We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gourmet Corner Restaurant

The Gourmet Corner Restaurant
32 Lo Su Str., Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
+84 4 3935 1632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 983 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located on the top floor of Elegance Diamond hotel, the Gourmet Corner restaurant and terrace bar boast the finest view of Hanoi from the 12th floor, overlooking Hoan Kiem Lake, the Red River and the ever-growing skyline of Hanoi. A selected menu of authentic Vietnamese food prepared by our experienced 5-star chef, served by a team of attentive waiting staff will savor your taste. The restaurant provide you full meals during the day. Delivery service is also available throughout our hotel chain. Still, you can drop by for a drink at the terrace bar to see the panoramic view of the lake, the river in the sunset.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great food. Great service. Great view. Must visit if in Hanoi.
We were after a good meal for lunch - and we were not disappointed. The staff were lovely and even told us the recipe to their special fish sauce!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    191
    57
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, nice view, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This penthouse restaurant does have a nice view of the Hanoi. But it is the food and the service that was truly excellent.

We dined at around 6 pm and we were able to enjoy the sunset. The set meal which consists of a starter (spring rolls and salad), a main dish (we had beef cooked in bamboo), and dessert (local ice cream) was well worth its price (USD 20). The set meal can be shared by two people with average appetites. :)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We ate at The Gourmet Corner Restaurant twice during our stay in Hanoi. The staff, food and atmosphere is absolutely amazing! One of the best restaurants we ate at during our stay. The caesar salad under the vegetarian menu was a bit bland, however this was because it was just a normal caesar salad with the meat taken out (however my next meal made up for this two fold). The vietnamese food is to die for, especially the spring rolls, the noodle salad and according to my partner, the bamboo beef. We had a wonderful chat with the waitress, who was very accommodating and pleased to chat about Vietnam. Overall it is highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Vietnam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Out of all the places we ate in Vietnam (Except for the street food in Hanoi), this was definitely the best. Every meal was enjoyable, and the staff were great. The food came out fast and was so incredibly tasty. We had three entrees, two mains, and two desserts plus drinks only came to $40. Such good value for what we received.
After my experience here I've recommended the Gourmet Corner to friends, who have all raved about it too.
Go there!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My friend told me to stay at Hotel Elegance Diamond because the hotel also had an excellent restaurant on the top floor, and I am glad I took his advice.
The restaurant served an excellent spread for breakfast buffet as well as dinner. The staff were very friendly and attentive making the experience much more enjoyable.
Would definitely recommend dining here to anyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gourmet Corner Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Gourmet Corner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gourmet Corner Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.