We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apart from the steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Mango

Green Mango
18 Hang Quat Street, in the Green Mango Hotel | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
00844 3928 9916
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 1,140 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, Fusion, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Offers a fine-dining Asian nouvelle restaurant; the open-air patio for semi-formal dining and lounge seating is a fine alternative to 'breakfast in bed'. Our lobby replete with an exquisite bar, while the wine lounge and VIP rooms on the second floor await your intimate evenings, business dinners and special events.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great apart from the steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We ate here 5 nights. The food is lovely and there is no rush between courses. Good wine selection. The outside of the restaurant does not do it justice. The staff must have been to a training session that nobody else has been to in Hanoi they are very good. We had one disappointing meal and if it was your only meal I can understand some of the poorer reviews. My husband ordered the rib eye steak and I had the filet mignon. Yes we ordered then medium we'll but they were still pink in the middle and filet is tender however you cook it. My filet was the end piece and was so tough I couldn't eat it, in fact I couldn't cut it, looked nice but was poor. My husband's rib eye was grey in colour like it was cooked on low heat no colour at all on it and was like a piece of rubber. So I recommend this restaurant but stay away from the steaks! Goats cheese starter is lovely!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    208
    86
    31
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

For our first night in hanoi we decided to visit this restaurant after seeing the positive reviews on trip advisor. The staff were very friendly and the decor inside the restaurant is very well presented. However the food and cocktails we ordered were pretty average and did not meet the high reviews. This is one of the more expensive restaurants we've been to since we've been in vietnam and the food was not as tasty as some the cheaper ones we visited.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melb
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely food and enviroment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully presented vietnamese food.GOod wine and cocktail list.Would have loved to go back again but ran out of time.Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Nice courtyard setting to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Modern decor inside and little courtyard at back to get away from the hustle and bustle. Good range of food. Lovely tamarind prawn salad.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food, and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We weren't staying in this hotel/Restaurant but the night we arrived and went looking for food at nearly midnight, and the whole of Hanoi is shut down, we saw them open and asked if they still serving food. Their answer was no, but we decided to have a drink anyway, then from nowhere two plates of French fries arrived. The night after we dined there and food the food very good, very pleasant setting in the gardens at the back. The staff were extremely helpful in every respect. We dined there on a second time and yet again the food was great. Each night after pounding the streets of Hanoi we always popped in for a night cap, and were always greeted warmly by the staff. Yes the food is expensive for Hanoi, but compared to UK, States, Etc... still cheap.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Mango also viewed

 

Been to Green Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Mango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.