We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanoi Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Trang Tien Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mgallery Memorable Moment
Ranked #69 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Banglamung, Thailand
1 review
“Hanoi Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hotel has a good location, walking distance to Old Quarter. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are new and nicely decorated. Beds and pillows very comfortable. Light in the room could be more, reading lamp ok. Breakfast good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear ropri4860,

I am truly happy to read your gracious comments with regards to our great location, friendly staf, the room, the bed and our breakfast offering. Thank you very much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor subsequent to your recent stay with us.

As we strive hard to meet guests' satisfaction, your review serves as an encouragement to all of our staff.

Thank you again and 'hen gap lai' or see you at the soonest.

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    218
    50
    15
    5
See reviews for
89
285
36
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel seemed quite new and was very, very clean. Rooms spacious and funky but not over the top. Great vietnamese food in the courtyard restaurant and breakfast buffet also good. We had team meeting there for a few days and they looked after us very well.

Room Tip: Be wary low floors on the streetside have lots (and lots) of road noise (like every hotel in Hanoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear StuckinBangers,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. And thank you for your kind comments to our services.

I am glad to hear that you think our hotel is an option both for Business and Pleasure travel, and to know that you like our Vietnamese food and breakfast buffet.

Thank you again and allow us to be able to welcome you back when the occassion permits.

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a modern hotel in the French Quarter of Hanoi near to the western lake. Facilities and service standards are very good and the food is excellent though expensive by local standards,

The interior decoration of the rooms can be best described as a little outrageous, definitely a triumph of form over function, though the rooms were reasonably comfortable the bed was very high.

Best to get a room as high up the hotel as possible as traffic noise can be a problem.

If you are staying in Hanoi and you want to be within walking distance of a lot of the major attractions then you could do a lot worse than this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Lanerope,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on tripadvisor after your recent stay at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi.

It is my pleasure to receive such positive feedback. As we strive hard to exceed guests' expectation, your comments valuable to us.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in not a far distant future

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is our second time in Hanoi.

We last visited in 2005 and stayed at the Sofitel Metropole, considered the best hotel in Hanoi.

Because the Metropole was so expensive we decided to stay 3 nights at Hotel de L'Opera.

Did we make the right choice? Absolutely.

Hotel de L'Opera is just around the corner, in a top location, is as good as if not better than the Metropole and is less than i/3 rd the price.with top breakfast included.

This hotel is elegant and classy with a french inspired interior. The room we stayed in had windows to the atrium which did not suit us but let me tell you the room was sensational.
We thought we were in a classy french boudoir with oodles and oodles of charm and decadence. We just about needed a step ladder to get onto the bed.

By way of interest we had a few drinks at the Metropole walked around and left thinking we had made a top choice staying at Hotel de L'Opera.

Service, buffet breakfast and overall experience was top notch. Staying here will not disappoint at extreme value for money.

By the way this place is run by the same people who run the Metropole. It is part Sofitel's
M Gallary Collection. Immediately before arriving here we stayed at another M Gallary Collection Hotel on Phu Quoc called Le Verandah. It was sensational also.

If you read this review do not hesitate. Make a booking you will not be disappointed..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear PeterDAustralia,

Thank you for your generous comments after your recent stay at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. I am very delighted to know that you had an enjoyable time with us.

PeterDAustralia, it's always a great pleasure to receive such a positive feedback and while strive to hard to exceed the guests' expectation, your review serves as an couragement to all the staff at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back when time permits.

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I loved this hotel The bed was the size of my bedroom at home. If you are shorter than my 6 ft, you may need a pogo stick to get in!! The bathrobes would be worth tossing everything out of my suitcase to make room for......of course, I mean after purchasing!!! Right near the opera house and the lovely lake and its pagodas. I did a lot of souvenir shopping by getting lost in the maze of many-shops streets. Those small shops' owners were so friendly and the prices so low I didn't have the heart to bargain seriously. My tip? Wake up early and take a cyclecab ride around the nearby lake. There is almost no traffic at 5:30-6:00 am. The lake is a park, too. Tae Chi groups and solo joggers, beautiful flowers, all a serene backdrop to the ride. The cyclecab (my name) is a human-peddled bicycle with a spacious passenger seat over the front wheel; the handlebars are the back of the seat.
The hotel's staff is marvelous and helpful; the buffet almost excessive; a quiet and luxurious haven in a capital of motor bike madness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Setterington 6,

Thank you for your great review on trip advisor upon your recent stay at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi.

It is so happy to know that you had an enjoyable and peaceful time in Hanoi, especially during th time of Tet holidays. It's always a great pleasure to know that our colleagues had offered great service.

Setterington6, thank you again to your gracious comment and we all look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Hanoi.

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A Great Hotel in Hanoi. We stayed here for three nights from the 28th January 2013. From the time we alighted from our taxi and were greeted by the hotel staff we knew we were in for a great stay. Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking the opera house. It was so spacious and quiet, the bed was the best we have ever slept in. The room ambiance was warm and the amenities were modern and comfortable. The free standing bath was so relaxing after a day of exploring. The heated indoor pool has a ceiling mirror which was magic at night. The La Fee Verte bar had an amazing cocktail list and the absinthe fountain added that cool french touch. The breakfast at Cafe Lautrec was a good variety of Western and Vietnamese cuisine complete with a bowl of Pho. Our concierge "The" was so helpful in arranging our tours to Ha Long Bay, Ninh Binh and Hoi An. The hotel's location was so convienent to Hoan Kiem Lake and the Old Quarter and is surrounded by lot's of local eateries and coffee shops. We will definitely return to the Hotel de l'Opera.

Room Tip: Request a "Opera House" view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear John F,

Thank you for taking time to write about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi on tripadvisor.

It's delighted to receive such a positive feedback and I am so happy to hear your gracious comments toward the room, the hotel's location, the amenities, the conceirge and the services at La Fee Verte bar and Cafe Lautrec restaurants.

John F, thank you again and it is our pleasure to welcome you upon your return to Hanoi

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection

Address: 29 Trang Tien Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operatic Glamour in the Heart of Hanoi: Hotel de l'Opera offers travellers a sophisticated break near the iconic Hanoi Opera House. As soon as you arrive you can't fail to be won over by the magic of the setting and the theatrical interior, filled with rich shades, silk drapes and flamboyantly coloured furniture. The same decadence runs through the 107 rooms and suites that combine 21st Century comfort with French sophistication and grand decor. Just as impressive are La Fee Verte Bar renown for its signature Absinthe, and the hotel's restaurants Cafe Lautrec for Mediterranean inspired cuisine and Satine for Vietnamese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.