We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rising Dragon Estate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rising Dragon Estate Hotel to your Saves list
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   17 Nguyen Van To St. | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Queen Ann Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 452 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My wife and me have spent 3 night at RISING DRAGON ESTATE. The hotel in very very nice. Large room with all comforts. Breakfast is great.The position is very good. The hotel is in Hanoi midtown. The staff is the best I met in 2 weeks spent in Vietnam. They helped us in all our needs. I suggest this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    78
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
35
117
56
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

My family and I have just returned to Australia from a visit to Vietnam (Jan 2012) and we feel we must give a huge wrap to the Rising Dragon Hotel 3 in Hanoi. We stayed there for over a week and found both the staff and Hotel itself a delight. The room we had was immaculate and very comfortable for the 5 of us. Rising Dragon is not a 5 star Hotel nor does it pretend to be. It is just a very pleasant place to stay and for us it was a real sanctuary from the hustle and bustle that is Hanoi. The location is away from, but not far from, the busy city centre and lies between that same centre and the museums/mausolem etc. Walking is quite easy to most city points of interest.

The major source of delight during our stay was the attitude and approach of the staff of Rising Dragon 3. They were fantastic. Helpful to the extreme, friendly, professional and not too much "in your face" at all. Words do not do justice.

For example, our 10 year old daughter got an illness which required antibiotics. After enquiring at the front desk as to the location of a pharmacy, Mr Huy (pronounced Hwhee) advised that he would send the bellboy out on his motorbike (at night) to find the medicine as it may take some finding. We went to our room and within half an hour he brought the antibiotics to our door and would accept no payment for them (albeit they were not expensive). Now that was above and beyond what we expected and was done with no fanfare.

Rising Dragon also arranged tours for us to Mai Chou (just great) and Halong Bay which were both very well run.

All we can add is that for anyone thinking of accommodation in Hanoi, Rising Dragon 3 would be very hard to beat on all fronts.

Michael and Joanne

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel over Christmas. The room was spacious & clean & we were pleasantly surprised to see a bottle of complimentary wine waiting for us on arrival. The front desk was excellent at all times and were hugely attentive. We booked the day trip to Halong bay through them & had a great day although the day trip had a lot of travelling. The breakfast was freshly cooked & very nice indeed. We really enjoyed staying here & would recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We got this hotel with very very cheap price. We pay for penny but we received excellent service. Plus, we got our room upgraded to the 'suite'. The suite has a sitting area, kitchen and a separate bathroom. They provided with laptop and very fast internet connection an extremely plus mark for the hotel.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Chose the Halong Bay tour from the hotel and we get quite a good rate, comparing to other traveller who booked from a more expensive hotel. The breakfast was plenty. You have to choose from 12 - 14 type of breakfast, all cooked to order, but you can choose to have 2 different serving if you were too hungry.

but the location of the hotel is a bit out of the central hanoi, but it is at a quieter area, so definitely you have a quieter night.

Rate requested for Spa - am not so sure whether the hotel has spa or not.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

We booked this room one month in advance specifying the deluxe with twin beds. Arrived there we had a room with only one bed plus a tiny one on the floor. We expressed we were upset but nothing to do. The receptionist said that in the upper rooms ther will be noise because of construction work next door. The result was that I didn t sleep because of the hard matress plus the noise of the street and construction work early morning. I won t talk about the sheets and pillows smelling which made assume that they did not clean it between two guests. The driver was not at the airport as it was arranged so we had to call them and wait. The breakfast was less than average. Not the service we expect for $70.. very disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

First - WARNING - ask if the construction noise is still next door, and make sure your room is not right next to it, if you are going to be in your room during their work hours 8 to 5 (very punctual).

Otherwise, this is a great place to stay, off on a colorful side street, but close to restaurants and the main shopping area. The Rising Dragon 3 staff is conscientious and friendly. Anna (?), at the tourist desk gets 5 stars too. Good, fresh breakfast - excellent coffee. Very clean hotel.

Room Tip: I prefer a room facing the street to look down on the city passing by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011 via mobile

We have stayed at the Rising Dragon 3 for 8 nights and I can't praise it enough. We had a family suite where the bedroom can be closed off. Travelling with 2 young children can be challenging but the staff made us feel like this was home. They even offered to watch the kids for a couple of hours, so we could sightsee. Breakfast is good - all cooked to order. Rooms clean and very large. Staff just lovely. Great location as very central Hanoi (old quarter) but down a quieter street, so we didnt notice any annoying street noise and we were on level 2!
We did the perfume pergola trip - which was fun and went with Galaxy Cruise for the Halong Bay trip - also great.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rising Dragon Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Estate Hotel

Address: 17 Nguyen Van To St. | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Queen Ann Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 452 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rising Dragon Estate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel is Located in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter . Rising Dragon Estate Hotel is really a good choice for foreign tourists and business travelers. Next to Hang Da market, one of the most famous markets in Hanoi, it’s very easy to get some tourism destinations as Hoan Kiem Lake, Night market, the biggest church of Hanoi and many exciting activities as walking around the Old Quarter to feel the lifestyle and culture of Vietnamese. Around Rising Dragon Estate Hotel you will discover a variety of shops, restaurants, bars and cinemas. The area is also the centre of the capital’s cultural life with a host of displays, exhibitions, shows and musical events happening at any one time. Because of its ideal location – in the middle of where everything of importance happens – it is eminently suitable for all categories of visitors, be it businessmen, tourists or families with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rising Dragon Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rising Dragon Estate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.