We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5* Travel Agent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cruises of Indochina Day Trips

Cruises of Indochina Day Trips
Level 12 A, 25 Le Dai Hanh, HBT District, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam
04-39448029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 382 activities in Hanoi
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We are a bonded and fully accredited travel agency, Indochina's leading tour company specializing in luxury travel and river cruising holidays across South East Asia covering Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, Myanmar, Laos and China...
Derby UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A 5* Travel Agent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We first used Signatures of Asia/Cruises of Indochina in 2010 and due to their exceptional service, did so again in 2012. They are presently busy arranging our next trip to Vietnam in February 2014. Below is an extract from an Email I sent to Kat following our 2010 trip.

It was great to meet you in Hanoi and so be able to put a face to the writer of so many emails. All the arrangements worked as promised and to time. Your choice of safe drivers was, without exception, excellent and much appreciated. With hindsight we also appreciated your advice not to return to Saigon by rice barge.

The two cruises you did arrange for us were exceptional. Halong Bay for 3 days/2 nights on board the luxury junk Valentine proved to be an unforgettable experience. The crew, other 6 guests, food and accommodation were truly 5 star as was the unique scenery. Anyone visiting Hanoi should put this trip at the top of their agenda. Out of Saigon the trip on the Song Xanh sampan from Cai Be to Sa Dec and Can Tho gave us a chance to see at close quarters the real river life along the banks of the Mekong and again we enjoyed having an excellent crew and food throughout. As you know the Mekong was in flood at the time which made the trip all the more exciting.

We all had a great time in Vietnam and thank you for your part for your part in it. Should we be able to return again we will have no hesitation in contacting you.

With very best wishes from us all, Peter

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anh N, General Manager at Cruises of Indochina Day Trips, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good memory I'll have forever !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The river cruise either embarks or disembarks in Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon), which’s one of the most fascinating cities I've ever visited. Seeing the thousands of motor scooters in the streets and exploring the Cu Chi Tunnels once inhabited by the Viet Cong were memories I'll have forever. I was in Saigon on a river cruise which gave me an in-depth look at this country with so many ties to the North America. On this trip I saw how everyday people live their life on the Mekong River. Because my guide was local lads, my new-found understanding of the country far exceeded what I might have discovered independently.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have used Cruises of Indochina twice and the serves I got from Kat was just outstanding and very friendly. She went out of her way to get us the best prices. Our first trip I booked we cruised on the RV La Marguerite. We did the Mekong River cruise. Can highly recommend this cruise. Kat managed to get us upgraded to the best suite at no extra costs. On our second trip she also got us very good hotel rates in Hanoi. She even came to visit us at the hotel just to introduced herself. She has vast knowledge of the East. Can highly recommend this company.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Thrilled with our cruises!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Am delighted Cruises of Indochina Day Trips are on Tripadvisor. Tommy Nguyen arranged our Halong Bay overite cruise,that was fantastic, and a Mekong Delta Cruise which was a day in heaven from start to finish. After three hours of hard driving from Saigon, we reached the Mekong, where our delightful local guide Thang who would take great care of us all day, was waiting for us. We had our own motorboat and set off into a main branch of the mighty Mekong, with its swift and deep waters. Well this was a childhood dream come true –and I was back in my class listening to my teacher tell us that the Mekong was the rice bowl of the East. Off we sped in the motorboat to first have a look at the Cai Be Floating Market. We soon learned that you could tell what the people on the boat had for sale by looking at the tall poles sticking up skyward – if you saw bananas there or litchis, you could tell from afar what produce was on that boat. Clever! Amongst the boats we saw many floating homes which their owners move as the seasonal tides occur, but far more common are the stilt homes next to the bank of the river, standing on long thin bamboo poles, which apparently can withstand the swiftest currents.

Then it was off to visit a large popped rice cake factory. This really was an amazing place that seemed like a family home with the entire family involved. From the huge storeroom where an enormous number of bags of rice was being stored one could tell this was no Mickey Mouse operation but the real thing. We were then treated to lotus tea and an assortment of sweeties and goodies made at the factory.

