We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel to your Saves list
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Gia Ngu St | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 844, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

At the top of the list of things going for this hotel is it's location.
It is located in the heart of the Old quarter in Hanoi and within waking distance from several attractions including the Hoan Kiem Lake, the water puppet theatre, walking street and Night market and pub street.

Ms Moon at the front office of the hotel was very efficient and pleasant right from the time we booked this hotel from one of the online sites. She was prompt in answering several queries as well as booking tickets for me and my wife on Vietnam Airlines from Ho Chi Minh to Hanoi.

The hotel also helped arrange a one night stay on a cruise in Ha Long bay and Ms Moon helped get a combined discount of 40$ on the listed price. We stayed 2 nights in the premium double room and when we returned from Ha Long bay we were upgraded to the Special suite on the 7th floor at no extra charge, this was a pleasant surprise espl after the 4 hour long journey returning from Ha Long bay to the hotel. The rooms and hotel has good speed Wi-fi so was able to stay connected throught.

The premium double room we stayed in was not too big, but had comfortable beds good air con, tea maker and nice view of the maze of Hanoi below. There was No Safe in the room which was a downer, but I called the reception and within 5 minutes they had brought up an electronic safe for us. The upgraded room on the 7th floor was a lot bigger and had its own balcony, right in the front side of the hotel.

Breakfast was decent with a mix of continental and oriental spread as well as a counter for Pho for breakfast. On the three days here, found the staff very courteous and espl the breakfast staff always informing us about any different items on the breakfast menu on that day.

The hotel also arranged an airport pick up and drop off for us at 18$ each way. You may get a slightly cheaper rate outside, but i decided on convenience espl in a new city for me.

There is also a nice restaurant serving Vietnamese food , Restaurant 96 on the right of this hotel if you want to sample good food in air con comfort. Walk to the Night market which is North of this hotel and abt 8 min walking to catch up with locals and tourists sitting on plastic stools on the road side sipping Bia Hanoi , eat local food and watch the world go by!

Hope this was useful
Cheers
Sid

Room Tip: The premium double room is ok if two people are staying but a family with children will need a bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    111
    53
    21
    13
See reviews for
50
154
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We agree the location is very central. We had 1 night our room 610 was disgusting and so was our childrens way down the hall, So much for putting them in the next room. 610 faces the street the road noise and construction finished at 1am and started back up at 5am. we heard the room next doors alarm at 4am. the walls are very thin.
Checked in for the 2nd night. rooms much better 607 & 609 100% on room 610
There was a group of american youths, banging doors and talking very loud till 1am, with no supervision.
Breakfast was disapointing, Omelete & yogurt was good.
Staff lovely.

Room Tip: Not 610 or any that face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in total (in between a Halong Bay trip).

The room was clean and tidy and housekeeping attended daily. Free wifi in rooms and in all common areas.

Breakfast was ok - not a huge selection but enough to fill you up for a day of sightseeing.

All the staff were courteous and helpful - even highlighting so local restuarants for eating.

Would definately stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

this hotel located in old quarter - very convenience to discover. Vendor food was great!
Hotel staff are so friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was average not good.
Our room was quite wide with the baby cot for my kid - we liked it.
If you have average budget, this hotel is your choice.

Room Tip: should choose room from 5th floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We found this hotel was the perfect place to base ourselves to explore the Old Quarter of Hanoi and was within easy walking distance from other major attractions. We would recommend the New Day restaurant if you wish to taste some of the best food in the Old Quarter, the staff will always be able to find you a spot at a table even if you have share with the locals and the price very reasonable.

Our hotel room was comfortable and well-appointed our room faced the main street every morning we enjoyed opening our window and watching the daily life of Hanoi unfolded below – bikes, street vendors and shop owners setting up for the day as well as listening to the the daily news of the day being broadcast from speakers in the Old Quarter.

The hotel was undergoing renovations which meant that some common areas in the hotel were not completed. The breakfast was very basic and choice was limited but adequate. There was no swimming pool which would have been a welcome reprieve at the end of a long hot day. We would stay at this hotel again the staff was always helpful which made our stay enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Excellent mid to high range accommodation in Hanoi. Good location, very comfortable and well air conditioned rooms.

Breakfast was fine.

All the staff were very warm and attentive. Particular thanks to Anh at the front desk was fantastic - lots of great suggestions.

Also got upgraded to the deluxe suite which was divine! Thanks for that.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The best one can say is that the hotel is really well located for exploring the old quarter and is in easy walking distance to the lake and French quarter etc.
Staff were courteous and helpful and really tried to be welcoming.
The hotel is undergoing renovations and it's obviously a work in progress - rooms seemed to be partially complete, pool area & gym were unavailable. We had some amusing moments in 2 different rooms e.g. bathroom window in place but not properly fixed so you you could pull/push open from either side (we hoped being several floors up would make breaking in a bit tricky), king beds but only one bedside table/lamp etc (toss up for who can read!), room safe on wardrobe floor (not easy - almost have to lie down to see) & we discovered whilst you could surely lock your valuables away, you could also pick up the whole jolly thing and walk away with it as the anchor bolts were sitting inside their packet in the safe!
The breakfast was pretty basic but enough to sustain.
We probably wouldn't choose to stay there on a return trip to Hanoi.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel

Address: 43 Gia Ngu St | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at one of the most crowded streets in the Old Quarter, within walking distance of the central business district and major local attractions, May de Ville Hotel experiences both the modern, high-speed urban lifestyle as well as the unique, charming and impeccable elegance of Hanoi. Features include nearly 100 well-appointed rooms with city view, IDD telephone, air-conditioning, LCD televisions, etc. Modern and cozy bathrooms with bathtubs or showers, hair-dryers and accessories are freely provided. For international travelers, May de Ville Hotel with the helpful and friendly staff is more than a luxury hotel - it's somewhere that will make you feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.