, and made breakfast for ourselves. An employee came in the kitchen and start making lunch for herself, she didn't mind our presence.

No window in the room like advertised
No breakfast
Filthy
Nothing like on the pictures
Rude staff

We had to pay full price.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

The stay here was really poor starting from the check in they said they didn't have our booking then suddenly they did. Room was dirty and the bathroom made the whole room smell disgusting like sewage. Staff quite poor waiting ages for breakfast which just turned out to be two slices of bread. Good location that's all.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

“Excellent location and great staff!”
27 thg 11, 2014
We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting northern Vietnam. They have very big and clean rooms in a great location in the old city. The rooms were inexpensive and included a great breakfast. The staff were very helpful with organizing tours around the area and when we went to Sapa for two nights, we were able to store stuff at the hotel for free!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Probably the nicest staff i have ever met anywhere! They we always around for a chat or advice on what to do and they we more than happy to help. The rooms were nice, pretty clean and nice with A/C, hot water all day. They booked transport for us to another part of the country and arranged a boat tour to halong was great too!free beer every day from 7:30-8:30. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Millennium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Millennium Hotel

Address: 29 - 31 Hang Mam Street,Oldquarter, Hanoi 12345, Vietnam (Formerly Millennium Legend Hanoi Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Millennium Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO Hanoi Millennium Hotels, an unrivaled luxury boutique experience in the heart of Hanoi - 1 minutes walk from the Lake of the Restored Sword, yet nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Endless and enchanting views of ancient Hanoi, unrivaled architectural elegance and timeless style, amenities to please the most discerning traveler, this is the Essence way of life. Our guestrooms are steeped in modern comfort, contemporary yet harmonized with local surroundings. Opened in September 2012 and being the latest one in our renowned Hanoi Millennium Hotels collection, this hotel is meant to be enjoyed, experienced and rediscovered each visit. Free wireless internet and laptops are available throughout all guestrooms and public areas, fresh seasonal fruit awaits you upon arrival, your mini-bar is replenished daily, bath amenities and flowers help you enjoy the custom tubs, super quiet, spacious rooms and incredible down bedding beckons you back from wherever your day takes you. In particular, we design the Inter-connecting rooms that perfectly suit the families of 3 - 6 persons. Family travelers can now enjoy the best privacy and comfort in this room type apart from the normal one-big room. The elegant Essence Cafe restaurant offers full hot buffet breakfast and various lunch and dinner menus that offer experience for the connoisseur that continually delight. Your every need and comfort is cared for by our world-class staff. Expertly trained by the renowned Hanoi Millennium Hotels management, yet still in search of more intimate guest experience, they are committed to individualized service that reshapes the future of Vietnamese hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Despegar.com so you can book your Hanoi Millennium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Millennium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.