We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, awesome free breakfast, and very kind and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE PICKUP/ 25%OFF ROOM
Ranked #14 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Tamuning
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent location, awesome free breakfast, and very kind and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The hotel staff met us upon our check in and were very warm, gracious and friendly. They were very knowledgeable about the tours we were going on and even gave my girlfriend a ride on a scooter to go pick up some sunscreen.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,466
    147
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
232
682
128
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We were looked after extremely well! Loan, Ms Pink, Luc and all the staff here were exceptional and we felt very comfortable. Lovely rooms and great breakfast!
They provided brilliant advice on restaurants, shopping and Halong Bay - even allowing us to stow our large bags whilst we were away. Don't bother looking at any other hotels, lock in Charming 2!

We will be recommending all our family and friends to book here when they come to Hanoi

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Overall experience: We really enjoyed our stay at Charming, only staying for the 1 night - but wishing we had booked more. Will definitely look at booking them again when I'm back in Hanoi. Great service, great value, great amenities. Not much more you can ask for.

Location: In the old town, near the lake and near many places to eat.
Price: Great value. Affordable price with great amenities.
Staff: All staff were friendly and helpful, very big thanks to Rose who offered great recommendations and helped with the confusion over a taxi to the airport. Rose stayed cool and calm and we made it to the airport with no problems.
Room: Spacious, clean and comfortable. Fruit on arrival. And the PC with wireless was very useful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Dos: visit as much as you can when are in Hanoi. Enjoy the place itself and also walk around the lake when you can in the evening or late afternoon. Try a lot of the food there because it is very good. Also try to take a cyclo ride in the evenings or late afternoons. Lastly, put yourself in situations that you would never see yourself doing.

Don'ts: Do not take this opportunity your getting and waste it because you may not get a chance like this again. And don't make it a bad time even if you are not happy because of the heat or other things. Let your mind just be at rest there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011 via mobile

Rose was fantastic from the moment we stepped foot into the hotel until the moment we left! She went out of her way to help us around Hanoi & gave great recommendations on what to see & do.
I noticed she was like this with everyone not just us!
The hotel itself was very clean & comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilst
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

This hotel was definitely worth the money and more. I wish all hotels were like this one.
Large hotels just can't provide the same comfy service as small golden pearls like this one.

Staff are exceedingly nice and always helpful. We had originally booked for 2 days only, but could use a spare room for free showering and sleeping during odd travel hours during the 5 days afterwards since we bought some tours with this hotel. F. ex. when coming back from Halong bay and Sapa with only some 4-5 hours before our next trip. That meant a world of difference since we could relax a little and get freshened up and continue our tour of Vietnam with renewed energy.

The pc in the room worked fine and made it much more easy to plan our next destinations.Laundry is cheap (they charge pr kg), the minibar is also very fairly priced.

Rooms are very clean and nice. Breakfast doesn't have so many things to choose from, but is ok, and the coffee is great, and overall you just feel very welcome.
Also, we booked two tours and it is clear that their tour standards are high, both the operators they work with in Halong Bay as well as Sapa. Be sure to get 3/2 days/nights in Halong Bay if you have time, as this is definitely worth it (oh, and take Paloma boat, Glory was almost as good)
We could have done the Sapa tour ourselves a bit cheaper, but since there are so many guides and stuff to choose from, it was just easier to put it all in the very capable hands of the hotel tour managers.
Next time I go to Hanoi I will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

All the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially Lana from the frontdesk who also helped us to arrange our Halong Bay tour.
The room is clean and comfy, no noise pollution from the busy street, great shower, good internet access, big tv,...
The hotel even provided us a room to clean up after a tiring trip from Halong Bay before we head to the train station for Sapa.
Couldn't be happier with the hotel and the service.

Highly recommended.
Lana and colleague, thank you again for the adapter ! : )

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.