We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rising Dragon Estate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rising Dragon Estate Hotel to your Saves list
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   17 Nguyen Van To St. | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Queen Ann Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 450 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Brno, Czech Republic
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We were upgraded to a better room but although I would expect a better quality for a three star hotel. We stayed on the 7th floor and could hear engines from the elevator at night. Our room was clean and spacious, breakfast was great. I have nothing important to complain about. Maybe staff was too helpful for me, we were asked four times how are we during the breakfast.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    79
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
35
118
56
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My friend and I was supposed to stay at Rising Dragon Hotel (61 Hang Be St | Old Quarter) for 4 days 3 nights. After we returned from our Halong Bay tour on the third day, Rising Dragon gave us a free upgrade to Rising Dragon Estate Hotel! They even called and paid for the taxi for us to go to the Estate hotel.

Rising Dragon Estate Hotel is more posh and it has a lift included. Not having to climb stairs is definitely a bonus. We were warmly welcomed by the staff here, and they even acceded to our request to change to a room with 2 single beds. Rising dragon also provides services such as changing currencies, breaking our notes into smaller denominations, booking taxi, and even housekeeping in the middle of the night (at our request)!

Most importantly, it was the friendliness of the staff that we loved the most. It is amazing how they were able to provide such excellent service. We felt very welcomed. In particular, I would like to highlight the hotel manager Mr Hoan. He speaks fluent english and never fails to brighten our day with his dazzling smile. He is eager to share with us many insights about life in Vietnam. He is more than just a hotel staff; he is a great friend and we would definitely come back to Rising Dragon when we visit Hanoi again!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place, in the middle of the city
Great staff very nice and kind !!
Clean rooms and good breakfast (:
Mr Lee helped us a lot to find activities next to our hotel
And was very nice ❤️⛵️☺️✔️

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at this hotel were super friendly and accommodating - we changed our booking plans after checking in and they managed to figure it out for us, and honored the discount price we got online for the additional nights we added. They were very helpful with giving directions and suggesting sights to see.
The rooms were nice for the price (very good deal) - spacious, a flatscreen tv (that actually worked!), good a/c (although you didn't really need it in Hanoi), and a decently sized reasonably modern bathroom. The bed was kind of hard but we slept well regardless. This was also the only place we stayed in SE Asia where the room was cleaned every day, which was a welcome change. The wifi was also decently fast even in the rooms.
The included breakfast is nice, they have a wide range of options and endless (free) coffee and tea 24/7.
The location was great, we walked everywhere the entire time we were in Hanoi. There's a lot of good souvenir shopping in the area and some basic cafes and restaurants around.

My main complaint is with the tour we booked through the hotel. I would recommend going elsewhere to book your tours. We booked a day tour to Halong Bay which was pretty expensive compared to what we saw at some tour offices (we paid $50 each), but they assured us the higher price was worth it because the guide would be better, would speak better english, the boat would be nicer, and the food would be better. Turned out the guide hardly spoke english, and hardly 'guided' at all...I didn't learn anything on that trip, we only made 2 stops on the cruise which were not really that exciting, and we could have gotten better food on the street for $1. This isn't the hotel's fault per se, but they should know what they're selling you and they shouldn't be pushing these over-priced tours on their customers.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustin françe
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is very well located in the heart of the 36th streets area. Not far from most of the nice sites.
Staff is very helpful and friendly, rooms are clean and well kept up.
Aks for a room on the back side of the hotel, the front side being on the street it can become
pretty noisy.
The breakfast, included in most cases, is very correct.
A very good place indeed, especially looking at the price!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had two separate stays here because in between we went to Sapa and I can say that this hotel has some very nice rooms but also some very shady rooms you really want to avoid. Both times we booked the deluxe category and on the first stay we got a very nice room which was well maintained and had a balcony. The second stay we got another room which had the same size and was on the top floor and it had mold all over the wall and it did not have a clean feeling to it at all. The elevator doesn't cover the last two floors as there is the engine room so you will need to walk the last two flights. Also the elevator-engine on the top floor makes abundant noise when someone uses the elevator so try to avoid to be the top two floors as you will definitely hear the noise. After much complaining they changed us to another room which was again very nice so all in all we enjoyed our stay. Staff is extremely friendly, kind and caring and after on the second stay they tried to fix things as good as they could. The hotel offers free a-la-carte breakfast with fruits and juice on a buffet and it was ok. Wifi was fast and reliable. Location of the hotel is on the end of a small street which is very busy in the day and at night time until 11pm but afterwards it gets really quiet and dark so walking down that street one time after 11pm felt a little bit unsafe. There are convenience stores right next to the hotel. I also had the chance to have a peek in one of the standard rooms when it was cleaned and they are pretty much dark holes in the wall with no outside view but just a window facing the hotel-hallways. All in all I would only stay there again if I could somehow make sure that I would get one of the well maintained rooms facing the street on a low floor.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor due to elevator noise and also because elevator doesn't cover the top two floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

The rooms are comfortable, safe, have all the basic necessities and it is an easy walk to just about anything in the old quarter. The best part though is the staff. They are very friendly and helpful and even gracious enough to invite me to have lunch or dinner with them when I was travelling alone. I have been to Hanoi multiple times and this is where I choose to stay.

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rising Dragon Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Estate Hotel

Address: 17 Nguyen Van To St. | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Queen Ann Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 450 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rising Dragon Estate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel is Located in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter . Rising Dragon Estate Hotel is really a good choice for foreign tourists and business travelers. Next to Hang Da market, one of the most famous markets in Hanoi, it’s very easy to get some tourism destinations as Hoan Kiem Lake, Night market, the biggest church of Hanoi and many exciting activities as walking around the Old Quarter to feel the lifestyle and culture of Vietnamese. Around Rising Dragon Estate Hotel you will discover a variety of shops, restaurants, bars and cinemas. The area is also the centre of the capital’s cultural life with a host of displays, exhibitions, shows and musical events happening at any one time. Because of its ideal location – in the middle of where everything of importance happens – it is eminently suitable for all categories of visitors, be it businessmen, tourists or families with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rising Dragon Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rising Dragon Estate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.