We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Papaya - CLOSED

Green Papaya
30 To Ngoc Van Str., | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 084, Vietnam
84-4-3 718 0202
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Buffet
Description: Green Papaya is a vibrant restaurant offering the elite Vietnamese contemporary foods. Located close to the West lake, the freshest area of Hanoi, Green Papaya provides you with a unique dining experience, takes you away from the bustling Hanoi downtown. Green Papaya also sits on the way from Hanoi airport to downtown, that ideally save your travel time in and out of the city.
london
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good food, a bit pricey in Hanoi terms, but worth it. Lovely building, good service.
Good portion sizes, tasty food and a lovely atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Changed recently”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Apparently the owner has decided to change a few things to suit more to his specific clientele.
The name is now Ba Ba Son Dong.

The restaurant itself is fairly nice for one serving Vietnamese food, the location is nice at West Lake and the venue looks clean. Staff is friendly yet speaks very limited English.
The food is good for Vietnamese standard, you will find places to eat better Vietnamese food but if you are looking for a good value for money place and with real Vietnamese cuisine this is certainly worth a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quite hard to find this restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended by friend in Hanoi, we have dinner here. Firstly, our taxi driver found it difficult to find the way to get there, it is in a narrow street and quite. Food is good but not excellant. The only one thing that I impressed with this res is service, they are young, always smile and hepful. Overrall, if you want to have lunch or dinner in a quite with excellent service Green papaya is a good choice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Nice to get international food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had lunch here, it was recommended in Frommer's We were the only ones in the restaurant. The service was very good, as was the food. My wife was hungry for a salad and had a grilled chicken salad that was very large and she thought tasty. I had a stir fried vegetables and seafood, it was also a large dish and very good. It is not cheap, but we thought it was a pretty good value.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Less than average food, very poor service, buses of tourists”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Well what can I add... We passed by, we were hungry, june, forts week in Hanoi, first Time in tay ho, no 3G /wifi connection to tripadvisor... Never been there since.
Staff is on their phones not paying attention
Food is less than average
No atmosphere

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Papaya also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Papaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.