We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, great location, good tour packages.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camel City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Camel City Hotel to your Saves list
Camel City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   08/50 Dao Duy Tu street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi, Hanoi 84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 470 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, great location, good tour packages.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Driver waited at airport for our group of 15. All tours well organised. Manager waited at railway station 5:30am for our return fr sapa. Hotel building is small but rooms are ok. Rooms are cleaned everyday. Even gave 2 of us a large family room instead of twin when all rooms were fully booked. Friendly staff & good service. Good location at Old Quarters.

Room Tip: Family & triple rooms are large. No lift, so inform hotel earlier if do not want 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    96
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
33
103
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
lauranada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a bad start with camel city hotel as the address I had confirmed with them was slightly wrong and we spent about half and hour wandering the streets trying to find it. BUT after this everything was good - big rooms, good breakfast and great staff. Beds could be softer but this is true of 90% of the hostels I have stayed in Asia. Overall I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Manager at Camel City Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear lauranada,

Thank you very much for your taking time to comment us on Tripadvisor. We highly appreciate your time and supportive comments especially some wonderful words for us. Tobe the best 2 star hotel in Hanoi old quarter , we understand that ,we must try day by day and always listen the comment from Our Guest to change and develop.
We hope , ew can see you again in Hanoi and wish you all the best!
Best regards,

Hung and Camel City Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is quite fine, in a good position in a little street, in the middle of the Old Quarter.
Room was ok, not too big but clean. It had a window but it was looking to a wall just 1 meter from the window, so we had to keep the light and aircon always on.
However, what disappointed me a lot is that we were asked to leave the room in the morning, even if I already said, and was confirmed, to stay for longer. Due to this, we had to move to another place and basically lost the morning due to that. I wonder, why didn't they check the day before, when asked if I could stay.. Is it because someone was coming to pay more?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Despite all of the positive reviews, mine is not going to be the one of them. The room I got, was at the top floor, and old smell in it was simply unbearable. Also, while booking by the phone, once a receptionist misunderstood me a thought I am Indian, he dropped the price, and than once he realised I am not, He inflated the price again. Next time wouldn't stay here!

One good thing, I have shortened my stay for 1 day less, and I was able to do that, with no consequences.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Manager at Camel City Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Mr Mkaizen,
Thanks so much for sharing your experience with our hotel. What a pity that we had misunderstood each other during the phone conversation. our receptionist has mentioned with you the price of a standard room (low floor) and upon arrival, you wanted to be upgraded to the superior room (higher floor) then we agreed with little bit higher price of a better room type. But unluckily, it did not help you with a better stay.

Please kindly accept our apologies for the smell in our room. It is quite common weather in Hanoi with very high humidity and it make room slightly wet and smelly. We surely will solve it out immediately if you could informed us accordingly. However, we learned from your story very much and have found a suitable solution for this issue. The next customers will never get smelly room anymore.

We are always willing to serve our guest well, you can see it via our gesture of offering you FREE shortened stay. Especially we are highly recommended hotel in this Tripadvisor and other guide books.
Once again, Camel City hotel would like to express our thanks for choosing and teaching us !
We wish to have another chance to welcome you back to our hotel. best regards, Hung Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great place, right in the middle, very nice rooms and facilities. Overall i had a great experience, just one of the members of staff came across a bit too over friendly and made the end of my stay rather unbearable. I felt as though i didn't want to go and spend time there in the day as he would be there making me feel uncomfortable. Otherwise, a great place offering good tours to Halong Bay and Sapa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The location of this place just can't be better: it's in the heart of the old quarter, but as located in a tiny narrow street, it's quiet as well. You just step out and in 50 meters you are in the middle of the busy, all time horning chaos looking daily life of Hanoi.

Stuff is very helpful and flexible, responded well on all our needs, canceling a booked trip to the next day wasn't a problem neither (they kept back a few dollars of cancellation fee, which is normal as we have decided to skip that trip).

They also took care of our luggage while traveling to Sa Pa.

Can't judge their breakfast as never tried, we ate on the street.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Manager at Camel City Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear termick,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor with a very nice word,and taking the time to share this on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodation and really appreciated the quality of service.I will pass on your kind words to my team as an encouragement to keep on providing such high level of service.We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

we always miss you and wish you all the best!
Camel City Hotel and friendly team

Best regard,
Mr. Hung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

In the center of hanoi old town, very good location with very beautiful and cozy rooms, very clean. the staff is vey nice and helpful, the owner is great, we also bought from him tour to halong bay and when we talk with other people on the boat we found out that we paid the cheapest price for the tour...
Great hospitality! I'm sure that this place won't let you down.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Manager at Camel City Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Rotem84,

Warmest greetings from Hung- Owner of Camel City Hotel!
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at our Camel City Hotel and I sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to post a review of your experience on Trip Advisor.
Thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements of your stay particularly the spacious room, with the best tour were offered for you with the best price guarantee, and the best services. We make every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service delivery camel city Hotel is known for and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay.
Thank you once again for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future.
Sincerely,
Hung and Camel City Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camel City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camel City Hotel

Address: 08/50 Dao Duy Tu street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi, Hanoi 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camel City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on No 8/50 Dao Duy Tu Lane, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi Old Quarter – 1000 years old, is one of the best place for leisure& Business Traveler. Camel City hotel is between the famous Hoan Kiem Lake and the traditional Dong Xuan night market. Only foot steps away to many famous attractions such as Ngoc Son Temple, the Opera House, the Water puppet Theater, the Temple of literature, the Vietnamese Art Museum, and St. Joseph's Catholic Church etc,...With a total of 30 quality rooms are well making up according to international standard. Standing shower are also available in the room, and bathtub are also in deluxe and suite room. Non-smoking rooms are also available, harmonious decoration. Tourists will feel very warm and comfortable when they are staying here. Equipped facilities, modern, including: air-conditioners , computers with high-speed Internet access (WiFi), Satellite TV, TV LCD 32 " , fridge, and standing shower etc,...The staff at the hotel will be delighted to help you, and assist you to offer a staying without worry about nothing and you will feel like at your home.For your traveling and your business solution as well, Camel City Hotel is definitely the good choice whenever your arrive in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Camel City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camel City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.