We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and very friendly and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel
Save
You added Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel to your Saves list
38 Au Trieu Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location and very friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Me and a friend stayed at Hotel Rising Dragon for 3 nights. The room was nice with balcony, safety box, and a laptop free of use. Very clean. The staff helped us booking Halong Bay tour and train tickets and were very friendly and helpful at all times. The location close to the cathedral was very nice, just a short walk to the lake and not too busy surroundings. Very good value for money. Would absolutely stay there again if/when I come back to Hanoi!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    27
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
71
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel in room 301, a large family room with 3 beds. We had a great view of the Cathedral - one of the rare open spaces in Hanoi. The hotel staff are all exceptional and the breakfast is fine. On the last day we left early to catch a flight and we were given a takeaway breakfast, which was very thoughtful. This hotel is good value for its excellent location - close to good restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Its worth the climb up the stairs to get the view. The staff carry your bags up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

friendly,efficent staff...cup of coffee on arrival and a run through the map of the area with us...because there was a mix up with our booking(we should have been staying in their sister hotel The Rising Dragon[also very good],they upgraded our room to a family room with balcony.

Room Tip: opposite side of cathedral...unless you like the bells
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in Dec 2011, and were upgraded to the honeymoon suite which is on the topmost floor. While we were thrilled to be upgraded, we didn't realize that there are two caveats- (1) The entire bathroom is see through glass, so you can see every activity, and (2) the church bells ring loud at 5 AM given the top room is right opposite the cathedral bell. Location wise, this is a steal, the rates are amazing (as with everywhere in Vietnam). The breakfast is average, don't expect much. Ms.Tran the owner is an institution in herself - efficient, knowledgeable and helpful. Good place to start exploring Vietnam. Use Ms.Tran's advise to the fullest! And remember, no elevator, so book rooms on lower floors if possible. Overall, efficient and can be recommended.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed here for nearly 3 weeks and it was a great comfortable home away from home.

Our room (301) looks directly over the St Joseph cathedral....stunning. Great balcony, huge room...we took the family room for just two of us as we wanted to be comfy for the weeks stay.

Our second time in Hanoi...and this is yet another great stay.

Just down a lane way is a chemist (very helpful), a book exchange / convenience store...has beer, vodka, tshirts too, just around the block is the lake. The kind staff will deliver items to you on request....our friend asked them for KFC...and they went and got it for him. .... No problem.

The breakfast here is very nice....I couldn't go past the pho ga...excellent.

Only downside is the three story climb to the room.....but you have to get some exercise!

Some ppl say the church bells are loud....but I can't find fault with them (same as if you were in Italy).

I would come and stay here again if in Hanoi....it lived up to all it shows on the net...only surprise was the very friendly staff :-)

Room Tip: I would recommend a balcony room looking over the church...the bells are not that loud. We used roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We got to the airport and there was someone there to escot us to the hotel. It was situated in a small lane, away from the main roads which was perfect because the noise level was considerably lower. It was however, right in front of the cathedrawl which can keep you up at odd hours, especially 5am when it rings for about 5 mins.

The beds and airconditioning are perfect. We felt very comfortable in the rooms. However, the laptops didn't work for us but wifi was available which is great. The bathrooms are basic and could be better designed but were ok since we've seen worse ones.

There are no elevators in the hotel so if your room is on the 3rd or 4th floor, it's a bit of a work out going up after a long hard day. The bellboys are sooo helpful and hardworking. They bring our luggages up and down with smiles and greetings.

The breakfasts are basic and abit on the greasy side but we didn't mind either since we were always lookng forward to going out and doing more exploring.

The location of this hotel is great for walking around and getting to places all around us. There are also massage places along the same street so great for popping in after a long day of being out.

Tran/Judy booked our tours to Sapa and Halong Bay for us. They were both very helpful. Some of the tours/hotels were great, some not so but I'll review those separately.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to friends for the great pricing, location and hospitality.

Room Tip: Double balcony rooms are bigger and nicer but face the church which can be a bit noisy when the bell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights last week in a Double Balcony room. We will happily recommend this hotel to our friends.

The room was good and bed was comfortable (i.e. firmer than we are used to but not as hard as some hotels I have stayed in). The bathroom was basic but quite OK for us. Everything was very clean. There was a notebook PC in the room along with free wifi. There was a little café on the ground floor which put together a good complementary breakfast each morning.

I won't say it is a downside, because it's just the nature of many of the buildings in Hanoi, and that is the fact that there are many stairs. If you happen to be on the third or fourth floors then at the end of a day walking through Hanoi it can be a tiring climb to your room. Though the staff were happy to carry our luggage up and down the stairs.

The location was very central and handy to everything. The location was relatively quiet by Hanoi standards, in other words not that much traffic noise and motorbike horns. The cathedral next door does ring it's bells often which didn't bother us too much, other than the 5 minutes of persistent ringing at 5am each morning... (but hey who really wants to sleep in!)

The staff went out of their way to assist us in any way they could. They arranged a car to meet us at the airport when we arrived and to deliver us back on our return ($15 each way). They also happily stored one of our bags for a couple of days when we went off on a side trip and they were very understanding when we arrived back this morning at 5am to collect it.

If I manage to get back to Hanoi I will certainly be coming back to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel

Address: 38 Au Trieu Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2010, The Hanoi Spring Hotel is conveniently located in the very heart of the charming historic Hanoi Old Quarter. Our hotel is situated in a quiet peaceful street which offers you a perfect retreat from the vibrant and buzzing Old Quarter. All shopping and banking facilities, as well as eating and entertainment options are located conveniently on our doorstep or just a few minutes walk away. The Rising Dragon Hotel provides you with a comfortable and relaxing stay in well appointed rooms furnished with the latest facilities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.