We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, small rooms but amazing view over the nightlife in Hanoi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asian Ruby Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Asian Ruby Hotel Hanoi to your Saves list
Asian Ruby Hotel Hanoi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Ta Hien Str, Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #243 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Noisy, small rooms but amazing view over the nightlife in Hanoi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

OK, if I was here for more than a couple of nights I probably wouldn't opt for this hotel because you would be exhausted but for one night we had a street facing room on the 2nd floor with a balcony and view over the hectic and extraordinary nightlife! Wouldn't have swopped it for the world. Yes very noisy, so take ear plugs! Small room for breakfast on top of the hotel and yes it was a bit crowded and by the time we had got to breakfast cutlery and glasses had run out but they were replenished and the food was good - nice egg station, lots of fresh fruit. For a true experience I would recommend this.

Room Tip: Might be quieter rooms inside the hotel but one night with a balcony over the street won't kill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    63
    32
    11
    13
See reviews for
19
48
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hotel staff very friendly, the location was excellent in the middle of the old town, hotel standard ok. We had a room on the second floor, which was extremely noisy (both from within the hotel, you hear everyone in the hallway, and from the bustling street on the outside). Given the noise factor I would not go back or reccomend this hotel, it is worth putting in a few more dollars to go to a better hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on the first 2 nights of out trip around Vietnam. We had booked with them via G Adventure who clearly use them quite a lot.

It is okay for 2 days and certainly welcome after 36 hours of travelling to Vietnam. The hotel is actually situated in the Northern Quarter of bustling Hanoi and anything that you cannot walk to, you can take a tuk tuk. The rooms are very basic but clean. They all have seperate bathroom with a shower. One thing the hotel do need to look at is the fact that the there was never any warm water so showers were mostly quite cold and the power wasn't that great. Not great first thing in the morning.

The breakfast was quite nice though and very varied, enough to set you up on a days walking or site seeing.

I did hear someone moaning in reception about the noise outside but I have to say I got a really good nights sleep and never heard anything. Hanoi generally is very very busy so you have to expect that when staying in the City.

As I said above this really is a hotel for travellers on a 1-2 days stop of Hanoi so it is okay as you are rarely in your room. They do need to look at the water situation though. make sure you go to watch the water puppet show and take a tuk tuk to see the rest of the city it is awesome! Some great nightlife too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at hotel as part of a tour - room much nicer than expected and staff very helpful on desk. The rooms are quite nice if not a bit small but clean well maintained and safe. Free wifi is nice and they also have computers downstairs to use.
Can't complain it's pretty decent.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked to stay at the Asian Ruby hotel two nights before our G Adventures tour began. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable with a double bed, bed side drawers and desk and the bathroom was clean and tidy. In one corner of the room though there was a bit of mould and wallpaper was cracking and beginning to come off the wall. We had one issue with the air conditioning leaking but after reporting it, it was fixed within 15 minutes! The breakfast had a good selection of dishes. The hotel is situated in the Old Quarter so the surrounding streets are always busy.
Stayed 31/07-2/08

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We were booked to stay at the Asian Ruby for three nights. We turned up and were told that our room had been given to a large tour group who had extended their stay. After a lot of negotiating we agreed to downgrade to a smaller room for the first night with a refund for the difference between the deluxe room we had paid for.

We were taken up to our room and as soon as we opened the door all we could see was the mould covered walls with the wallpaper falling off and cockroaches running everywhere.

We went straight back downstairs and told reception we wouldn't be staying in the hotel. They were able to move us to their other hotel around the corner free of charge - The Romance Hotel, which was much better.

The only good thing about the Ruby was that they moved us out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night at the start of a G Adventures tour.

All staff seemed very friendly and helpful.

The room was comfortable with two beds. The bathroom was very dated and a little bit dirty.

The breakfast was ok in a clean room.

My issue was with another guest having sex all night. The walls must have been very thin.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asian Ruby Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian Ruby Hotel Hanoi

Address: 22 Ta Hien Str, Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Asian Ruby Hotel Hanoi 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Quarter of Hanoi, beside Old Quarter shopper’s paradise and just a few minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, Hanoi’s heart, Asian Ruby Hotel Hanoi is managed by Vietnam’s famous and popular hotel brand: The group of Asian Ruby Hotel. With 43 en-suite exclusive guest rooms, the Asian Ruby Hanoi offers luxurious and comfort accommodation to suit all needs from business to leisure, family and solo adventure. Once in Asian Ruby Hanoi you will enter a complete world service, to be looked after by a dedicated and professional staffs who will be delighted to make your comfort stay in Hanoi, Vietnam with a truly special and unforgettable. This newly renovated Hotel boasts extremely spacious rooms, offering panoramic views from any side, brand new western style rooms, and comfy beds. All rooms feature air conditioning, mini bar, Electronic safe deposit box, 32’’ LCD TV with international cable program, FREE Wireless with high speed internet access and other complete room’s amenities. Book right now with Asian Ruby Hanoi Hotel to guarantee a truly amazing stay and perfectly service in this exciting, vibrant and captivating of Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Asian Ruby Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian Ruby Hotel Hanoi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.