We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst food ever! Definitely NOT value for money...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Bar - Restaurant - Cafe

Lucky Bar - Restaurant - Cafe
11, Hang Be | Q.Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
0439262366
Improve this listing
Ranked #600 of 1,007 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worst food ever! Definitely NOT value for money...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We were really hungry by the time we left our hotel and go search for food. Decided to drop by this restaurant as we see people sitting around and drinking.

We walked to the second floor which oversee the road of Hanoi, and ordered their pancake with chocolate and vanilla to try. The staff was super in happy that the 2 of us only ordered ONE pancake. His service was terrible and he just kept giving us the sour face look, which greatly pisses me off. But oh well we decided to just try the pancake first...

Uh oh.. Big mistake! It's the worst pancake I've ever had in my life!!!! It's just flour with 2 scoops of ice cream! I took 2 mouths and stopped, ready to leave the restaurant. Now I see why people are not ordering food here and just drinking beer.

So... If you want good food, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE! If you want cheap drinks, everywhere in Hanoi is cheap, and you can find restaurants with better views, better service and cheap beer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    6
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“bad food... ok for a beer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We got a deep fried fish cake advertised as something more tasty, the worst sweet and sour chicken imaginable. Probably good for just beer on upper balcony.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Cheap price and cheap food....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stopped here for lunch - they have a nice balcony where you can watch the world go by and drink cheap beer but be aware the food is poor - my sweet and sour chicken was the worst I have ever eaten and the chicken curry was OK...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cold food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you can go somewhere else!
The location is really great as well as the balcony. But that is about the only thing which is nice about this place. This place might be good for Asian food but after a couple weeks of rice we decided to go for a burger. We had to wait over 30min to get our food and when it finally arrived it was cold and the portions extremely small. On the burger, you could not even find the meet because it was so little!
When we complained we got at least a 10.000 Dong discount...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty food, and 1 dollar a large Tiger.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Tasty food set on the one of the main streets in old town hanoi. Fab to just kick back and watch the world go by including the crazy mopeds. Excellent prices for food and drink, definitely a stop for a watering and watering hole.
The staff are friendly with a huge smile all the time, I'm actually say here just now writing this review :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Bar - Restaurant - Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lucky Bar - Restaurant - Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Bar - Restaurant - Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.