We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little oasis in the hustle and bustle of Hanoi ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Tirant Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Tirant Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36-38 Gia Ngu Str | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE PICK UP/VISA ARRIVAL
Ranked #66 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A great little oasis in the hustle and bustle of Hanoi ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We recently did a trip to Hanoi and found this little gem of a hotel, via Trip Advisor and people's comments. We weren't disappointed.

The location was in the heart of the Old Quarter, surrounded by plenty of interesting shopping and a stroll to the West Lake and French Quarter. The staff were freindly and helpful, the rooms very pleasant and comfortable and the Lakeview Lounge on the 8th floor was a great place to go for a nightcap and "view of the lake".

My only criticism was that one of the reasons we booked the hotel was for the rooftop pool, only to find when we got there that it was closed for renovations. A note on their site would have been useful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comment and great praise towards Tirant Hotel Operation.

Also, we are sorry for the closure of the Rooftop Pool due to safety renovation procedures. We are about to finish the progress in the next couples of days. We hope that once you have a chance to visit Hanoi again, you can still give us your support and can enjoy your stay to the greatest extent with our full scale facilities and services.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Best regards,

Customer Service Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    233
    54
    13
    2
See reviews for
130
386
66
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel, clean and 'nothing is impossible' service. We were welcomed with a refreshing lemongrass and honey tea which tasted like barley sugar. We stayed there twice - upgraded both times and second time to an executive suite. Nice!! The rooms were cleaned every day. The reception staff were extremely helpful and all their recommendations didn't disappoint. The only thing we didn't like (although minor) was the coffee - the blend was very sweet and that the pool was being renovated (we didn't know). If you plan to stay here in the next couple of weeks and a pool is desirable, email the hotel to check first. Ensure to have a drink on level 9 at the Lake View Lounge - the view is spectacular. We couldn't believe that many don't take advantage of this bar as the drinks were very affordable and the view spectacular.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tirant Hotel for your trip to Hanoi. It was a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Tirant Hotel team appreciate your great comments on our Front Office Team and Tirant spectacular Lake View Bar. I highly agree with you that the Bar is a great place to unwind and enjoy value for money nightcap.This is one of a few places in the Old Town that offers exclusive panoramic view of the Hoan Kiem Lake and the Old Quarter.

Look forward to hosting you again in your next trip to Hanoi.

Best regards,
Tirant Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

First things first: the staff at this hotel is amazing, very friendly and very helpful. However, I was expecting a bit more of this hotel to be honest. I stayed in the premium room which was very spacious. Unfortunately the room was not very clean when I arrived and this didn't change during the week I stayed there. The room service is really just to make the bed, the sheets have not been changed once during my stay and the bath neither. The bath was full of lime and the shower has not been cleaned once properly during one week. Also the floor was never hoovered or mopped... At two days there was no room service at all and not even the bed was made. So that explained the big minus in my review which would otherwise be a full 5 stars. Also, right now the rooftop bar and pool is under construction and one can't use the lakeview lounge which I am sure is lovely but unfortunately due to construction work you can't go out at the moment. I also overheard a lot of complaints regarding the noise due to construction from people living on the upper floors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re sorry for the shortfalls of housekeeping service. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the housekeeping team for improvement.

I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

We will look further on the investigation of your case, should you have any inquiry, please do not hesitate to contact us at info@tiranthotel.com for more information and assistance.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

Tirant Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in March 2012 with two girl friends, and we were quite pleased. Went to Hanoi again a year later, this time with family, and I decided to stay at this place again. We were not disappointed! I got the same room and corresponded with the hotel a few weeks before to book tours, and they graciously helped. Talked with Grace Nguyen from Sales, and she was very helpful.

The hotel recently expanded (it was constructing an annex next to it when I was there last year) and we were pleasantly surprised that it was double its size and now has a gym. Gym though is small, with one treadmill and a weights machine. Not much, but it's still a nice touch from the hotel.

The staff are very attentive, making reservations for us for our meals outside as well as our daily massage.

The location is great, right inside the Old Quarters, in a street that's not too busy. It's very close to the Sunday night market, and the Highlands Coffee with the rotunda.

I would stay here again if ever we visit Hanoi. At USD 80/night for a king sized bed with an extra bed, it's quite reasonable.

Don't expect much for breakfast though. It's the same thing everyday, i.e. pho, bacon, pancakes, fruits, fried rice/noodles. But it's ok for something to sustain you in the morning. The real eating happens in the restos outside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for returning to Hanoi Tirant Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will certainly pass your words on to all hotel staff, it is motivating for us to read such good words.

Please feel free to contact us for your next visit to Hanoi, we surely have extra benefits for our returned guest. We hope that Tirant hotel will always come on top of mind when deciding a comfortable and enjoyable place to stay in Hanoi.

Tirant hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great hotel with super clean rooms, nice breakfast buffet and perfect location (inside the Old Quater - but still very quiet once inside the hotel). The best tho is the very helpful and kind staff who assisted us in the best imaginable way throughout our stays. Bella at the tour desk was particularly helpful and arranged a beautiful cruise at the Halong Bay for us. Only minus was the construction work on the roof top/pool area - if you come for that, check with the hotel first. In any case, we returned to the hotel despite this.
All in all: HIGHLY recommendable!

Room Tip: check how far the construction work on the roof top/pool area is if you are going for those extras
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed your stay and especially the service offered by our staff and delicious buffet breakfasts.

I hope to have another chance hosting you in Hanoi again.

Tirant Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Arrival: We arranged with the hotel for the pick up and send off service(About US$23 each way). We checked in and the staff processed our room.

Room: We accepted the room although there was no view at all, with only 2 tiny windows looking at roof tops in the back of the hotel. We did not complain as the room was very nice and clean. The washroom was also very well designed.

Location: The hotel has a great location, we were able to walk to the lake from the hotel.

Staff: The hotel staff was pleasant and welcoming.

Breakfast: We had breakfast included and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Public Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were very delighted to welcoming you on your Hanoi Trip recently and thank you for your compliments on hotel staff

We are also delighted that you enjoy the hotel as an oasis in the bustles of Hanoi and thank you for sharing your experience to other TripAdvisor members.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Tirant Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a hotel offering very friendly service, good clean rooms in a very central part of the Old Quarter. Its a couple of streets back from the north end of Lake Hoan Keim, which makes it quite central to the main city attractions. We walked to everything. But returning each time to the Tirant is like finding an "oasis of calm" in the middle of the Old Quarter.

The hotel arranged our pick up from the airport, which was very convenient at about $23. They were also very kind in upgrading to a larger room at the back. We didn't have problems with noise at all. As we were tired on arrival we had dinner at their restaurant on the top floor which has a good view in the evening and the food was fine. The breakfasts were good.

The rates for laundry were a bit pricey compared to other hotels but is only a minor blemish on what is otherwise a very good value hotel.
We have no problem recommending the Hanoi Tirant Hotel as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back and didn't have any problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our property Hanoi Tirant Hotel and for taking the time to express your experience in such detail. We are so pleased to read that you had time to enjoy our facilities and we certainly are very proud of our service and product.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Tirant Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanoi Tirant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Tirant Hotel

Address: 36-38 Gia Ngu Str | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Tirant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tirant Hotel is brand new boutique hotel with ideal location on 36-38 Gia Ngu Street - the heart of Hanoi, is a short walk to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake (just 2 minutes), beautiful architecture of the Grand Cathedral, Opera House and a fascinating slice of centuries old life in Hanoi, the old Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hanoi Tirant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Tirant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.