We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cockroach in our room.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Splendid Jupiter Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Splendid Jupiter Hotel to your Saves list
Splendid Jupiter Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 16 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu str. | Hoan Kiem dist., Hanoi 8443, Vietnam (Formerly Riverside Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A cockroach in our room.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Very disappointed after reading the good reviews here on Tripadvisor. The rooms are of low standard, feels old and a bit run-down and the shower was terrible. We even found a cockroach in our room! In addition, quite bad breakfast. One morning we ordered banana pancakes and when the staff arrived they put down plates with just pancakes and syrup, without saying anything about the missing bananas. When we asked, the answer was that they had run out of bananas - why not mention this when we made our order?

Good location though and the price was very low.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    65
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
22
80
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights and found it a decent hotel. The rates are reasonable, the breakfast is good and the people are friendly. As with most hotels you are going to get charged more if you book tours/taxis with them rather than a travel agency, this is normal. The room was very decent, clean yet slightly small and the bathroom was clean yet with a dodgy shower head which was slightly annoying. Overall its a very decent hotel which needs a couple of fix ups here and there. One of its high points is its location in the old quarter. It is down a small alley near a big church and there is not as much traffic noise in this location. Overall I recommend this hotel - 6.8/10

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piaseczno, Warszawa, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in March 2012. We had realy nice room, breakfest was excelent, staff were very nice and helpful.
Hotel is situated in good place, wery close to the center.
We spent there realy good time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time in Hanoi and we carefully selected this hotel based on reviews, location etc. And we have to say, it was a really good decision. First of all it is really close to the cathedral, the hoan kiem lake and great restaurants. Second of all, the rooms were very clean and comfortable, the bathroom was okay and the breakfast was really nice. But third of all, the staff was absolutely wondefull!! Especially Tuan! When we arrived he was really helpfull and thinking along with us (not to pushy) on what we could do the upcoming days. And when we left and we checked out at 12.00, we still had a day in Hanoi before we took the nighttrain to Sapa. He offered us to keep an eye on our backpacks and when we come and pick them up, we could have a shower before leaving to the trainstation. Really nice! We really recommend this hotel, the price and quality are really good in balance.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed at the Splendid Jupiter (aka Splendid Star 3, Churchview Hotel, and a couple others I can't remember) for 4 days/3 nights. The hotel is nicely located in the Old Quarter near St. Joseph Cathedral off the main road. You will probably have to walk with your bags to the hotel as taxis cannot fit down Tho Xuong. The staff was nice, spoke enough English and were helpful in showing us places to visit in the city. Our room was pretty big with a queen and a double bed, which was nice after a tiny hotel room in Singapore and everything appeared clean. The mattresses were quite firm but, surprisingly, gave me a great night's sleep. We did have a problem with a leak in the ceiling of our bathroom when we stayed there and though the staff tried to help, the leak was never fixed and we were not moved to a new room. Breakfast was included in the price and had some tasty Vietnamese and American options. For US$22/night I think it was a pretty good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Great hotel for the location and price. Very clean and new looking room with en-suite and great wi-fi connections with a router on every floor. There's also a computer and desk already in every room if you don't have your own computer. The room also contained a safe for valuables. I stayed in the single occupancy room, which has no window, though this may be beneficial to getting to sleep when you consider how bustling Hanoi is. The hostel is set quite far back from any main road with traffic though, on a quite side street that only pedestrians and mopeds can access so it's probably not too noisy in the rooms with windows. The only problem is the doors in the hostel are very loud when they close, something to do with the locking mechanisms and this seems to reverberate around the hotel. Breakfast is included and there's a LOT of it, definitely the best breakfast I've had on my SE Asia tour so far. The building is quite tall, like most in Hanoi, but there's a lift if you can't handle the stairs. The location is in the old town, where you really want to stay when visiting Hanoi, just a short walk from St Joseph's Cathedral and many of the tourist attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful and helped advise me on a trip to Halong bay. After I'd checked out to go on the trip they stored my main luggage that I didn't want to take with me on a single night excursion and they even offered a room where I could shower when I returned. For the price ($16 a night for the single room) this place is great value and if it were in a more expensive city then you would expect to pay 4x the price. Would definitely stay there again if visiting Hanoi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The hotel is ok. Its in a good location but very rough around the edges! it needs to be repainted and spruced up. But over all it is clean! The staff seem friendly but don't take their airport transfer offer - they charged us 320,000 dong but the taxis charge 180,000dong! I think you can do a little better than this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Splendid Jupiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Jupiter Hotel

Address: No. 16 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu str. | Hoan Kiem dist., Hanoi 8443, Vietnam (Formerly Riverside Palace Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Jupiter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splendid Jupiter hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph’s Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel’s neighborhood to suit any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Splendid Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splendid Jupiter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.