We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanoi Charming 2” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hanoi Charming 2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Stayed here for 2 days. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. Free Wifi.
Minus : Location, 10-15 minutes walk to downtown streets around Hoan Kiem Lake.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,606
    153
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
254
737
150
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Loved everything about this hotel.

Location - Great in the Old Quarter
Staff - Amazing and willing to go the extra mile. Remember your name, so always greet you and ask you how your day has been.
Rooms - Gorgeous!! Big beds, lovely bathroom, computer in the room, tv..

Additional info: After checking out we went to Halong Bay... came back to this hotel and altho we had checked out over 24 hrs ago they gave us a free ride to the station and a room for a couple of hours to shower or what not.

Little extras which make them a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Colorado
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We secured the room for four nights and used it for three. The rooms were quiet and mostly clean with a few exceptions that were quickly corrected by the wonderful management. The hotel's recommendation to use the Dragon Pearl for the one night/two day cruise was spot on. The city is easy to navigate on your own and the Water Puppet Show was really worth the effort (please book early because same day tickets are very difficult to secure).

The only negative related to our stay in Hanoi is the horrific air pollution. Unfortunately we were forced to wear breathing masks a great deal of the time. The transfer to and from the airport is also an adventure and the traffic is typical of most SE Asian cities.

Would stay at the Hotel Charming 2 again.

Room Tip: Secure the junior suite or above. If you are fortunate enough to have Lana handle any of your booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is our second trip to Vietnam, and our second stay in Hanoi. We stayed this time in Hanoi at the Charming 2 Hotel for 5 nights in total and loved every minute of it.

Lana, Rose, Sophie and the staff are great hosts, and greet you like long lost friends every time you enter the reception area. They offered us so much help during our stay, from helping us change money, suggesting the best restaurants and sights. Also, coming out to the street with us each time we needed a taxi, and speaking with the driver on EVERY occasion to ensure we were not scammed or mislead by the drivers. They are so attentive it is almost beyond belief. They are genuinely concerned for every guest, and offer expert guidance.

Lana even arranged for us to be picked up from the train station at 4am on our return from our Sapa trip, and then to check in early to recover from the overnight journey.

Our room was quiet, the beds are comfortable, the shower was great, and the breakfast is plentiful with a good selection of local and western food. The location is perfect in the old quarter. A short walk to the lake, shopping, street food stalls, and restaurants, also only 2 blocks from the night markets.

We really could not find fault with this place.

We were so sad to have to leave as we waved goodbye to the staff from the window of our taxi at the end of our stay. Drop in, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hotel is clean, safe, and pretty much has everything you would require. The rooms are small but they are absolutely consistent with the room size you will encounter throughout Vietnam. I have no complaints as far as the room and its amenities. I do think that their price of $48 is too high when compared to other establishments in Hanoi and their pricing. I would not pay over $35 a night for this hotel.
Where I differ from most guests regarding my preferences is with reference to the service. Yes, their staff is nice and helpful but frankly I found them to behave in a manner that was a little too friendly or perhaps it might be better stated "familiar". Much of the time I felt like I had entered into an establishment that was being overseen by a bunch of giggly girls that were at a party versus conducting business. The constant fawning and chatting was wearing in my opinion. I want a hotel that provides great service, however I don't need the staff to act like they are my best friend in the process. That said, many/most other clients seem to love it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MinhHanoi, Manager at Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear all of our valued guests,
Firstly,We would like to express our deep thanks for your spending time writing us reviews on this website.
We would like to say with the author that all the things we do is just want to make our guests feel like home away from home.But We do not know that it makes you feel unhappy.So ,we are very sorry about that.We hope next time ,when you come back to our hotel ,we will have a chance to serve you better.
We beleive that with an effort of our entire staff ,We will bring our guests the most comfortable stay.
Thank you very much for your attention
Your Best Regards,
Manager
Minh Pham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anahola, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Would definitely stay here again--the staff seemed to bend over backwards to helps us. They gave great recommendations, such as eating at Highway 4, our favorite restaurant which is right around the corner from Hanoi Charming 2.Loved the computer with internet in the room, the fresh flowers and their delicious breakfast spread. They made terrific soups!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We are regular travelers to Asia and other parts of the world so we always do our research on Tripadvisor when planning our holidays. "Charming 2 Hotel" reviews were fantastic and after staying there we know why it deserves such accolades. The staff make this hotel experience special, the high quality of customer care from all members of staff is outstanding. They welcome you with a cold drink and a friendly smile, nothing is ever too much trouble. The staff were always available to give advice on sightseeing and restaurants so with map in hand we navigated our way around Hanoi, on our return we were greeted with inquiries about our day with genuine interest.

The hotel is well kept with lovely clean rooms. We stayed in 3 different rooms during our stay and all were of high standard. We traveled to Sapa and Halong Bay and while we were away the luggage was kept safe for us. We were offered a room for a few hours between trips "free of charge" to freshen up, this hotel has certainly got "customer service" right. The hotel offers wifi, internet and in room computer. The laundry service is great, pick up in the morning and returned that same evening. The breakfast selection was good, the staff would also cook eggs at your request. This hotel is quality for money, they also offer free airport pickup if you stay with them for 3 or more nights.

We mentioned it was our 30th wedding anniversary in conversation and that we were traveling for a month. The staff showed interest in the other countries we had visited and wanted to hear about our travels. We went out sightseeing one day and on our return we were taken to our room thinking there was a problem. The door opened and to our surprise the staff had decorated the room with balloons, beautiful flowers, a rose petal heart with "Forever Love" written on the bed, a bottle wine, a beautifully decorated cake and a chorus of "Congratulations", what an amazing display of kindness from this hotel. The attention to detail was beautiful, what a lovely gesture. This touched us so much, we were totally blown away. Never in all our many years of travel have we ever come across such generosity, it was truly special.

So thank you so much to some very "Special" people..... Lana, Rose, Sophie, Oanh (Receptionist), Huong, Oanh (accountant), Nam, Vi and all the other staff at "Charming 2". It was an unforgettable stay at a lovely hotel, full of beautiful people who made us feel like family. We will have great memories of the wonderful time we spent with you all in Hanoi and will recommend "Charming 2 Hotel" to family and friends. It was very difficult to say goodbye.
Lauris & Bill
Australia

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.