We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indochina Sails - Day Tours

Indochina Sails - Day Tours
Royal Tourism Pier, Hanoi 113628, Vietnam
+84 4 3984 2362
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 457 Activities in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: What better way to enjoy the spectacular scenery of this UNESCO World Heritage Site than on board an Indochina Sails or Valentine Junk! With over a decade of hosting international guests on the tranquil waters of Halong Bay, Indochina Sails has set the standard for luxury cruising. The first company to offer overnight cruises on the bay, Indochina Sails is now widely known as the number one choice for discerning travelers, operating a fleet of six newly built wooden junks designed in time-honored traditional style, with contemporary and luxurious cabins and facilities. Our boats feature spacious, well-appointed cabins and suites with large en-suite bathrooms, large sundecks with comfortable lounging furniture and elegant dining rooms and bars. We have designed and fitted our boats to international standards while maintaining traditional styling, creating the perfect balance of modern comforts and nostalgic ambiance.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Time!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

First piece of advice. DO THE 2 NIGHT 3 DAY OPTION!!! We were originally going to do the 1 night option and due to trip advisor recommendations we changed it to the 2 night option. Did not regret it for one second. Everyone that did the 1 night option regretted it. It is a 4 hour drive from Hanoi, and having only one night then come all the way back would be way to painful.

On the second day, you go on a day boat that takes you away from the 1001 other tourist boats. We went kayaking into caves, and went into areas that were similar to the location in the movie "The Beach". I was able to dive off the kayak, swim around climb back in and paddle off to another location looking for monkeys etc etc. Great fun. They let me jump off the top of the day boat too.

Staff were impeccable and incredibly hard working, food was great and you never went close to going hungry. Happy hour was good fun and if you ever wondered how Chef's make those vegetable and fruit designs that end up on your plate, there is a lesson on that too. I was with my partner and her parents on this trip and we all had an awesome time, so no matter what age you are, there is something for you. Highlight of our Vietnam trip. Great company. And to cap it all off, the booking manager was waiting for us in our Hotel in Hanoi on our return. She was there to check on how the trip went and that everything went well. She also gave us a lovely gift. Now that is service!

WORD OF WARNING, the water around this beautiful place has been heavily polluted by fishing villages, tourists and operators. This was the most disheartening thing of the trip and maybe a tip for the Vietnamese government, I would be more than happy (and hopefully all other tourists too) to pay an extra $100 on my ticket for a national park entry fee, to start cleaning the place up and managing it better. But oh well. Can't blame the operator for that.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    59
    21
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lived up to all our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

It is not often one can say that. Everything was perfect -even the rains kept away for our trip. The crew could not have been more helpful and having that last drink served to you on the top deck in the moonlight was very special. Like other guests we would have liked to have a chair in the cabin and also one of those trestles for our suitcases. As you can see mention these kind of things shows everything else was perfect. We only booked one night and have not forgiven ourselves for not booking two,

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We spent one night no the Indochina Sails. It was definitely worth the trip from Hanoi even though the car trip is not the nicest one (nearly 4 hours with bumpy roads and crazy trafic). The service onboard the boat was superb and the cruise itself was relaxing. I got the feeling that Agatha Christie could have written a novel here. There is something about the atmosphere (I mean that in a positive way). The food onboard was also very good. The view of Halong Bay is nice, although there is quite a lot of boats and tourists around. It is recommended to stay two nights for more relaxation.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Falls short”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I sailed on the 2 cabin valentine junk. They were very kind to not book the second cabin so it was ours for the night. The room was very clean and spacious with a really nice large jacuzzi for 2. The food unfortunately did not live up to expectations, especially considering the premium price we paid for this exclusive boat. In fact, we were served steak and potatoes for lunch which just wasnt that appetizing. The staff was friendly, even allowing us to customize our own itinerary, but lacked slightly in professionalism. Overall the experience was pleasant. We enjoyed kayaking into the bat caves and rowing around the fishing village. The scenery is beautiful, but unfortunately like many sights of Vietnam, this place is packed with tourists.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indochinasails_gm, General Manager at Indochina Sails - Day Tours, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for the positive comments regarding the boat and the trip. However I am very sorry that there were aspects that did not live up to your expectations.

I would like to especially apologize that the food did not satisfy as we have tried very hard to develop the current a la carte menu that is available on our Valentine boats. The main course options (Australian Tenderloin or local Sea Bass) are preceded by two Vietnamese appetizers. However your comments have prompted us to add other more traditional Vietnamese main course options as well. We hope that this will help to ensure guests do have meals that that will enjoy very much. We understand the importance of the cuisine component of the journey on board our boats.

Thanks again for your valuable feedback.

Jerry Bowes, General Manager, Indochina Sails
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A definite must do trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We did a 2 day 1 night stay with Indochina Sails as part of our honeymoon holiday to Southeast Asia and we would definitely recommend it. As mentioned by other reviewers, the car journey from Hanoi was not the best experience but the boat and it's staff more than made up for it!

The cabin was much more luxurious than we imagined and the food was excellent. We particularly enjoyed kayaking around a fishing village and the 2 for 1 cocktails during happy hour were pretty good too!!

This was a very memorable part of our holiday.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indochina Sails - Day Tours also viewed

Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 

Been to Indochina Sails - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indochina Sails - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.