We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class boutique hotel on a quiet street in Hanoi's old quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Elite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Elite Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Elite Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   10/50 Dao Duy Tu Str., Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem Dist.,, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE PICK UP/VISA ARRIVAL
Ranked #3 of 452 Hanoi B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First class boutique hotel on a quiet street in Hanoi's old quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Well located in Hanoi's historic old quarter. Walking distance to many attractions. The hotel staff was professional and helpful with every need, starting with meeting us at our taxi and escorting us down the alley to the hotel. After a complimentary beverage and information about local tours with a location map, they showed us to our clean and comfortable room. Would be nice to have a lift but having said that, the staff was certainly available to carry bags whenever needed. The cooked-to-order breakfast menu was varied, fresh, plentiful and well served. They even had a computer in each room and it actually worked unlike many hotels we stayed at. One feature that we found especially convenient was the use of a general tip box so you didn't feel like you had to have small foreign currency to tip for every service. It was the first of many hotels on our around-the-world holiday and it stands out for it's professional staff, clean room, comfortable bed and of course, location, location, location (if the old quarter is your destination). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    71
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
534
54
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

This is the newest hotel in the Hanoi Elegance boutique chain, and the most modern in decor. Originally I had planned to stay the Hanoi Elegance Ruby for one night on February 26, 2011, but they had a plumbing problem in our room and moved us to the Hanoi Elite. The hotel staff was very gracious and apologetic about this situation, and we were upgraded to a Family Suite at the Elite. In addition, a hotel staff member accompanied us in the taxi from the Hanoi Ruby to the Hanoi Elite just to make sure there were no problems. This was a nice touch, and given the situation they handled it very professionally.

There are only 12 rooms at the Hanoi Elite, and the hotel is located in a smaller, but very safe lane in the Old Quarter. The lobby was small, but clean, tasteful, and efficient. The staff was extremely professional and welcoming. You could tell right away that the staff in all areas are trained to a very high standard that would rival a 5 star hotel in the U.S.

The family suite room had two double beds and had a very clean modern feel to it. A complimentary laptop computer was provided, as well as, a welcome fruit platter and two bottles of spring water. There was free Wi-Fi in the room and throughout the hotel. The bathroom had a lovely rain shower and upscale fixtures and marble tiling. The beds were clean and comfortable, and the air conditioning worked great. There was a window to the room which faced the back of the hotel. The in-room safe worked fine and the hotel in general felt very secure. The only unusual feature was the room had low ceilings, other than that everything was excellent.

Breakfast is made to order and the dining area is in the small lobby. I had a lovely Vietnamese ice coffee and an omelet with fresh fruit. The friendly staff was very accommodating for any additional food requests, and nothing seemed unreasonable to them.

A great example of attentive service is the willingness of the staff to flag a taxi for us in Hanoi. The bellman walked down the lane and out to the main road to persistently ensure we got a taxi. In addition, transport to the airport via the hotel shuttle van was professional and easy.

I had several items for the hotel laundry and everything came back nicely folded as expected for a very reasonable price of $8.40 USD.

If you are looking to stay in the Old Quarter at a boutique hotel, I wouldn’t hesitate to stay at the Hanoi Elite. They really are a class act!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

After reading reviews on TA we picked the Hanoi Elite for our first 2 nights in Hanoi and booked a subsequent night with them. We found it to be a new, clean, stylish, friendly boutique hotel in a quiet side street in the old quarter. The breakfast selections were basic western but very tasty (one pho option) and good vietnamese coffee all of which you can have as much as you like.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, even assisting us with our tour bookings not made through their agents. The bathrooms were a good size (glass doors but curtains for privacy), water pressure not fantastic but enough to wash hair etc and the beds were comfy if not a little hard. Street noise was very low to non-existent.

