We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gourmet Corner Restaurant

The Gourmet Corner Restaurant
32 Lo Su Str., Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
+84 4 3935 1632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,014 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located on the top floor of Elegance Diamond hotel, the Gourmet Corner restaurant and terrace bar boast the finest view of Hanoi from the 12th floor, overlooking Hoan Kiem Lake, the Red River and the ever-growing skyline of Hanoi. A selected menu of authentic Vietnamese food prepared by our experienced 5-star chef, served by a team of attentive waiting staff will savor your taste. The restaurant provide you full meals during the day. Delivery service is also available throughout our hotel chain. Still, you can drop by for a drink at the terrace bar to see the panoramic view of the lake, the river in the sunset.
Chiang Mai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The food was excellent and so was the staff. The view was outstanding on top the terrace at night. There was a great variety of food, western and asian. I would highly recommend this restaurant to families, couples all travelers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    201
    60
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and i were guests at the hotel. But since we were out and about most of the time, we didnt try this place until the last day of our trip. After a 4hr ride back from Halong Bay, and only a couple of hours before we leave for the airport, we went up for a quick lunch. The servers were well mannered and ultra friendly.they recommended a few house specials. We ordered a Nem Hanoi (spring rolls) to share, a Bun Bo Nam Bo, Bo Ong Vau (Bamboo Beef). The presentation was excellent. The spring rolls were crispy and not too greasy. The other two dish were also very good. Overall probably one of our better meals during our 4 days in hanoi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, views and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We are staying at Hotel and have eaten at Restaurant for dinner twice. The food is excellent. Has western, vege and Vietnamese. Nothing was a problem if you wanted to change or not include something in menu.. Service was best I have had at a restaurant for years.. Need to book to ensure you can get a seat. Views are amazing over the lake and old quarter. Very reasonable cost.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“rooftop dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

One of the few rooftop restaurants in Hanoi at a reasonable price. Great location, very good service and good food. We had a great night.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comes recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the hanoi elegance hotel (which we recommend), but also read positive reviews about the restaurant at tripadvisor. First of, excellent view of the city and very cozy atmosphere, would recommend it for couples and friends. For dinner we had fresh rice pancakes for starter (approx 4 usd) and the recommended main course marinated beef in a bambus straw & rice (approx 7 usd per person) and dessert pancake with banan and vanilla ice and chocolate cake (approx 4 usd pr person). Seems the chocolate cake was without real chocolate, so go for something else. But otherwise the menu choice was all very delicious food, served nicely, well seasoned with lots of herbs etc. Extremely service oriented staff. And a bit surprising, the redwine (35 usd) we ordered was actually quite good. We also had a lunch here and that was perhaps more average. By the way, the restaurant serves as well western cusine - however we haven't tried this. we had two waters and coffee as well, in total usd 70 usd (incl. wine 35 usd). The restaurant recommends that you book a table in advance, however we managed to book a table the same day as we had dinner (tuesday evening) - so in weekends you might want to book a few days ahead.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gourmet Corner Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Gourmet Corner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gourmet Corner Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.