We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gourmet Corner Restaurant

The Gourmet Corner Restaurant
32 Lo Su Str., Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
+84 4 3935 1632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,012 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located on the top floor of Elegance Diamond hotel, the Gourmet Corner restaurant and terrace bar boast the finest view of Hanoi from the 12th floor, overlooking Hoan Kiem Lake, the Red River and the ever-growing skyline of Hanoi. A selected menu of authentic Vietnamese food prepared by our experienced 5-star chef, served by a team of attentive waiting staff will savor your taste. The restaurant provide you full meals during the day. Delivery service is also available throughout our hotel chain. Still, you can drop by for a drink at the terrace bar to see the panoramic view of the lake, the river in the sunset.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I went there to celebrate my birthday with my boyfriend. When we made the reservation he told thebstaff that it was my birthday so they decorated the table with balloons! We sat at a table by the window with views to hoan kiem lake. The atmosphere was nice and quiet. The service was great. A nice waitress wanted to practice spanish with us! The food was good. I ordered fish wich was good but nothing special. My boyfrend had grilled bamboo beef wich was really good with original presentation. At dessert time they sung me happy birthday. The price is reasonable, and they invited us for dessert. We really had a good time!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    684
    199
    59
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent place for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

A good mix of Vietnamese and western cuisine with reasonable prices ! One of the best place to order a bottle of wine !!

Waiters were very attentive and made good food recommendations. We ordered the morning glory salad and seafood spring rolls. Salad was refreshing !! Had pork noodles and the bacon steak for mains - the steak was too overdone for medium. Will definite return and we definitely recommend this place

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent service, nice view and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Good Azian cuisine with an open kitchen. The view over the city,especially on the terrace, is very nice. Price is very reasonable for the quality.

Booking is recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuusula, Finland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Average food with nice view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We booked table few days ahead and wait to excellent restaurant experience, never recieved one though. This is far from best dining options, we got better food quarter of the price elsewhere. None of our meals were excellent, they were eatable, nothing more. Waitress also got really upset that one of us left lot of mushroom on the plate, no matter how we explained we are full. some with the meat, which one of us described as tender (that's a good thing right?) and they kept coming back to us explaining where it comes from and how it cooked. There is some line with good customer service and being annoying, and here they did cross this line. No need to say, that we did not stay for dessert in this over prized and over rated restaurant. View is quite nice up there, but no spectacular.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Mostly happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Whilst staying at the Essence Hanoi Hotel my husband and I booked in for dinner on 2 occasions at the Gourmet Corner Restaurant located in the Hanoi Elegance Diamond hotel.

The restaurant is very nice and being on the 12th floor it offers a great view of the night lights of the city. We had previously eaten in the Restaurant in 2012 and found the food to be of a very high standard.

The staff are very helpful and the menu on offer was good. We thoroughly enjoyed our first dinner. The crispy fried spring rolls were really delicious and our main courses were excellent - no complaints at all. We had a wonderful evening and looked forward to returning another evening.

Which we did. Our spring rolls were again very tasty. I had raved about my fish dish on our first dinner, so we both decided to order it this time. Unfortunately, it was rather dry and appeared to be overcooked. Still edible but not delicious. However, we had a lovely evening and this minor hiccup does not stop us giving the Gourmet Corner a high recommendation, as everyone's tastes are different and other people who had the same dish that evening may well have been extremely happy.

We enjoyed the view, each other's company, the wine and talking to the friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gourmet Corner Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Gourmet Corner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gourmet Corner Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.