We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay in hanoi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KOTO Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added KOTO Hotel to your Saves list
KOTO Hotel
120 Hang Bong str - Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“best place to stay in hanoi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed for three nights here in hanoi with my two friends, and we were blown away by our experience! not only was the room lovely and sufficient with great air con and large bathroom but the prices were cheap as well. great area to stay - feel safe on Hang Bong and close enough to the action without it being overwhelming.
the best part of my experience was the staff - these gorgeous people are incredible, not only do they go out of their way to help you with great tours of halong bay and sapa but they tell you everything about hanoi and they get to really know you genuinely. i could call these people like a family! if you do one thing in hanoi - stay @ Koto!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
31
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights at Koto Hotel, based on good TA reviews, and was very glad I did. Located down a quiet alley just off the -perfectly central -madness of Hang Bong St, it's a homely little refuge from the city when you need it, while still right in the heart of the action. Rooms are clean, safe, comfortable and attractive -a steal for the price.

And the staff here are terrific - friendly, keen, knowledgable, and always quick to help whenever asked. They're never overbearing or pushy, with good English and very kind considerate. Staying here really improved my visit to Hanoi. Thank you Koto!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were very impressed by Koto Hotel. The staff were very nice and happily accommodated any of our requests. Watch out for the evening guy - he might bowl you over with his enthusiasm, but he did give us a great recommendation for dinner. The girl who works on reception during the day is absolutely lovely and very very kind.
Koto is located a short walk from the lake and the centre of town, near the night market and shopping/sightseeing areas, which is ideal in Hanoi.
One minor note is that I would possibly recommend shopping around for tour/bus deals rather than booking with Koto as I think they don't have the cheapest prices going around. Certainly a very minor issue though.
We were very happy with Koto Hotel and think it is excellent value.

Room Tip: Room 101, right behind reception is a bit loud, and you can hear the phone ring at night. We moved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Arriving early in the morning off the night train we were very kindly offered a room to crash in as someone had checked out early. they warned it hadnt been cleaned but offered us to sleep for a couple of hours and theyd clean it after. That gesture was much appreciated after the journey.

The brekkie over the road at Bodega their sister hotel was ok but it was free. The staff there were so helpful with everything from laundry to doctors!! the only negative thing id say is a negative through association. they called us a taxi as my fiancee needed to see a doctor, we didnt realise until we saw the meter on the airport taxi that this taxis meter was rigged. we thought it was going quick but as the 1st taxi we'd had in hanoi we had no idea of the normal speed but we had no choice as needed to get to doctor.

There are a few restaurants nearby and we enjoyed hanging out Puku as recommended by them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Our stay in koto was fantastic. The staff was very friendly, always happy to help. The rooms were clean, value for money, highly recommended. As our first experience in Vietnam, it was very good. It's centrally located.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 5 AM in the morning and had to place to stay in Hanoi. We ended up at the Bodega Hotel (the sister hotel across the street) and were directed to Koto. I can not say enough times how nice the people of this hotel were. Especially the younger women who worked at the front desk. She was amazing! Every time you walked in they greeted and asked how your day was. They were also more then happy to give directions and recommendations.

The rooms were lovely as well! Very roomy and had a comfortable bed. Only downside there was no heat, so we were a bit on the chilly side. A free breakfast is also provided, which is across the street at the Bodega Hotel.

I would definitely recommend the Koto Hotel if staying in Hanoi. Great people and a good price for your money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenchen
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I had the pleasure to spend 4 nights at this hotel and I definetly can recommend it!
The people are very friendly and helpfull. Room are clean and fully equipped.
Location is perfect, directly the Old Quarter. They can offer a pick-up service from the airport.
They can also offer several short trips out of Hanoi, for example the cruise on halong Bay.
Internet and wifi are available in all rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to KOTO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KOTO Hotel

Address: 120 Hang Bong str - Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Hang Bong Street , the most crowded and oldest business centre in the area of Old Quarter , KoTo Hotel is very convenient and accounts for its tourist-attractiveness and especially KoTo hotel is centrally located in Ha Noi’ Old Quarter with Hoan Kiem Lake, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet Theatre all are just 5 minutes walk away. KoTo Hotel makes it the perfect choice for both business and leisure traveler. Providing the comfort of well-furnished guestrooms that are facilitated with modern conveniences. Specially all of our hotel rooms have windows and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your KOTO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KOTO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.