We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indochina Sails - Day Tours

Indochina Sails - Day Tours
27 A6 Dam Trau, Hai Ba Trung, Hanoi 113628, Vietnam
+84 4 3984 2362
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 382 activities in Hanoi
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: What better way to enjoy the spectacular scenery of this UNESCO World Heritage Site than on board an Indochina Sails or Valentine Junk! With over a decade of hosting international guests on the tranquil waters of Halong Bay, Indochina Sails has set the standard for luxury cruising. The first company to offer overnight cruises on the bay, Indochina Sails is now widely known as the number one choice for discerning travelers, operating a fleet of six newly built wooden junks designed in time-honored traditional style, with contemporary and luxurious cabins and facilities. Our boats feature spacious, well-appointed cabins and suites with large en-suite bathrooms, large sundecks with comfortable lounging furniture and elegant dining rooms and bars. We have designed and fitted our boats to international standards while maintaining traditional styling, creating the perfect balance of modern comforts and nostalgic ambiance.
Hong kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW

We went in March and opted for the 2day one night tour on the Valentine. We were a party of six, and took up three of the five cabins. The food on board was excellent . We found the staff to be extremely attentive. The boat was beautifully maintained and surpassed our expectations. Unfortunately the weather wasn't so good so we could take advantage of the top deck. The only negative we had was that there was too much organisation in events on the boat.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    50
    21
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Flawless experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

We did the 2 day/1 night cruise and absolutely wish we had opted for the extra night! The boat was beautiful - amazing top deck, where we were able to drink cocktails and enjoy watching the sunset! The food was great and the service was impeccable! The little activities organised by the staff were also great, while still leaving you enough time to enjoy the boat and it's tranquility! Such a nice change after the hecticness of Hanoi - would definitely recommend going for the 2 night option, because 1 night does seem to fly by! Would definitely recommend this company to anyone travelling to Ha Long Bay!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

The boat was really good. The scenario and views are constantly amazing. The first day we arrived to a set menu lunch which was so nice. It seems like lots to eat but all the portions are reasonably sized so you don't get too full up. The decor of the dining room is very nice and formal. The rooms are very reasonable sized for the trip we were expecting them to be small but they serve their purpose. The sleep quality was good but the curtains don't black out the sun in the morning so if you find that annoying maybe take an eye mask. Also I would recommend taking some ear plugs as the boat is relatively quiet in the evening and noisy in the early morning (6am) and if there is a storm it can keep you up. The first day we went to the fishing village and you had the chose either to kayak their or have a local row you their in a small boat. We chose kayak and it was greAt and I recommend this option. The dinner was a buffet and has lots of fish. An hour before dinner there was a fruit craving demonstration which was fun. They have two happy hours each evening of Buy one get one free. I highly recommend using this offer because the drinks are quite expensive for Vietnam. Water is about £1.60, coke £1.60 and a wine bottle from around £20. You get two free small bottles of water every day but I think they should give you more. At 9pm they show a film in the dining room. There are a few games and books which you can read too. The second day we did a tai chi class at 7.30am which most people participated in and found very fun. Breakfast was okay they served cooked breakfast, eggs, pastries, Vietnamese soup/noodles, fruit and yoghurts.
The juices were free for breakfast along with the tea and coffee which is also free for all meals. On the second day we went to visit the cave which was great, there are quite a few steps though. It is a great photo opportunity. Then we went on the kayaks into bat caves, this was amazing we went under all the bats flying and saw lots of jellyfish. Lunch again was a set menu which wasn't as good as the first day, some of the dishes didn't have a lot of taste. The visit to the pearl farm was interesting but we didn't get a lot of time to explore and it was difficult to understand the man explaining the stages. The pearls are real and very expensive like £300 for a pair of pearl earrings. You have a chance to swim again in the sea. The spring roll demonstration was good you got to try making your own and eat in. Dinner was a buffet and very tasty, lots of fish.
.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great way to see Ha Long Bay - go for the 3 day/2 night option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We sailed around Ha Long Bay on the Valentine Junk, on their 3 day/2 night option. We were very glad indeed that we went for this one, both the smaller boat (5 cabins) and the 2 nights, as the people on the 1 night really didn't have that much time to appreciate the beauty of the place, or do anything like as many activities. Very good recommendation by our travel agent, Audley - thank you.

Pleasant surprise number 1 was that there was only 1 other couple on the boat with us for the first night, and no-one at all other than us on the 2nd, so it was like a private charter. What a treat.

Pleasant surprise number 2 was the size of the cabin, very spacious, and the bathroom - very spacious indeed given the circumstances and with a proper marble tiled shower!

We left the harbour in smog, but the next day dawned bright and clear, so we got to see the bay in all its glory. The various excursions off the boat are great - the fishing village (we went on a small boat rather than a kayak), the day boat (again, just us and 2 others, lovely Australian girls) with the kayaking, the caves (LOVED the party cave) and there is plenty to do and see or you can just lie on deck with a cocktail and watch the karsts go by. We even managed a swim with someone on jellyfish watch!

My husband was not that well on the second day, and the staff were concerned and made him a much simpler lunch, which was appreciated. The food was plentiful, too plentiful if anything, but tasty enough, though certainly not gourmet. Drinks were good, and happy hour x 2 was a nice touch.

The staff were very friendly, and helpful, though one caveat would be that our guide was very "touchy feely", inappropriately so in our view. It may be our uptight-British-ness, but I don't want to be man-handled by a complete stranger in an over familiar way. One other slightly strange thing was that we filled in a feedback form at the end, and before we left the boat, the guide brought it over to us and wanted to know why we had only marked breakfast as "average". We explained that it was because breakfast was not fresh, everything - butter, jam, milk, etc, was in tiny packets. This exchange took place in front of the chef, which was a tad embarrassing. Maybe my fault for putting the truth down, but inappropriate to question guests about their feedback right in front of the staff member who is responsible.

We were amazed by the scenery, we thought it would be a little like Thailand near Phuket, but it was a whole other league, with the thousands of islands and the size of them. Truly stunning.

We were really happy that we spent so long actually cruising, and not just staying in one place. It was a great way to see the beauty of Ha Long Bay and we would thoroughly recommend this company (though management, if you are reading this, please ask Hugh to be a bit less physically friendly).

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I loved this cruise. We did the two-day one night. We stayed in the heart of Hanoi so the drive to the Ha Long Bay port was about 3.5 hours. Longer than I expected but it was a great opportunity to see the country side. After finally getting onto the boat we got the keys to our room. We went with the more expensive rooms on the second floor. Our room was more spacious than I expected and they also had complementary wine for us to drink (which I loved). The room was beautiful clean and the bathroom was nice and spacious. Shortly after settling in we were served a 6 course lunch which was amazing! The cruise had act ivies like Tai Chi and kayaking if you wanted. They also had massages which we got. They were cheap but not sure the girl knew what they were doing (might want to skip the massage). Our guide was wonderful and everyone spoke decent English and made us feel very welcomed. This was a nice relaxing way to see the bay.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indochina Sails - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Indochina Sails - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indochina Sails - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Indochina Sails - Day Tours to your Saves list