We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gecko

Gecko
40 Hang Manh Street | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
+8422110812
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 835 restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Mebane, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I came here because i got the food in gecko restaurant in sapa but the food in sapa nicer but the food here still good and cheap!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    129
    131
    51
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Nothing special but good for a quick lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went there for lunch. The service is friendly and the place is quite nice with the walls covered by notes left from past travelers. The summer rolls were nice, however my grilled prawns with dill were really dry and didn't have much flavors. My friend had a pizza which was fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Well-Prepared Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had two enjoyable meals at Gecko. Thomas, the chef, is very talented and he prepares local as well as international dishes. He prepared a tuna steak for me without oil which was delicious. We would highly recommend this location. There are several different locations - this one is 40 Hang Manh Street, telephone 04.2211 0812. Tell Thomas the Canadians sent you!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Cheap beer! Food is alright.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

As someone has already stated the beer is really cheap and pretty good. At 10,000 dong a pop who can resist. But i cant rate them only on beer.

We did eat here a few times. I had pizza one night and honestly I didnt think it was that great it took ages to be served. My partner had pizza on another occasion and thought the same. It wasnt bad but you know when you have had better.
However I had lemongrass chilli chicken and it was really good. My Dad also had a few good meals here as did my partner.
Overall its not to bad of a place, its nice to sit and relax and have a few drinks to get away from busy Hanoi.
If your more adventurous i'd say go for a walk and find something a little more Authentic if thats what your looking for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incheon, South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I enjoyed this little place, but was a little dismayed when I found out it was a chain. Nonetheless, it was great anyways.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecko also viewed

Hanoi, Vietnam
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gecko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.