We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, Clean rooms, Super-friendly staff !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Rose Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Rose Hotel
59B Duong Thanh Street, Hanoi 00849381826, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 451 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Chamonix, France
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, Clean rooms, Super-friendly staff !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After have spend a total of 8 nights at the Hanoi Rose (in 3 separate stays), I can sincerely recommend this Hotel for its excellent central location in old Hanoi, cleanliness, good value and most importantly, a very friendly and helpful staff !
We will choose this hotel again for our next trip to Hanoi, for sure !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoirosehotel, Director of Sales at Hanoi Rose Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Mr Michel,
I feel many thanks for your comment and your lovely smile with us!. Please feel Rose as your home when you have chance to Hanoi and remember us!
p.s: Michel is so lovely man that I always smile anytime I see him :)
Best wish to you, Ms Jennifer and your daughter!
Best regards,
Daisy Doan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
7
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It's a shame the owners post positive reviews about themselves instead of just cleaning up their hotel. You can tell because they are single 5 star reviews.

Not much good to say about this hotel. Beds were decent and not hard as rocks, but not soft either. The worst part of this hotel was how dirty it was. The floors made our feet black. It would be nice if they actually took a mop to the floors after each guest. I'm not sure the floors have ever been mopped. The halls spelt dusty and smokey. There was also a layer of dirt on the hall floors.

Bathroom had no shower curtain so water sprayed everywhere. Wet floor for hours.

Breakfast was basic. They offered an omelet which was really 2 fried eggs flipped over and cooked. Not a true omelet. If they put a little effort into learning how to make a proper omelet the breakfast might be good.

The family room was so small we didn't have room to put the crib on the floor and still be able to walk around. The pictures they post seem to offer more space than the rooms actually have. Very small rooms.

We arrived early in the morning and they let us check in right away which was nice. When we arrived there was trash in the hall and when we left the next day in the afternoon the trash was still there.

Wifi was horrible. Even standing under the wifi right outside our door it still didn't work.

Over all this hotel just lacks effort. They need to clean, clean, clean and fix their wifi and offer a good breakfast.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, get a room to the back otherwise you get the street noise, 4:30a rooster crowin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoirosehotel, Director of Sales at Hanoi Rose Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Mr Nicholas,
Thank for your time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and my staff, esp Housekeeping dept for your stay. The interaction with our staff member with regards to your comment of dirty, noise is certainly not typical and I will be sure to raise your experience with our entire service as rooms,and WiFi .Besides, our breakfast also has bread with jam, cheese, chicken and beef noodle, soup, spaghetti noodle, drink and fruits. It is our staff's mistake that not show you in clear what we serve in breakfast. I feel so sorry for my fault of management in order to control service and staff working attitude in a day you stay with us!.
Once again please do accept my apologies and we will fix all entire hotel services for sure.
Thank and best regards,
Daisy Doan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I personally and my family have no complaints. We had the best services we ever wish for! Location, service, meals ... you name it. The room was spotless, comfortable with friendly and helpful staffs and the price was reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoirosehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Rose Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Mr. Khoa Nguyen,
Thank you for your good reviews about us. We hoped you really enjoyed your trip here.
Please come to visit us when you are in Vietnam.
Best regards to you, your mother and company members,
Nguyen Quang Hung
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I've been travelling around Vietnam a lot and staying at plenty of hotels, I have to say however this one tops them all. The staff was very kind and responsive, proving excellent customer service. The rooms were quite spacious which was absolutely wonderful considering how much luggage I had. And to top it all of the location of this hotel was just marvelous, it’s close to many shops and restaurants and extremely close to the lake. I highly recommend this place to anyone seeking to have a good travel experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoirosehotel, Director of Sales at Hanoi Rose Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Peter N,
Thank you for your review. We hope to serve you again in the next time.
Best wishes to you and your family
Tony Nguyen
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
na
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Decided to stay at this hotel after reading the reviews. It didn't seem very modern, in fact it was a little older - unless we were in one of the older rooms.

Pros - great location, friendly and helpful staff. We booked our tours from them and they were quite reasonable. One thing I would suggest is to hold off on the add ons such as the kayaking options at Halong bay. If it is rainy you may not want to do it in the end. When at the tour you always have the option to purchase those services.

Cons - the bathroom, it had a wall less shower, so the bathroom was more like a wet room. Always wet and damp.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VietnamSmileTours, Director of Sales at Hanoi Rose Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Dear Blue Burry,
Thank you so much for giving us your comment about our Hotel and services.
We hope you have enjoyed your trip here in Vietnam.
We take these comments to improve our rooms and services to be better.
Again many thanks for staying with us. We hope to be able to serve you in the near future.
Best regards to you all,
Tony Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed here for the second time. This is a very modern, well-run hotel in the Old Quarter. The rooms are very good, a nice breakfast with excellent staff. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011 via mobile

Great helpful staff and owners, stayed 2 nights in between other travel, they gave us a room to shower our boys before leaving to sapa, and a room at 4.30am on our return. The staff couldn't do enough for you and where great with our boys. Booked our trip to Sapa and Halong Bay through the hotel at great prices. Will stay again

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Rose Hotel

Address: 59B Duong Thanh Street, Hanoi 00849381826, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 451 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Rose Hotel is located in the area of 36th old streets in the center of Hanoi Capital - Vietnam. The Hanoi Rose Hotel is near such major tourist attractions as Dong Xuan Market (1.1km), Thang Long Water Puppet Show (just 650m), Ho Guom (Hoan Kiem Lake 650m), Van Mieu Quoc Tu Giam (Temple of Literature 1.2km), Chua Mot Cot (One-Pillar Pagoda 1.6km) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hanoi Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Rose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.