We were soon back on our boat which sped away into one of the smaller backwaters and now we had to travel much slower. The damage to the mangroves caused by motorised traffic is giving grave cause for concern and it was obvious the locals are trying to stem this by building up bamboo barriers. People have been living in the delta region and traversing these narrow canals since time immemorial, and now the whole eco-system is being put under pressure. We caught glimpses of large houses from French Colonial times and as we passed by we saw orchards of papaya, bananas and the ubiquitous dragon’s eye litchis. Verdant greenery overhung the canals that seemed to be getting ever narrower. Here and there we saw fishermen waist deep in the water either setting out or emptying the bamboo fish traps that have been used for centuries.

Our destination was the home of a family whose ancestors had been ‘landlords’ during French rule and the elegant façade reminded me of old homes one sees in Stellenbosch and surrounds. Here we were invited inside and were treated to a sweet concert of local songs performed by a trio of singers accompanied by three musicians playing typical Vietnamese instruments. It was beautiful, but rather sad and melancholy.

I did not realise lunch was to be included, so we were surprised when after the concert we went back to our boat and were taken to a restaurant built over the main branch of the delta. We sat on this airy terrace and relaxed, not too fussed over what we would eat. The main course was a fish of about a ¾ kilo, that had been grilled to a crisp and was served standing upright between four pegs. It looked great. With the fish came rice paper wrappings and the usual salad greens and cucumber slices to wrap into a little parcel which would be dipped in the sauces provided. They went to so much trouble and prepared a fresh vegetable Pho soup for us, with small macaroni style noodles to fill in any hungry corners, and fresh fruit for dessert. And we were offered tea, but declined.

Soon it was back to our boat, across the main channel and then back to the place where our vehicle was waiting for us. It had been a wonderful trip – so perfectly organised, and it was sad to say good-bye to Thang who had so endeared herself to us.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anh N, General Manager at Cruises of Indochina Day Trips, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Hedy,

I am sorry for getting back to you lately.
On behalf of Cruises of Indochina, we would like to thank you very much for your continuous supports and your tired-less contributions to bring better advice and evaluations for TA's fans. We ourselves do believe that other guests will find very useful information while searching information before planning your trip to Vietnam. We wish very much to see you in Vietnam again in near future.

Anh Nguyen - General Manager
Cruises of Indochina - A Brand of Signatures of Asia Company Limited
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwon, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very efficient and great service..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We just returned home from our honeymoon in Vietnam. We had asked Cruisesofindochina.com to arrange us one of life time experience in Mekong Delta and Halong bay. We love river cruising very much. Kat, our sales agent (thuy@cruisesofindochina.com) at cruises of indochina had booked us 2 nights on Song Xanh sampan, The driver picked us up on time at our hotel in Saigon, our vehicle is private and quite good with cold towel and botted drinking water. Our driver, Mr. Min was very careful and friendly, though we got up earlier but the ride from Saigon to Cai Be was quite smooth without any hitch though traffic in Vietnam is not easy like in our country. The boat is very authentic and we had a great experience in Mekong Delta..bustling floating market, lush orchards and very nice meal at Longarie restaurant..In Halong Bay, Kat recommended us Violet junk and as we did not have enough time so we had chosen 1 night but if only we could have stayed 2 nights on this junk to benefit very best of the cruise and beauty of Halong Bay as well. Food was amazing with fresh crab, seafood springrolls that we loved best. Mr. Phuc was our driver from Hanoi to Halong Bay. He was the best driver in Asia we have had so far. Smiley and very very careful that we felt very comfortable. We will come back to Halong Bay and service of cruisesofindochina.com is greatly recommended to everyone.. reliable and 5 star service...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cruises of Indochina Day Trips also viewed

 

Been to Cruises of Indochina Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cruises of Indochina Day Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cruises of Indochina Day Trips to your Saves list