The only downside is no lift which really sucks when you're on the 6th floor, but we were young enough for it to not be an issue - just annoying and tiring!
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

I loved this boutique hotel, mainly because of the wonderful staff and the beautiful and cozy room. It was very clean and comfortable. They have a computer in the room for internet use and fresh fruits in the room daily. The breakfast in the lobby was very good. And the staff is one of the best I've experienced in all of my travels, and I've traveled quite a bit. The only thing is they don't have an elevator and my room was 6 flights up, but I didn't mind that at all. I was originally at their other location, the Hanoi Elegance Emerald and had to book an extra night. The staff at both locations could not have been any more helpful and accomodating. The staff from Elegance walked me over and would not accept my tip for that. And they made sure to accommodate me in the room they had available which was an upgrade from the budget room I had but they gave me the same budget rate. I have nothing negative to say about this place and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to visit Hanoi.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Not only was The Hanoi Elite Hotel a beautiful, clean And comfortable home away from home in a fantastic location in the Old City of Hanoi, it also became a lifesaver when we encountered troubles in Halong Bay! After a horrible experience at another hotel in Halong, my husband and I, not knowing anyone else in Vietnam, desprately called the wonderful people at the Hanoi Elite from Halong to help us return back to Hanoi. We had been treated horribly at our hotel in Halong, cheated by taxi drivers, mislead  by the clerks at the Hanoi "Tourist Center" and knew nobody else we could trust.
Ha, one of the receptionists at the hotel, welcomed us back to Hanoi and arranged for us to stay at a sister hotel, the Hanoi Elegance, on last minute notice. She was gracious, concearned and incredibly helpful.  I can honestly say that this line of hotels has world class service at a fantastic price. Ha and the other staff at the Hanoi Elite are the type of employees I would hire if I owned my own hotel. I cannot say enough good things about this line of hotels, and we are both grateful for all of the help and hospitality Ha and the entire staff offered us. THANK YOU HA and the HANOI ELITE! 100% 

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We loved this little gem. We booked the hotel airport pick up, which was on time and reliable. We weren;t sure what to expect when we were dropped off at the end of a small alley, but the staff rushed over to greet us and help us in.

Yummy mango smoothie on arrival and up we went. The hotel is TINY - only 12 rooms and typical hanoi style (tall and thin building). The rooms were great and modern- well decorated and lovely linen (my personal bugbear is cheap rubbishy linen!). My only tiny gripe being that they lead directly off the the stairs/landing, so when other guests stomp around, you hear it all. Laptop with free WIFI in the room, which was awesome.

Good breakfasts.
The overwhleming impress that we were left with was the great staff - extremely helpful and friendly and greeted us both by name everytime we passed them.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

My wife and I were on our honeymoon in Vietnam. We were picked up at the airport by the shuttle service. The sign said Hotel Elegance (rather than Hotel Elite), probably because the hotel was still new. The shuttle was well worth avoiding the headaches of taxi scams or trying to figure out the transit.

We drove into the Old Quarter and was surrounded by a flood of motorbikes and pedestrians. Right in the middle of Old Quarter, down a surprisingly quiet road was this gem. We were immediately greeted with a refreshing drink and check in was easy.

Our hotel room was spotless and very modern. There was a flatscreen TV and laptop that we used for the Internet. We also had a very pleasant surprise treat for honeymoon! You would expect that the hotel might be noisy because of its location, but we slept well each night and had no problems, because it was off a side road.

What makes this hotel special was its dedicated staff. All of the porters and restaurant staff were extremely professional and friendly. The manager Mr. Thang made sure all the details of our trip was taking care of. We took a tour to Halong Bay through the hotel which was great. Even when we decided to do Sapa on our own, he provided us with a bunch of useful information.

Both my wife and I extremely enjoyed our trip to Vietnam and especially our 3 day stay at Hotel Elite. This is the first time we've posted a review on TripAdvisor, for a hotel that is well-deserved.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Elite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elite Hotel

Address: 10/50 Dao Duy Tu Str., Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem Dist.,, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 452 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanoi Elite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated Hotel boasts extremely spacious rooms, offering panoramic views from your Window, brand new western style bathrooms, and comfy beds. All rooms feature air conditioning, mini bar, Electronic safe deposit box , 32'' LCD TV with cable program , HD Multi media Player,FREE Wireless internet access with a laptop in the room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Elite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Elite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.